We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know what you're buying - a capsule to sleep in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Kungsbron
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 4 July 2014

To say this is no-frills hotel is an understatement; this hotel is similar to the inside rooms at cruise ships or in-terminal layover hotels at airports - they provide you with a room capsule to sleep in. As such, it was exactly what I expected. A small and clean room, with a small and clean bed. I had a room with a window - straight into the construction zone of the rail station; still no outside sounds penetrated into the room which was great. Bathroom is smallish and very scandinavian, as in no separate shower enclosure, just a curtain. Complimentary wifi was extremely fast (40Mbps up & down). Lowest room rate found on Internet still no bargain, but less than other central Stockholm hotels.

This was fine for my needs, all I needed was a centrally located place to sleep well before an early morning flight out of Stockholm Arlanda. The Arlanda Express train platform is a 6-7 minute walk from the hotel, which allowed me to get from my room to the security checkpoint at the airport in just 35 minutes.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for the room with a window, as the view is of a construction site of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good things:
+the hotel is in the center of Stockholm
+the personnel was friendly
+the rooms are clean
+good TV with many channels
+a small empty fridge with no alcohol/choco bars/nuts bullshit

Bad things:
-it's almost underground!!! The main building on the picture has a basement with windows facing the railways under a kind of a bridge - this is where the hotel is situated.
- it's not mentioned anywhere, but there are construction works going on right now and the view from the window was blocked by huge blue containers. And the building workers used a metal staircase to walk since 5 a.m.!!!!! We kept the curtains shut all the time, and had to use earplugs.
- we booked 2 rooms - the first one was very cold, the second one had no air at all. Not possible to adjust the air conditioner or open windows. I woke up with headaches every morning.
- after shower the water flooded almost all the bathroom floor.
- no wardrobe to hang the clothes, only 4 hangers on the wall.
- the hangers in the bathrooms are so smooth, you can hardly hang anything there too.

Conclusion: if this is the last minute trip and you could not find anything better, or you'll spend only a couple of nights before you travel further - ok, but otherwise I will not recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The hotel itself is very good, employees are kind and helpful, and it is really comfortably located over the central station for the public transports, I used a lot of trains in those days.
The single room without window is a bit expensive I would say, for the size of the room, but it's comfortable and very well sound proof, so it's great to sleep at night, it seems to be in a starship with no sounds from the space around you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wallyontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed one night at this hotel this week. It is very close to the Central Station, takes 2 minutes to walk. The room is quiet, clean and bed very compfy. They serve a good breakfast and the free Wifi worked well. Nice and helpful staff. They do not have any roomservice.
A lot of the rooms in the hotel have no windows. I booked one with a window but could not enjoy any view because there was construction going on just outside and the workers where just 3 meters from my window so I had to have the curtains closed the whole time.
The stay was good for one night but I would not stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Definitely must be designed by men for men. No drawers, no shelves, no closet, no window, no A/C, no phone, not even fan. This hotel is a bunker. Two tiny beds. The shower is a nightmare. I do not recommend this hotel. The best is wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NydiaPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located right opposite the Central Train Station. Literally steps away. Very clean. Very comfortable. Free wifi throughout the hotel. 7 Eleven nearby. Travellers launching off from Stockholm to other towns or cities in Sweden will find this hotel suitable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank The_Walking_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location is okay until you find out that the hotel is a bunker. I almost laughed out loud when the receptionist said "welcome, your room is ready. it down the stairs to the right! I never liked to stay in hotel rooms without windows and this hotel is a bunker. The room was so so, I have seen worse. At least things were clean and the bed was good - bathroom as well. Well - and when you turn off the lights - it's so dark, you can't see how dark it is !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chokk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#53 of 155 in Stockholm
447 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,440 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
514 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Kungsbron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kungsbron

Address: 17 Vaestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 64, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £66 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Kungsbron 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your First Hotel Kungsbron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing