We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Town Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Scandic Gamla Stan(Stockholm)
US$237
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
US$169
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Freys Hotel(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$205
US$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$247
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diplomat(Stockholm)
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Berns Hotel(Stockholm)
US$216
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
85
111
22
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
111
22
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdoor codegamla stansheets and towelsshared showers and toiletsgreat locationcobbled streetscommon roomnobel museumshared kitchenlate arrivallight sleepershort breakroyal palacetea coffeestayed for one nightbreakfast includedwalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I was in Stockholm for the theatre festival and stayed at the Old Town Lodge. I have only good things to say: friendly people, beautiful location, nice kitchen/showers, etc. Very quiet/relaxed too, so if you are looking for an alternative to more rowdy, loud-music-party-hostels, this is your place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The location of the hostel in this historic building with the old city walls in the cellar is just amazing! It is in the city center - which is really perfect! We had a two beed room (not in the dormitory) and it was simple furnished but had all that we needed. The showers and toilets were communal but clean. There was a light breakfast included, but it could get very crowded in the small breakfast room - so we decided to take care of our breakfast by ourself. The kitchen was small but also very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flobosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The Old Town Lodge is in Gamla Stan, the central old town district of Stockholm. It was the cheapest we found, but we weren't disappointed. The building was quirky, on different levels and had individually named bedrooms. The showers and toilets were communal, but there was always one free when we needed it. The room was smallish, but clean and had rails to hang your clothes. There was a communal dining table/rest area in reception and a kitchenette just off. The kitchen had a large fridge, oven, microwave, dishwasher and plentiful supply of cutlery and crockery for your use. There was tea and coffee available all day for you to make your own, but you had to supply the milk. Breakfast was toast, jam, marmalade, cheese, tea and coffee. Again, simple but adequate. I would recommend this place. It calls itself a hostel, which technically it might be, but not like the scruffy, tatty places I stayed in as a teenager.

Room Tip: The 'dormitory' wasn't what I had expected. Each bed was in its own glass partitioned cubicle with curtains, thus giving security and privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNewport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hostel is very well located in the old town. The windowless room is a bit small, but we already expected that, so that was fine for us. The cleaning of the room and facilities are good. The noises from other rooms and corridors, at least if they are stuck to yours, are very hard to cope with though. It's a very expensive city to stay in, so for Stockholm's prices it's a pretty decent deal.
We booked with booking and had to pay extra for sheets and towels (65 kr/pp), but had the small breakfast included, which was consisting on toast and tasty jams.
In conclusion, it is a good budget place to stay in, but I would not recommend it for many nights.

Room Tip: If you can, take the one with windows, obviously.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanamente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at the Old Town Lodge. The location is fantastic - 15 mins walk from main train and bus station, walking distance from sites, and a lovely, interesting part of town. Stockholm is pricey, so this is a great value option. Rooms are clean and beds comfortable. Big table and kitchen used for breakfast. Nearby Coop and 7 Eleven. Showers were a little on the colder side - only real negative.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pkonline84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews