We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Town Lodge Brings Comfort and Value To Gamla stan”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old Town Lodge Brings Comfort and Value To Gamla stan”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Upon arriving to Stockholm's Central Station, the walk to Old Town Lodge was about 20 minutes. There are also train and bus stations close by. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We stayed in the double room with no window. Our room and the front door of the hostel had a personalized key code, so you don't have to worry about keys. The bed took up most of the room, which was fine for us, we'd rather have a larger bed than more floor space anyway. The common area was lovely to sit in and chat with a glass of wine or beer every night, very homey. The kitchen was great, with free coffee & tea, a full refrigerator & freezer, toaster, everything you need. However, note: There is no stove. Restrooms and showers were always clean during our three night stay, as well. I would recommend the Old Town Lodge to any young couples travelling to Stockholm wanting to stay in Gamla stan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    100
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
39
80
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Perfect location in Gamla Stan, easy to walk to all sites in Stockholm. Had a 4 bedroom room in the basement with 1 bunk bed and two single beds, window overlooking a quiet street, simple breakfast included, and affordable for pricey Stockholm. Definitely take advantage of the kitchen to great your own meal - big fridge, oven and microwave, but no stove; lots of grocery stores around (one on gamla stan, our favourite was in the train station). Plenty of toilets and showers per floor - love the heated floors! Gamla stan is a great area to get lost in... wander the windy narrow streets, enjoy some fika and meatballs. The only negative was that there wasn't staff always available, but they relayed relevant info in plenty of time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

room by name Djurgården (room with window) was excellent, nice view to street. Staff was very friendly and breakfast box was prepared In the fridge... because we left early in the morning. Free tea and coffee.
Toilets and showers were clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eglepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hostel was modern and mostly clean. The room was a big disappointment with the bed taking up the whole floor space (almost), no windows, little in the way of privacy, and very stale air. The bathrooms were usually clean with the occasional exception. I accidentally brushed off a shelf over the bed when looking for the lightswitch and I started a rain of dust that seemed never ending. If you are a good sleeper and not claustrophobic then this place is fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the dungeon
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoryVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jokkmokk, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Great hostel in a calm but very central location. Has dormatories and private rooms. I opted for the latter to get space to set up my computer (which is not possible in the dorm rooms which is simply just a set of beds with glass walls inbetween).

Great atmosphere, great service and access to both free WiFi and a kitchen. Very clean, and it is obvious that the manager wants to make sure that you enjoy your stay. I will come back to stay here again, and I can definitely recommend this place - it feels more like a small hotel than a hostel.

Personal tip: Ask for a room in the basement if you are interested in history. A part of the 800+ year old town wall of Stockholm can be seen there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreasviklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gällö Sweden
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a very nice hostel with great location in Old Town. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And you can get a simple breakfast, coffee/tea bread with jam and cheese. I will strongly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I can't recommend the new Old Town Lodge in Gamla Stan, old town Stockholm, enough. The price is very reasonable and it's like an upscale hostel, where the beds are already made for you, the room is super comforable and the bathrooms and kitchen area are clean and convenient and the location is just perfect. I travel all the town and am picky, and fell in love with this place.
We wanted a room with a window, and I would definitely recommend that as the view and sounds of the city outside are so nice-- the lodge is right in the heart of old town, in a little charming alleyway and is just minutes from the water and main square.
The room was simple but rustic and charming, with two comfy twin beds, everything in white with a nice plant in the window and a simple chair in the center. There is a fold down table and plenty of hooks on the wall so you can hang things and have a place to put your stuff.
Therese, the owner, is absolutely lovely and accommodating-- we stayed in a different part of town at the end of the trip and were really missing this lovely little hotel.

Room Tip: There are rooms without windows and rooms with-- I would recommend with if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#7 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#28 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Property: Old Town Lodge
Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing