We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique place!”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got this at a great price (for Stockholm) and even though was listed as a dorm, each double bed is closed off with glass walls and curtains. Although is in the basement with no windows it was great and has a lovely feel to it. Nice area of old town, close to attractions yet not on a busy touristy street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Everything was fine. Location - cannot be greater, just in the middle of old town. many nice restaurants, shop around. Staff very friendly. Best hotel to stay in Stockholm, especially for solo travelers. Rooms have shared bathroom, but very reasonable price for Stockholm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was the cutest wee hostel we have stayed at, in the BEST part of Stockholm. Being on the old island was perfect for touristing around and seeing all the beautiful parts of Stockholm, as well as shopping and eating. It is not a long walk to the station, the department stores, or other tourist sights, and the use of the underground is very simple. I loved this part of Stockholm and could't recommend staying here enough!

The rooms were cute, separated by glass walls with curtains, so you can hear the neighbours as you would in a hostel, but the rooms feel very private. The wifi was good, as was the kitchen so you can eat in (as Swedish food prices can be expensive) and have a few drinks in the hostel. Breakfast was very nicely laid out as well. The owners were friendly when we needed to contact them, and were very organised, letting us know the pin numbers well in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri3tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Doskonała lokalizacja (Stare Miasto), niezwykle uprzejme osoby na recepcji (jak i w całym Sztokholmie, czas obalić stereotyp Szwedów - ludzi o zimnym sercu ;), klimatyczne miejsce. Mimo, że recepcja jest czynna tylko do 17, w hostelu panuje cisza, porządek, spokój. Śniadanko było dość skromne, jednak pyszne :) Wszystko doskonale zorganizowane. Gorąco polecam !

Location is perfect - it's situated in the heart of the Old City. The receptionists were really nice and friendly, always smiling ! I have to admit that this trip made me love Swedish people :) Stockholm is a gorgeous place, one ot the most charming places in the whole world. Even though the reception at the hostel was working only till 5 p.m, everything was well-organized, it was clean and silent. The breakfast was small but really tasty. I loved that place and I can reccomend it to anyone. If I go back to Stockholm, I'll definitely stay there ! ;)

La localizzazione e' ottima - l'ostello si trova nel cuore della Citta' Vecchia. La reception e' aperta solo fino alle 5 di pomeriggio, ma tutto e' ben organizzato. Lo staff era gentilissimo e sempre sorridente. L'ostello e' pulito e tranquillo, lo posso raccomandare a tutti :) Stockholm e' bellissima, ci tornero' sicuramente ! Gli svedesi sono molto gentili ! :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Very good location if you like to stay more time at old town. (The old town city is very nice.)
Staffs are friendly and helpful, they have free breakfast or you can make your own here, the kitchen is share but you can use it anytime.
They will give you a password to open your door, cos the staffs only there from 9-5pm, wifi is fast, bed is comfortable. I had a good stayed and I will come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esbella20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Upon arriving to Stockholm's Central Station, the walk to Old Town Lodge was about 20 minutes. There are also train and bus stations close by. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful with anything we needed. We stayed in the double room with no window. Our room and the front door of the hostel had a personalized key code, so you don't have to worry about keys. The bed took up most of the room, which was fine for us, we'd rather have a larger bed than more floor space anyway. The common area was lovely to sit in and chat with a glass of wine or beer every night, very homey. The kitchen was great, with free coffee & tea, a full refrigerator & freezer, toaster, everything you need. However, note: There is no stove. Restrooms and showers were always clean during our three night stay, as well. I would recommend the Old Town Lodge to any young couples travelling to Stockholm wanting to stay in Gamla stan.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Perfect location in Gamla Stan, easy to walk to all sites in Stockholm. Had a 4 bedroom room in the basement with 1 bunk bed and two single beds, window overlooking a quiet street, simple breakfast included, and affordable for pricey Stockholm. Definitely take advantage of the kitchen to great your own meal - big fridge, oven and microwave, but no stove; lots of grocery stores around (one on gamla stan, our favourite was in the train station). Plenty of toilets and showers per floor - love the heated floors! Gamla stan is a great area to get lost in... wander the windy narrow streets, enjoy some fika and meatballs. The only negative was that there wasn't staff always available, but they relayed relevant info in plenty of time. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AOS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
2,428 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#10 of 71 in Stockholm
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 71 in Stockholm
1,157 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#8 of 71 in Stockholm
459 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 71 in Stockholm
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £35 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing