We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you bargain for”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location. But the thrill stops there. I paid for room without a window (which would be fine). We ended up in a "community room", separated by glass wall and curtain. Top is open, and we could hear everything (ear plugs left on the pillow were not much of a consolation price!). "Room" had barely space for the bed. Not great ventilation as well.
Emergency number on the loundge board was not in-service at the time or disconnected.

Room Tip: Extra fees for sheets and towels were not clear at the time of the reservation.If you want this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Super clean, very nice staff, secure, better than some of the hotels I have stayed in and with a great location in Gamla. Breakfast was good and coffee was available all hours. Quiet, and with good wifi. Only problem was the additional fees, per bed per night for sheets, added up very quickly and we ended up paying about 50% more than we had planned on. Luggage storage is limited - ask early in the morning. Also, they offered to let us use their laundry facilities, which i thought was super nice of them. Overall excellent experience and more than we expected, unfortunately the fees were also more than we expected.

Room Tip: Main floor is better and rooms to the back are off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shesoldmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here to try to control our costs whilst in Sweden, and what an excellent choice. In the old town (Gamla Stan) so the location and look of the place from outside was very atmospheric. Inside it is clean, comfortable and functional, and the admin (i.e. leaving keys for late arrivals after reception closed, pin code for doors etc) is great. But above all, the place feels homely and there is a pervading feeling of friendliness from the staff and the other residents alike. When we stayed there is was very much familes staying in the rooms. We paid a little extra for windows in the rooms, so cannot comment on the ones without windows, but all the residents looked pleased with their stay. Kitchen available for use for drinks whenever, and the fridge is easily big enough for you to keep any personal food in if you want to. Shared showers and toilets, but never any problems with access or queues. Expected it to be noisy as our window was straight out onto the cobbled streets, but never heard a thing after 10.30 pm. Also, the rooms are well soundproofed - we had a family with young children next door and never heard a peep from them either! One thing that would have been helpful would be darker/thicker curtains as the rooms were very light, even during the night - so if you're a light sleeper take a blindfold or something. The breakfast included in the price is more than adequate, bread, crackers, cheese, jams etc. as much as you want, with tea/coffee. The breakfast box does contain more food, yoghurt, fruit juice, fruit etc. and is nicely presented to your room literally in a wooden box. Quite quaint and something of a talking point in our party :)
Would not hesitate to stay here again, and as long as you realise it is a hostel and not a hotel, you will have a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolnIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's hard to believe that you are able to entry balcony after entering the hotel lobby and walking down to the cellar . . . . but it's possible. In the half way, you'll find out there is an artificial wall from stones, which seems to be perhaps 1000 years old, or more. And it is, as a part of ancient fortress . . . room itself offers a pure domicile feeling. As of you are situated in the heart of Stockholm, concretely Gamla Stan, you are free to take a walk around it, or just consider it as a best starting point to any trip you imagine . . . Great place to stay and feel authentic.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jozef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got this at a great price (for Stockholm) and even though was listed as a dorm, each double bed is closed off with glass walls and curtains. Although is in the basement with no windows it was great and has a lovely feel to it. Nice area of old town, close to attractions yet not on a busy touristy street.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chch2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Everything was fine. Location - cannot be greater, just in the middle of old town. many nice restaurants, shop around. Staff very friendly. Best hotel to stay in Stockholm, especially for solo travelers. Rooms have shared bathroom, but very reasonable price for Stockholm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashot81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was the cutest wee hostel we have stayed at, in the BEST part of Stockholm. Being on the old island was perfect for touristing around and seeing all the beautiful parts of Stockholm, as well as shopping and eating. It is not a long walk to the station, the department stores, or other tourist sights, and the use of the underground is very simple. I loved this part of Stockholm and could't recommend staying here enough!

The rooms were cute, separated by glass walls with curtains, so you can hear the neighbours as you would in a hostel, but the rooms feel very private. The wifi was good, as was the kitchen so you can eat in (as Swedish food prices can be expensive) and have a few drinks in the hostel. Breakfast was very nicely laid out as well. The owners were friendly when we needed to contact them, and were very organised, letting us know the pin numbers well in advance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henri3tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
280 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
2,372 reviews
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#7 of 69 in Stockholm
459 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#10 of 69 in Stockholm
237 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 69 in Stockholm
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £37 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing