We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hostel with a perfect location”
Review of Old Town Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Lodge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy hostel with a perfect location”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This was my second visit in Old Town Lodge and I love it! It is situated nearly in the middle of the old town so it is easy to reach. Late arrival is also possible. The hostel is decorated nicely, and it's clean and comfortable. In addition, we had a perfect service with all the kindness you can imagine!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank KitPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    102
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
40
84
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel is really well located! It's in the centre of Gamla Stan (the old town) and it's near everything you need :D
It serves a small breakfast but it's enough :) restrooms and showers are clean and numerous (3-3 upstairs, 3-2 downstairs). If you're staying in the smallest room then you'll be in like a dorm room but with windows and curtains that isolate you...you hear everything and sometimes you can find hard to sleep...but after a while you kinda get used :) I enjoyed :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank giulia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I can recommend this place 100 %. A superb experience. Nice and cosy with a very special atmosphere . In the very center of Stockholm - Gamla Stan. And the price is affordable . They have family rooms as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jesper K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great location. But the thrill stops there. I paid for room without a window (which would be fine). We ended up in a "community room", separated by glass wall and curtain. Top is open, and we could hear everything (ear plugs left on the pillow were not much of a consolation price!). "Room" had barely space for the bed. Not great ventilation as well.
Emergency number on the loundge board was not in-service at the time or disconnected.

Room Tip: Extra fees for sheets and towels were not clear at the time of the reservation.If you want this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Super clean, very nice staff, secure, better than some of the hotels I have stayed in and with a great location in Gamla. Breakfast was good and coffee was available all hours. Quiet, and with good wifi. Only problem was the additional fees, per bed per night for sheets, added up very quickly and we ended up paying about 50% more than we had planned on. Luggage storage is limited - ask early in the morning. Also, they offered to let us use their laundry facilities, which i thought was super nice of them. Overall excellent experience and more than we expected, unfortunately the fees were also more than we expected.

Room Tip: Main floor is better and rooms to the back are off the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shesoldmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed here to try to control our costs whilst in Sweden, and what an excellent choice. In the old town (Gamla Stan) so the location and look of the place from outside was very atmospheric. Inside it is clean, comfortable and functional, and the admin (i.e. leaving keys for late arrivals after reception closed, pin code for doors etc) is great. But above all, the place feels homely and there is a pervading feeling of friendliness from the staff and the other residents alike. When we stayed there is was very much familes staying in the rooms. We paid a little extra for windows in the rooms, so cannot comment on the ones without windows, but all the residents looked pleased with their stay. Kitchen available for use for drinks whenever, and the fridge is easily big enough for you to keep any personal food in if you want to. Shared showers and toilets, but never any problems with access or queues. Expected it to be noisy as our window was straight out onto the cobbled streets, but never heard a thing after 10.30 pm. Also, the rooms are well soundproofed - we had a family with young children next door and never heard a peep from them either! One thing that would have been helpful would be darker/thicker curtains as the rooms were very light, even during the night - so if you're a light sleeper take a blindfold or something. The breakfast included in the price is more than adequate, bread, crackers, cheese, jams etc. as much as you want, with tea/coffee. The breakfast box does contain more food, yoghurt, fruit juice, fruit etc. and is nicely presented to your room literally in a wooden box. Quite quaint and something of a talking point in our party :)
Would not hesitate to stay here again, and as long as you realise it is a hostel and not a hotel, you will have a lovely stay. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolnIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's hard to believe that you are able to entry balcony after entering the hotel lobby and walking down to the cellar . . . . but it's possible. In the half way, you'll find out there is an artificial wall from stones, which seems to be perhaps 1000 years old, or more. And it is, as a part of ancient fortress . . . room itself offers a pure domicile feeling. As of you are situated in the heart of Stockholm, concretely Gamla Stan, you are free to take a walk around it, or just consider it as a best starting point to any trip you imagine . . . Great place to stay and feel authentic.

Room Tip: Ask for a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozef K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,265 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Lodge

Property: Old Town Lodge
Address: 25 Baggensgatan, Stockholm 111 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can´t stay more central in Stockholm than Old Town Lodge. Right in the middle of Old Town, on a quit street but with shops, galleries, cafés, pubs and restaurants just around the corner. With all public transport and many of the main attractions within just a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Town Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing