We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long on style, short on service”
Review of Nobis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nobis Hotel
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Sitting on the desk when we checked in was a 190 page tome about the Nobis Hotel architecture and design - but no information about the hotel's amenities or services could be found. That is the Nobis in a nutshell. Gorgeous finishes, furniture, and common spaces, but little thought to comfort and practicality. About a third of our tiny standard room was given over to a lovely marble bathroom, with no space for toiletries, a leaky shower stall, and an ridiculously impractical decorative grill over the sink. While I expected a room facing the interior courtyard to be quiet, we ended up having to listen to the music they blast in the lounge all day. Finally, this was the only luxury hotel we stayed in during our travels around Scandinavia that did not include breakfast - if you are in a standard room, expect to have your nose pressed up against window while the chosen few enjoy the breakfast buffet. Come here for a drink to enjoy the beautifully designed space, and skip the stay.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank luckyduckies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2011

Beautifully designed hotel and similarly well designed rooms. Great location as well.
Its main problem is it lacks 5-star amenities, especially relative to the grand hotel. Service is lacking (concierge is just the guy at the front desk), breakfast is not free (and quite expensive), not really a spa/fitness center.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Just returned from a few nights at the Nobis. Almost a perfect hotel experience.

Location: on a square in a very upmarket area of town near the water. 10 minute walk from the Arlanda train stop.

Bedrooms: fantastic. Great beds, the fastest wireless internet I've ever experienced in a hotel (and it was free!), beautiful marble bathrooms, powerful raindance shower, very thoughtful lighting etc etc etc We stayed in a room with a city view and a room with an atrium view - and we preferred the latter.

Public spaces: all extremely cool, particularly the multi-story atrium. The lighting throughout the hotel is extraordinarily good. The hotel has a very chic bar on the street.

Overall, brilliant experience. All the staff spoke perfect English and were really helpful. The breakfast also deserves a special mention: it was *really* good (and very reasonably priced by Stockholm standards). The only thing I would change about the whole experience (and it is only a very minor point) is that the safe is located above the minbar fridge and so the inside of the safe gets really hot - in fact, it was so hot, that we did not want to leave electronics in it for any length of time. Nonetheless, we will always stay at the Nobis now when we are in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller_Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great staff, excellent new design hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

my wife and Istayed at his hotel for a w-e. we arrived late on friday night and the check inwas efficient. the hotel has been recently refurbished and the interior is really classy and neat. The room was of decent size, with a super comfortable bed and a beautiful bathroom with walk in shower.
we had breakfast at the hotel and though the buffet was not extensive we had very good food (most of which is organic) and the staff was very responsive. the hotel also has a bar and a restaurant which we did not try.
the hotel is located 5 minutes from the water, close to the shopping area and also at 5 minutes walking distance from the restuarants and clubs ares of stureplan.
we had a great stay and were very satisfied. would definitely stay again when coming back to stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlerital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

The architecture and styling of this hotel was truly inspiring. Unfortunately the service left much to be desired. My husband and I often stay at boutique hotels, purely for the service and familiarity. You are often treated with a personal touch that the large chains cannot replicate. In this instance upon making requests to the front line staff, we were often disappointed. In asking for a restaurant recommend, the concierge identified the hotel's location incorrectly on our map! In addition, when we asked for information on how to take a ferry to the archepelago region, we were given stock brochures and no one explained personally when the timing of the ferries leave, which island will best suit our needs etc. We were met with blank faces, time and again. For a business hotel the Nobis is perfect, but if you wish to explore Stockholm as tourists, I would think there are better options.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NickiMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Nobis Hotel. The staff was friendly, helpful in recommendations and accommodating to our needs. The design of the hotel is beautiful, new and modern. Our room faced one of the side streets and was a nice location, but be aware that if you stay over on a Saturday night the night clubs are open until 3am and it was very noisy. The bar was also very good and gym small but complete with all new equipment! Also, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwulwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
378 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,601 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobis Hotel

Address: Norrmalmstorg 2 - 4, Stockholm 111 46, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £179 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nobis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A contemporary hotel occupying a prime spot at Norrmalmstorg square, the single most central and attractive location in downtown Stockholm. Nobis Hotel is an independent, 201-room first class hotel. Nobis Hotel is a new center stage of Sweden’s Royal Capital, defining our own personal sense of luxury — one that is modern, elegant and extremely comfortable, but also ethically sound, warm and moderate, providing our guests with true value for their money in a stylish and pleasant setting designed by award-winning architects Claesson Koivisto Rune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nobis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing