We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendiness does not equal value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nobis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nobis Hotel
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trendiness does not equal value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

This is the fourth "luxury" hotel we've stayed at in Sweden in two weeks. While it is a significant cut above the Elete chain hotels it tends to let fashion trump simple hospitality too often for serious travelers.
Bright spots: intelligent, helpful staff and impressive attention to detail of design and interior.
Disappointments: poor overall value for "superior" room even by Swedish standards.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M1greene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    433
    137
    46
    15
See reviews for
172
475
69
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hotel is in a great location, and it's very easy to walk everywhere. There is also a tram line directly in front of the hotel and a metro stop in walking distance.

The front desk staff was incredibly helpful. They booked restaurants for us, even searching for a weird thing we wanted to try when they didn't know where to find it. We also has some questions about some of the design elements of the hotel and they had a binder at the ready. They made copies for me of the pages I was interested in.

The room was comfortable for the most part. It was small, but that is standard for Europe. I could not get the temperature below 23.5C, which for me is not quite cold enough for sleeping. The bathroom, as others have mentioned, is poorly designed. There are no shelves or cabinets to put things either inside or outside of the shower, and the plate over the sink is pretty, but if you turn the water on too hard it will splash up.

The breakfast was quite good, but expensive.

Overall, I really liked this hotel and would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassportGirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is a beautifully designed and well appointed hotel in the middle of the center of Stockholm. The staff is excellent and could not have been more helpful. The bar is very upscale, the bartenders very customer oriented - I especially enjoyed the "strawberry smash" cocktail!
The hotel is in walking distance to much of the center city including the opera house, the royal palace, shopping areas, etc. Lovely patio in the front where you can watch the city pass by. It was July, the days were long and the weather near perfect. Rooms are the normal modest European size but well appointed and laid out. When I return to Stockholm, this is my hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffreyJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Nobis Hotel is a stylish boutique hotel in an excellent location in the heart of Stockholm, within easy walking distance of all the major historical sites and tourist must-sees. The beds, with down duvets and pillows, are without a doubt among the most comfortable we have slept in while traveling. The staff was remarkably attentive, and the receptionist personally showed us two rooms to choose from before we checked in. If you like to unpack your suitcases during your stay, beware, there is very little storage space in the room and bathroom-- the drawback of Scandinavian minimalist decor. If you are an extremely light sleeper, like us, you may wish to specify a park-side room. We did not visit the Caina restaurant in the hotel during our stay, but we did enjoy a light supper at an outside table in the hotel bistro, which seemed to draw a trendy younger set.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Spent two nights at this wonderful hotel. Fantastic location, really nice staff, really delicious breakfast (make sure to get up on time! you don't wanna miss it!!), nice & spacious rooms, really clean! Was definitely not the last time there! :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Location is the best feature of this hotel. Followed by top quality room, fantastic service (very efficient room service) and our loved Byredo products in the guest rooms. The breakfast place would have benefited from having some windows, but the compromise is understandable in such old buildings, furthermore there was no salmon available which is a pity knowing how good Scaninavians are with salmon and fishes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nykoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The hotel opened just a few years ago. The room we stayed in was really small. To get to my side of the bed I had to fight with the curtains and the walls. No way you could walk a round like a normal standing up person. To expensive, not worth it. Its more of a thing, a hype.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxExhact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nobis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nobis Hotel

Property: Nobis Hotel
Address: Norrmalmstorg 2 - 4, Stockholm 111 46, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nobis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm’s new contemporary hotel. Occupying a prime spot at Norrmalmstorg square, the single most central and attractive location in downtown Stockholm, Nobis Hotel is an independent, 201-room first class hotel. Nobis Hotel is a new center stage of Sweden’s Royal Capital, defining our own personal sense of luxury — one that is modern, elegant and extremely comfortable, but also ethically sound, warm and moderate, providing our guests with true value for their money in a stylish and pleasant setting designed by award-winning architects Claesson Koivisto Rune. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nobis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing