We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Innovative Sandwiches and Artistic Pastries!”
Review of Vete-Katten

Vete-Katten
Ranked #1 of 47 Dessert in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Norrmalm
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh Innovative Sandwiches and Artistic Pastries!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My cousin Birgitta and I celebrated our 60th Birthdays at this eclectic and wonderful cafe. I have never visited a place quite like this. It was comforting, cozy...and even the coffee cups were arranged artistically. We had sandwiches for lunch, which were innovative and overflowing with healthful ingredients. The pastries we enjoyed for dessert -- a strawberry tart and an almond-flavored mazarine cake were small delicious works of culinary art. It was a wonderful birthday lunch; and one that I will long remember.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NockieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    314
    64
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wheat-free cakes, very busy”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Nice wheat-free options, central location.

Downside, very busy and queues were long on a Saturday.

Friendly staff who were helpful despite our lack of Swedish!

Clientele were mainly families with small children. Sadly some rather rude older ladies who queue-jumped and were aggressive dampened the experience somewhat.

Helpful?
Thank Nat2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great semla”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I read about this place in a Stockholm guide so when I realised it was only a few metres from the hotel I was staying in, I thought I would pay a visit. It was a Sunday afternoon so was busy, so I had to wander round to find a seat. It was good to see some of the small rooms in the old part of the cafe as well as the larger more modern front area. I didn't realise at first that you have to queue at the counter to get served, so sat waiting for a waitress, but soon realised they are just there to clear the tables. The coffee was very good, and the semla was the best I have had, having tried a few in Stockholm. I went back the next day, and it was nice to see the freshly baked pastries coming out of the kitchen, that's probably why they tasted so good, compared to other cafes that bring them in every morning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“if you have a sweet tooth”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

delicious sweets, dessert and the best semla in the town. the place has a cosy atmosphere of grandmother living room.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Good old Cafe Vete Katten”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I worked behind the corner at Gamla Brogatan 1978. This Cafe Vete Katten was my "second home". I went there every day.
They had that time only the old part of the cafe with old style furniture. I really have so good memories and I can even remember the smell at the door step when I now go in to this beautiful cafe every time I am visiting in Stockholm. Normally there are always a lot of the other people so take your time. They sell very tasty pastries, sandwiches tea and coffee. There you could find a part of the original old style Stockholm. I warmly recommend this cafe. The old entrance is in Klara Norra Kyrkogatan.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eero N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vete-Katten also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Vete-Katten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing