We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central and spaceous”
Review of Mosebacke Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mosebacke Hostel
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Pro:
* it is very centrally located in Södermalm, one of the most interesting districts in Stockholm
* there is enough room for all guests, no overcrowding like in some other hostels
* the reception personnel is very friendly and helpful
* free wifi, works quite well
* well equipped kitchen
* there is a night guard, but whether he is useful is a matter of luck. During my 4 nights I have met two different guards, one of them was indeed very watchful, communicative and taking good care of the place during the night, the other was just hiding himself and did not seem to care at all.

con:
* the stoves in the kitchen do not always work
* the airco does not seem to work very well, my room did not have a window and i the air made me feel drowsy and a few times i wasted a morning because i fell asleep again. when i just forced myself to go outside then i'd feel good & awake after a few minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Mosebacke Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

In the pros side it has a kitchen with everything you could need that you could use it for free!This is something very good because prices if you want to eat in Sweden are really expensive!Also it has some computers with internet that you could use also for free.Moreover,it offers breakfast included in the price that is something very rare for hostels.Also the location was really good.
On the other side,the room(i shared a room with my boyfriend) the walls are really thin(i could hear what was happening in the next rooms ) and it has no window.So, it if you were claustrophobic you would definitely have huge problem .Also,the tv was broken,and they did nothing to fix it,and they never cleaned our room(we stayed in this hostel for 4 nights).
Besides that,i thing tha for what a hostel could offer you, i would recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

+: location, common areas and many showers

-: extremely hot rooms w no windows or aircon. Our rooms were located in the basement right next to the female wc and showers (nr 10), which meant that every 2 min (litterally) someone would slam the door to the wc. Didnt sleep at all. Also the 2nd night we slept w the door open to the hall way due to lack of air. Will never go back.

Room Tip: Dont book here
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Signe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Good points:
- Plenty of hot water in the showers
- Modern feel, good decor
- Clean, spacious kitchen
- Fantastic location
- Free Wi-Fi
Bad points:
- Limited kitchen hours (closed 10pm to 7am - more likely 7:30am)
- Bathroom cleanliness is hit and miss
- Freezing cold rooms (in June)
- No real socialising space, no sofas or chill-out areas

Basically, this hostel could be so much better if it just sorted a few things out. The kitchen is great, but if you want a sandwich after a late night, or an early cup of tea, you're out of luck. It's locked. Actually, it's supposed to open at 7am but it's 7:25 now and it's still not open. Also, when it is open, the mornings are dominated by hostel staff making breakfast for the guests who get it included.
The bathrooms, there's a lot of space in the showers, but the toilets are very cramped. I'm only 5"3 and my knees were nearly touching the door. The showers had a really bad urine smell one day as well. But the rest of the hostel is kept very clean.
There's free wi-fi and free computers, a good area for eating with plenty of tables, but no chill-out area with sofas to hang out and meet other guests.
And no curtains in the rooms, so in summer you only get about 3 hours or darkness.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vee820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

(+)
breakfast, good location, well-equipped kitchen for guests
(-)
bathroom situated in the central point of the hotel

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michał S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Nice place with good design, modest breakfasts and lack of windows in the rooms.
Even though, we very very satisfied with doubles and wi-fi works great

Room Tip: not on the ground floor
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hostel is clean, modern, the staff are friendly. The breakfast is great. The only downside is the lack of bathrooms and the walls are very very thin, so fingers crossed you dont have a noisey neighbour! Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitch84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#89 of 154 in Stockholm
233 reviews
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
730 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
#103 of 154 in Stockholm
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Soder
Hotel Soder
#24 of 35 in Stockholm
47 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Dockside Hostel
Dockside Hostel
#52 of 67 in Stockholm
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosebacke Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosebacke Hostel

Address: 26 Hoegbergsgatan | Sodermalm, Stockholm 116 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Slussen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £58 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mosebacke Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mosebacke Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing