We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Also with children, wonderful!”
Review of Stockholm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stockholm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights with our children (3+5) in the Stockholm Hostel at Kungsholmen. First we had to get used to have a room without window, but as the common area is very light and spacious we tried this experience. And it was wonderful. The hostel is very good located to bus, T-Bana and all shopping facilities. The staff ist friendly and helpful and everything is very clean. They have a good look to little things, so you can receive tea, sugar, hot water and every day fresh fruits for free! The kitchen is well equipped, and you have 2 fridges and 1 freezer to storage your own belongings.
Our children played a lot of "hide and seek" and everybody was friendly. The guests are no "real backpackers", everybody used the free Wifi and the range of age was between 1-70.
Please be aware that most of the rooms do not have windows, with children bring a night light with you, you have to pay additional for linens and towels and you have to do it yourself after check-in. As all the room are very well ventilated, it is not a problem to have no windows. For the bath-room bring along thongs or s. e. when you used the shower everything is wet. But it dried very fasten because of the ventilation.

Room Tip: With kids ask for a room located directly to the kitchen (f. e. No. 11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great experience. The staff was friendly, helpfull and super nice.
Location is perfect, easy acess. We stayed in a in suite room that was spacious, clean and very confortable. Really recomend it. Good value too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikaabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you!
Welcome back any time :-)

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This Nobis hotel is situated in the city centre of Stockholm, when we arrived one of the receptionists was coming to welcome us and checked us in. The lobby is very nice decorated and when we arrived in our room (401) we where surprised. The bed is AWSOME with these knispering sheets and the bathroom was very clean en lovely products from Byredo to use. (I couldn't take them with me because I only carried hand luggage which is such a pity..!!!!!).

The guys at the reception where very friendly and booked our restaurant (Pa&CO) and even the guest list for club V was no problem.. BRAVOO!

Also the breakfast is a really good deal (175 SEK), with fresh bread, croissants, eggs, pancakes, fruits, yoghurts (normal/low fat/goat), Swedish newspapers ;) and I think 6 choices of fruit juices. The waitress was so nice and brought us a lovely cappuccino in the morning. Mjammie!

The first day we had lunch in the Italian lunchroom, which was very good as well!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone because of the high standard of service, situated at walking distance from all highlights and the good food.

Thank you staff of the Nobis, it was great!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you! Very kind of you!
Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed at the hostel for one night late August, family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). Staff is friendly and helpful.

The hostel itself is clean. Room consists of 2 bunk beds, very small and small bathroom also, no window. You will have to pay for linens and towels. We got our own shampoo/soap - bought it from a nearby pharmacy.
internet Wi-Fi is free only in the kitchen and there is also a TV in the kitchen.

Good location, near the subway station.

Stockholm itself is a very expensive city. So in comparison to other cities and what we paid for hotel, this was very expensive. But for Stockholm, this is a basic hostel, no frills, I can fit 4 people in a room, and only one night, it was fine. Don't expect it to be a hotel though, this is a hostel. Everything is basic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctedjopranoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hostel is quite new and clean. However, all rooms have no windows (the whole place is below street level and rooms are bomb shelters), everything costs extra: towels and sheets, soaps and shampoo.
internet Wi-Fi is free only in the lobby which is annoying. Staff people are nice and helpful.
Rooms aren't being cleaned daily which is unfortunate.
Place has very strict rules regarding alcohol drinking and partying, which pretty much spoils the fun ( must be quite after 10 pm).
Bottom line is the place fits better for families, and not for backpackers or young tourists who come to party in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ofer_Akrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Stayed in a four person room with 2 bunk beds. The room was very small. In fact, with luggage, it was impossible for all four people to stand in the room at the same time and it took careful maneuvering in the mornings and before bed. The beds were average but the en suite bathroom was clean and nice. The kitchen area can get quite loud and wi-fi is only available in the kitchen. The front desk is staffed for a very short time, which is challenging when you need assistance. It is located in Kungsholmen, near Fridemsplan t-stop, so it is a bit of a trek or a 10 minute metro ride from the city center, Gamla Stan and Sodermalm. This hostel is a nice place to stay, especially if you appreciate a quiet place in a pretty neighborhood and want to avoid the crowds near central station and Gamla Stan.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

hey i am from holland and i go to this hostel and its the best service i ever have before in a hostel. I definitly come back to this place! its good! the crew is realy freandly an wil help you whit everything!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luukthijssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you very much for your rating! We are doing improvements all the time and we hope to see you here again!

Best regards,
Niclas
Stockholm Hostel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Södermalm
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
#9 of 155 in Stockholm
2,376 reviews
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 69 in Stockholm
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 69 in Stockholm
425 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#6 of 69 in Stockholm
644 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Skanstulls Hostel
Skanstulls Hostel
#7 of 69 in Stockholm
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockholm Hostel

Address: 15 Alstroemergatan, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 69 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range: £48 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockholm Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm Hostel is probably the most modern and tailored hostel in Sweden with a private bathroom in every room. We strive to deliver the best hostel experience in Stockholm and give you most value for money. We have 29 rooms. Everyone features flat screen television, internet access, comfortable beds and a unique design bathroom. The rooms range from 2 beds to 6 beds/room. We got a big beautiful social area in the centre of the hostel for people to meet each other. A big spacious kitchen for cooking any type of food. The location is just perfect. Restaurants and bars are around the corner as well as buses and subways. Shopping centre 50 metres away. According to our guests the best feature we got is our high service minded staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Stockholm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing