We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY GOOD HOSTEL”
Review of Stockholm Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stockholm Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A VERY GOOD HOSTEL”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This Hostel is located in KungsHolmen a nice area not far away from the city centre (more or less 15 minutes walking) in the near by there is a metro stop very central and it is easy to reach the hotel from the Airport (the green line contact the Airport to Fridemsplan Metro stop and from there it's just 5 minutes walking). The good things about this Hostel are: it's very clean and tidy. The room furniture is essential but modern. Toilets are shared but they are very clean too. So nothing to say about the clean of the whole hostel. Even if the room are very small you can find all you need even a small desk and a small wardrobe with a mirror! I really think it's worth the price you pay and it is a very high quality hostel. I would definitely recommend it! The reason why I put 4 and not 5 stars is that the hostel is not very quiet. My room faced the road so may be it's better to ask for a quite facing room, another thing is mattresses are a bit uncomfortable, too soft for my back but this is just my opinion, other people might think they are very comfortable instead. The kitchen is very clean and tidy to. DEFINITELY YOU SHOULD GO THERE!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerwithpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    123
    38
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
76
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I for one am sick and tired of fresh air and sunshine. That's why I'm so glad that the Stockholm Hostel has almost entirely banished them from their premises! The only windows you'll see are at the entrance. The foyer may have natural light but it still does not have fresh air, because the windows don't open and the front door is unlocked only by a 4-digit code.

In the foyer, one can enjoy the aroma of chlorine. This is probably a by-product of cleaning the bathrooms. Yes, unlike many hostels, the bathrooms here are clean.

Since the hostel is built in what appears to be a former indoor car park between 2 large apartment buildings, there are NO windows in the rooms. When we asked about airing out the rooms, the friendly girl at the front desk gave the following helpful advice: "you can prop your door open with a chair for extra ventilation."

4 of us travelling together had a 4-bunk room. Before we went to sleep, we propped the door open. All the doors in the hostel are very, very heavy, and always SLAM unless you hold them back. It was very inconvenient to prop it open. Anyway, we had to close the door when we went to sleep, because people use the hallway all night and the lights are always on there.

At night, the rooms become very hot and stuffy! And since there is no natural light, one never knows what time it is, and it is very hard to wake up.

What kind of hostel has no windows and no fresh air? This one!

Room Tip: Use air bnb or couchsurfing instead and stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolocaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Owner at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Hello!

We DO have rooms with windows and our Hostel has a very good Air Condiditioning system. Im sorry if you had a bad stay here but if you would have talked with us in the reception we would have solved your problems and been able to explain to you how you can reserve a room WITH windows and how the AC works :-)

Hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Niclas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hostel was in a good location and close to public transport but if you want to be in the very heart of things, choose Normalm (shopping), Ostermalm (fancy area) Gamla Stan (old historic centre) or Soedermalm (hipster central). The hostel was clean, modern and the staff were very friendly. Just be aware that most (all?) rooms don't have windows and the air conditioning/ventilation is centrally controlled... so it can get quite stuffy/claustrophobic in the rooms. I found it extremely hard to get going in the mornings without any daylight. 9am felt like the middle of the night! The common room and the kitchen area were very pleasant though and the kitchen seemed clean and well-equipped. Choose a room with a bathroom inside because they seemed to be larger than the room we had with an external bathroom. It's worth paying the extra few kronor for it, trust me!
I can't imagine there being many cheaper options in Stockholm which are as modern and clean as this place, so overall, it's a good choice. Just be aware of the no window situation.

Room Tip: Get a room with an internal bathroom, I think they're bigger than the ones with the external bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Great location, conveniently near several large grocery stores and the metro. The atmosphere is cozy and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very new, clean, and homey. The facilities are wonderful and staying at this hostel definitely contributed to my fond memories of my trip to Stockholm. I highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yqddsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you for your rating!
We are very glad you liked our Hostel and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Würselen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights with our children (3+5) in the Stockholm Hostel at Kungsholmen. First we had to get used to have a room without window, but as the common area is very light and spacious we tried this experience. And it was wonderful. The hostel is very good located to bus, T-Bana and all shopping facilities. The staff ist friendly and helpful and everything is very clean. They have a good look to little things, so you can receive tea, sugar, hot water and every day fresh fruits for free! The kitchen is well equipped, and you have 2 fridges and 1 freezer to storage your own belongings.
Our children played a lot of "hide and seek" and everybody was friendly. The guests are no "real backpackers", everybody used the free Wifi and the range of age was between 1-70.
Please be aware that most of the rooms do not have windows, with children bring a night light with you, you have to pay additional for linens and towels and you have to do it yourself after check-in. As all the room are very well ventilated, it is not a problem to have no windows. For the bath-room bring along thongs or s. e. when you used the shower everything is wet. But it dried very fasten because of the ventilation.

Room Tip: With kids ask for a room located directly to the kitchen (f. e. No. 11)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great experience. The staff was friendly, helpfull and super nice.
Location is perfect, easy acess. We stayed in a in suite room that was spacious, clean and very confortable. Really recomend it. Good value too.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikaabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you!
Welcome back any time :-)

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

This Nobis hotel is situated in the city centre of Stockholm, when we arrived one of the receptionists was coming to welcome us and checked us in. The lobby is very nice decorated and when we arrived in our room (401) we where surprised. The bed is AWSOME with these knispering sheets and the bathroom was very clean en lovely products from Byredo to use. (I couldn't take them with me because I only carried hand luggage which is such a pity..!!!!!).

The guys at the reception where very friendly and booked our restaurant (Pa&CO) and even the guest list for club V was no problem.. BRAVOO!

Also the breakfast is a really good deal (175 SEK), with fresh bread, croissants, eggs, pancakes, fruits, yoghurts (normal/low fat/goat), Swedish newspapers ;) and I think 6 choices of fruit juices. The waitress was so nice and brought us a lovely cappuccino in the morning. Mjammie!

The first day we had lunch in the Italian lunchroom, which was very good as well!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone because of the high standard of service, situated at walking distance from all highlights and the good food.

Thank you staff of the Nobis, it was great!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view to the city..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niclas F, Manager at Stockholm Hostel, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thank you! Very kind of you!
Hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Niclas
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,041 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#94 of 154 in Stockholm
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
City Backpackers Hostel
City Backpackers Hostel
#1 of 67 in Stockholm
1,132 reviews
Kungsholmen
City Hostel
City Hostel
#2 of 67 in Stockholm
363 reviews
Norrmalm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
Generator Hostel Stockholm
#8 of 67 in Stockholm
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stockholm Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stockholm Hostel

Property: Stockholm Hostel
Address: 15 Alstroemergatan, Stockholm 112 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Kungsholmen , Kungsholmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 67 Speciality Lodging in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stockholm Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stockholm Hostel is probably the most modern and tailored hostel in Sweden with a private bathroom in every room. We strive to deliver the best hostel experience in Stockholm and give you most value for money. We have 29 rooms. Everyone features flat screen television, internet access, comfortable beds and a unique design bathroom. The rooms range from 2 beds to 6 beds/room. We got a big beautiful social area in the centre of the hostel for people to meet each other. A big spacious kitchen for cooking any type of food. The location is just perfect. Restaurants and bars are around the corner as well as buses and subways. Shopping centre 50 metres away. According to our guests the best feature we got is our high service minded staff! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Stockholm Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing