We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but not great with large groups”
Review of Gotland Restaurang & Bar - CLOSED

Gotland Restaurang & Bar
Price range: US$294 - US$470
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Norrmalm
Bodø
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but not great with large groups”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Went there with a group of perhaps 50 persons. The food was good, but service was understandably not great - and the dessert was a joke. Would still like to go back with a small group to see if that helps.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fmandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent newish restaurant in Stockholm”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Gotland is part of the great Baltic revival in fine dining. In this case, many of the ingredients used by the kitchen come from the island of Gotland and most of the recipes are inspired by the island and its cuisine. What does that mean? Fine fish but also venison, lamb and other hearty dishes done with care and even delicacy. I had a venison dish that was out of this world in terms of taste and presentation. My colleagues opted for the lamb and they were equally happy. I would recommend that you begin the meal with a fish or shell fish centered starter and then follow with meat. We didn't have dessert but we did have cheese and it was also very good.

The other outstanding characteristic of Gotland is its wine list which has many unusual wines from smaller wineries. Our waiter recommended a bottle of white wine from Georgia with our starters and it was a smash hit. Dry with high minerality and some unusual tastes. For the main course, he recommended an outstanding heavier Granache based wine that went exceedingly well with the meat and then with the cheese.

The service at Gotland is first rate and the ambience is terrific. You do have to be sure that you book at the restaurant (quiet, fancy, expensive) and not the bar (loud, casual and less expensive) next door. I am told that the latter is very good as well with some similar dishes but it is hard to imagine that it could top the neighbor next door.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norrköping
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great staff, nice place. Superb food and wine. We had some truffle although it was a week too early kithen let us have a taste.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Authentic swedish food at its best”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Please note that restaurant Gotland is the same place as Gute grill but in different rooms. (only a wall between)

Anyhow this review is about gute grill, beacuse we ate in this section. We loved the atmosphere here, from entering you get the smell of charcoal smoked meat :-) We like! We tried a 3 course dinner here and we loved it. Meet was fantastic, flavour 100% spot on. Asparagus as a starter was freash, we also had the plait with various meets, hams, cheese (good!).

If you want to read the meny/book a table go to www.gutegrill.se
You wont be dissapointed :-)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelicious82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful at all levels”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Great restaurant all around. Very good location, just off Stureplan but tucked away on a side street so it feels a bit quiet. Excellent decoration and looks beautiful. Combination of a small + cozy + modern place which is very interesting. Service was awesome and the food very good. Wine list is pretty good but could do with an extension. Try their home baked bread, to die for.

I would recommend anyone to go to Gotland.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gotland Restaurang & Bar also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing