We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent answer to an expensive city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Tapto
Ranked #16 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Located in the Ostermalm section of the city, Hotel Tapto is outside the center but is a great quiet location. Only a five minute walk to the Stadion subway station and two stops to the downtown central station. Located in a super quiet apartment neighborhood with a nearby supermarket you can pick-up items for a picnic lunch at quite a savings. Included in the room cost was not only an outstanding breakfast of eggs, meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, salad items (tomato,lettuce, etc) , rolls and a wide range of great bread, but also a substantial dinner. During our three night stay we had two meals that featured great fish and one night a pasta. The meals also offered salads, fruits and several types of cheese. We found this to be a substantial savings when compared to restaurant prices in Stockholm.
The rooms were generous in size and super clean. Great bathrooms with an interesting shower with no curtain ( a real trick to keep floors dry). Aside from this quirk, this property was great. We had a double, which was like two twins together, with the German style bed sack covers for great sleeping
The staff were of great help in providing directions and suggestions. Would stay at Tapto on the next trip.
Just a small warning about the concept of a double room in European locations. Do not assume that all double rooms are like those offered by Tapto, some are true double beds (American style). If you desire more sleeping space, it is best to verify bed size before you book. Sometimes difficult to do on line!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tripplanner-89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 1,106 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

Stayed here for three nights in April 2009 with my wife, brother and parents on our 17 day family European vacation. We were all very pleased with the extremely large rooms and cozy and quiet environs. It offered a wonderful breakfast and dinner buffet with a wide selection of foods, that changed everyday, including a great Thai dinner. It was a little outside the city center, Gamla Stan, but only a five minute walk to the bus line or metro. I would highly recommend this location to any traveler, especially with the value of two meals offered every day given the fact that Scandinavia is quite expensive!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Global-Trekker7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2009

As other reviews have mentioned, the Tapto really does have everything. 10 minutes on the T-Bana from Centralen, and two meals a day helps out anyone in Scandinavia on a budget! Highly recommended, great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StephenSmithInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This hotel was really good value for money in Stockholm- the rate includes a buffet breakfast and complimentary dinner, and you can help yourself to tea, coffee and biscuits all afternoon.

It is situated in a lovely quiet residential area of Stockholm, and it is not too far to walk anywhere. There is a supermarket next door which is really handy too.

The rooms were clean and a good size, with a very nice bathroom. There was also a TV. Staff were very friendly, especially in the restaurant.

Stayed: August 2008
4  Thank dudey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

I stayed in the Clarion Tapto for 3 nights in early September in a party of 5.

The hotel is located in a quiet residential part of ostermalm in Stockholm and has many upmarket small shops and cafes nearby. Especially good is the large covered market.

The hotel takes about 10mins to reach from the central bus/train station and should cost around 150SEK. It is possible to walk into central Stockholm and Gamla Stan in 15-20 minutes and involves no steep hills or uneven terrain.

The greeting we received was warm and courteous and the staff were very helpful. The rooms that we initially were allocated were large and spacious and were decorated in a traditional scandinavian style. All areas were spotlessly clean. The bathrrom had no bath but a large wet rrom style shower and there was minimal noise from the street below.

After the first night, 2 members of my party were unable to sleep properly because of a faulty bathroom fan. They were therefore moved to another room which although smaller was decorated in a more modern fifties inspired style. There was a small mini bar in the room with free bottled water and orange juice.

Thes best aspect to this hotel is the inlcuded evening meal and breakfast buffets. Originally we did not know about the evening meal buffet on booking but found out on Tripadvisor. This consisted of a daily changing staple such as roast chicken or lasagne with a large varied salad bar, fresh bread, cheeses, cold meats, fruit and yoghurt. In addition, tea, coffee and soft drinks were also complimentary. Small cakes, biscuits and tea/coffee were free all day.

The breakfast was again, fresh bread, cheeses, cold meats, bolied and scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, cereal, dried and fresh fruit, yoghurt, museli, tea/coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice.

The quality of all of the food was top notch and much of it was described as "organic". In a country that is not known for low prices, this certainly enabled us to spend more heavily on other great things in Stockholm such as designer household goods!

All in all this was a pretty average but very clean hotel that was most definately out of the ordinary in terms of excellent value and quality included food and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnnyboy129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

I booked this hotel through an airline vacation package and knew very little about it before arriving there with my seventeen year old grandson. We stayed for 12 days, making day trips outside of Stockholm some of the time. The Tapto served a really nice breakfast buffet and a substantial evening meal so the meals we enjoyed elsewhere were easier on the budget . The hotel is very convenient to transportation, both by bus and the metro system. The staff was friendly and helpful, there were lots of young families. Our room was simple, but comfortable and clean. We had some issues with the room service ( I had to leave a note when the glasses hadn't been replaced in several days), but nothing really important. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DeefromFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

Though it is located slightly far away from the city center, the metro station was only 5 minutes walk away and we reached the central station in less than 5 minutes. The hotel was very clean though not big or spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Located in a very quiet area, the hotel was indeed well worth every penny we spent. Will recommend it for anyone who wants clean and comfortable rooms. The only thing is the mini bar is a sad sight. (only water and juice)..

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mukhiyaistravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,330 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
570 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Tapto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Tapto

Address: 57 Jungfrugatan, Stockholm 115 31, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £106 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Tapto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Tapto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Tapto Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Collection Hotel Tapto
Clarion Collection Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing