We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Room 115”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #43 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 115”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed at this Radisson for 2 nights, starting 27 June 2011. Was given room 115, an interior room with a window overlooking the bar. So the curtain had to be kept closed for privacy. Since it was the first floor, no sunlight entered the room. The bathroom also had a small window over the shower, from which people walking on an interior hallway could observe the toilet. The only way to have privacy in the bathroom was to keep the light turned off. Very small room. I only stayed in the room because I was traveling by myself on business, and did not want some unfortunate couple on vacation to have their trip ruined by this experience. I did send an evaluation to the hotel, which responded by saying they would make my next stay pleasant. No chance of that happening.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toomanymiles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandresponse, Public Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 15 August 2011
We are sorry that your visit did not match your expectations, some of our rooms have a view towards the water and some have a view towards the atrium.

Please contact us on sales.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com to discuss this further
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    467
    159
    71
    27
See reviews for
172
407
57
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Illinois
Level Contributor
203 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights and loved the location. Breakfast was great. Room was tiny, even by European standards. Bathroom was cool but real tiny

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareinsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Wonderful spacious room, large beds, well equipped including tea and coffee making facilities, iron and board, dressing gowns etc. The only poor thing about the room was the old fashioned TV. We overlooked the harbour so it was beautifully positioned, with a boat hopping stop nearby and also the tram. Good air conditioning as an alternative to windows. Breakfast not included so we used cafes. Can recommend Albert & Jack's next to the state run alcohol store Systembolaget on Drottlingen 24. Around a twenty minute walk to the Central Station and airport bus terminal.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blackcat2york
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
156 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Strand Hotel has perfect location, with view to the harbour from the rooms. The standard is also very good, and service polite and friendly. The only drawback is the extremely expensive breakfast and the fact that we weren't even guaranteed a table, since the hotel's restaurant were very popular for Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If this is a five star hotel, I shudder to think what a three star hotel would be like. As with most European hotels room size is small, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom did not allow two people to stand in it at the same time. The breakfast that came with the room was not good, unless you enjoy bacon flavored pancakes and ice cold eggs.

The help was pleasant, but their recommendations were not always the best. Overall the hotel was not awful but certainly not five star and was over priced.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hlondon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandresponse, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
We are sorry that your visit did not match your expectations and that you were dissatisfied with the breakfast.

Please contact us on sales.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com to discuss this further

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

As a frequent visitor to Stockholm who normally visits on business the aim of this personal trip was to stay somewhere with a view and at a hotel that was more organised around pleasure and not work. The choice was one of 3 hotels of similiar rating very close to each other and the Strand won over the other 2.
I booked a couple of nights and on arrival found the lobby of the hotel included the reception counter smack bang located adjunct to the hotel restaurant. This meant that whilst trying to check in at a very small counter standing behind people who where trying to orientate themselves with a travel map i was circa 3 metres from people sitting eating a meal in the restaurant. I felt uncomfortable for the people eating in the restaurant and i don't know how they felt watching all of us check in.
I found the staff very helpfull on the reception counter and after first time round allocating me a room and then agreeing that yes the TV was 20 years old they found another room.

The following morning i went down for a coffee at breakfast time and sought a copy of the FT and was told it was a holiday in Sweden so no papers today. Whilst drinking my coffee i noticed another guest with a copy of the FT in hand at the breakfast. The hotel was full but per Radisson in Stockholm made no adjustment in daily papers relevant to the number of guests.
I went for a walk and was in the lobby of a hotel nearby who had 20 copies of the FT so go figure...
On Day 2 i had breakfast in the hotel i found the staff in the rstaurant not of the same calibre as the re ception staff and not very attentive. Due to the holiday i ended up having lunch in the restaurant the same day and the service was very poor at lunch time.
Hotel is an old property and a nice property if you get a renovated room, the location is cute on the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadeonplanetearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strandresponse, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Thank you for your feedback,

Please contact us on sales.strand.stockholm@radissonblu.com to discuss this further

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Blu hotels are supposed to be more exclusive, with great service and attention to details. This hotel will not disappoint you. Everything is there - if you pay for it. I sincerely enjoyed my stay and i loved the atmosphere. You will have everything you need if you need to work. One thing though: The breakfast personnel are a bit rough - for my taste - if you want sensitive service. Not really a big deal, but just so you know. I have stayed at so many hotels, and this definitely counts as one of the most appropriate for its' purpose.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 157 in Stockholm
1,285 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 157 in Stockholm
3,369 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 157 in Stockholm
1,435 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 157 in Stockholm
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Address: 9 Nybrokajen | Box 16396, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel located in the heart of Stockholm overlooking the waterfront, near business and recreational sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing