We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Nearby Hotels
US$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rival(Stockholm)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
US$480
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$453
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$252
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$222
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Skeppsholmen(Stockholm)
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel C Stockholm(Stockholm)(Great Value!)
US$214
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$264
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Clarion Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diplomat(Stockholm)
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveller rating
434
527
185
82
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
527
185
82
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townharbour viewvasa museumgamla stansuperior roombusiness roomwater viewwalking distanceshopping districtnice roombreakfast buffetbusiness tripvery nice hotelroyal palacecentral locationsingle room
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Radisson Blu Strad felt like an ideal location for visiting Stockholm. The hotel is right on the water on a spit of land that is central to the most popular islands and attractions of Stockholm, Gamla Stan (old city), Kungsholmen, Skeppsholmen & Djurgarden, and everything is an easy walk. The downtown major shopping district also is an easy 15 minute walk.

The hotel is an old building, as evidenced by the grand staircase that winds all the way to the top 6th floor, but the hotel has been modernized extensively and was a very good experience.

Rooms are quite small by American standards, but about on-par with most older European central city hotel rooms. You will be stepping around and over your luggage. The bathroom was equally tight, definitely only one at a time, but the fixtures are all brand new, with nice sink and toilet arrangements. But, standing at the sink, if you take a big step backwards, you'll be sitting on the john. The shower is typical handheld wand in a tub arrangement, with a 1/3 enclosure, so you have to be careful not to spray the entire room! Water pressure and temp were excellent every time.

The bed was very comfortable and appointed in a typical Swedish fashion with soft down underlayer and individual down cover duvets, which we found very convenient. Cleanliness was excellent. WiFi was fair. My cell signal for my AT&T iPad was better, so I relied on that.

The hotel sits on a corner and our room was on the busiest side. Even so, the 'busy' street really isn't. The Blu Strand is on this little spit of land into the harbor, so you really don't get much traffic. Our room was plenty quiet for me, and I am very noise sensitive. So you should have absolutely no street noise problems in any room in this hotel.

And, as a nicer hotel, the guests all seemed to be well-mannered business and mature vacation travelers (like us). We experienced no hallway noise. This did not seem to be a hotel for 20-somethings.

The lobby is nice -- all modernized -- with one restaurant. Dinner was good there, and on-par price and quality-wise with others we tried in Old Town (see other reviews). Dinner portions are pretty large - up to American large portion expectations. The menu focuses on what seemed to be pretty standard Swedish fare. The chanterelles and gravy over toast must be a late summer/early fall standard. We saw it on many menus, but it was as good or better here as anyplace else we tried it. A big slab of craft bread is toasted and covered with chanterelle mushrooms and the broth/gravy in which they were cooked. Really fantastic.

Shrimp salad seems to be a Swedish standard as well, as much as the omnipresent meatballs. The shrimp are smaller than what we're used to in the U.S., but were fresh and tasty. But, beware, the hardy Swedes at this hotel give you a portion fit for two! We also had their asparagus soup (so-so review from my companion), but she gave the beef carpaccio a thumbs up.

The hotel also does a breakfast buffet, which is a great way to get moving on your day. Finding someplace for breakfast takes a lot of time out of the beginning of your day, especially in Stockholm, so we chose to get it done at the hotel. Their buffet is very good and extensive, including American staples such as scrambled eggs and bacon. European standards included yogurt, pastries, several kinds of sausages, cheeses, deli meats, and several juice choices. You can even 'go native' and have some pickled herring for breakfast.

With a great location, great food, peacefully quiet and good service, we recommend this hotel highly for a Stockholm visit. If you're really there to visit and see the sites, you won't mind the small room size; you're just sleeping there!

We did note that the check-in desk can get busy, as some other reviewers have noted, but I've never been at a hotel that didn't have that problem at peak hours. We were patient and had no problems. In fact, we were even able to get into our room early, before 10 a.m., after flying in overnight.

Room Tip: Didn't seem to be a bad side to the hotel. We were on the busiest side, and it was still plenty quiet! Obviously, if you can get a view of the harbor, all the better.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SammySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are happy to here you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure to invite you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The service is this hotel was the most disappointing issue I had.
I arrived into an overcrowded reception with several parties checking in and out at the same time with only Two receptionists to take care of them.
After waiting a long time for my turn i found out that my room was NOT ready although it was past check-in time (2PM).
I only got my room at 3:15PM and at no time any of the hotel representatives apologized for the inconvenience and, to be honest, they had an arrogant attitude when i twice went to check with them if the room was ready.
Breakfast was good but had NO SERVICE. I had to remove dirty plates and glasses from the table a few times.
The double room was comfortable but small and the location was excellent.
Once again, the hotel and location were ok but the service was terrible and at times very arrogant.

Room Tip: The double room is good for 1 person and too tight for 2. If you are looking for a decent service look elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wigder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Many apologies for the delay of your check-in and that the room was not quite ready when you arrived. This must have been an unusually busy time at the hotel as we strive to deliver a warm welcome when our guests arrive and foremost do our best to check-in everyone without much delay. We hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel on another occasion for you to experience our services including our breakfast.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel. The staff let us check in two hours early. Our room was very clean, and the bed was really comfortable. The staff was friendly, and they made excellent recommendations for us when we had questions. The location of this hotel is superb! It's in walking distance to some great restaurants (like Operakällaren) and sightseeing attractions (like Gamla Stan, The Royal Palace, sightseeing cruises, Djurgården, Östermalm's shopping district, etc.) We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenRey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this response. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had booked the hotel through the website hotels.com where we requested a double room with twin beds. When we arrived att the hotel we were checked in with no problems but when we entered the room we found a queen size double bed.

We called reception to ask to be moved to another room but were told that the hotel was full and that there was no possibility for us to move. The receptionist also said that he had noted that we had requested a queen size double bed. So obviously the communication between the booking site and the hotel had faltered somewhere. He offered to put in an extra bed for us but considering the size of the room (extremely small) this was not an option as it would have made moving about in the room very difficult.

Fortunately my travel companion and I know each other very well so sharing the bed was not a problem but it did not make for a good nights sleep as we kept waking each other up when turning in the bed.... for one night this is acceptable but not for two, especially as it was a working stay.

In the room and on reception desk they have a notice saying that they guarantee 100% guest satisfaction or your money back, so when we were checking out we explained the situation.

Not expecting to get a full refund but at least some gesture of acknowledgement that would have smoothed things over. We were told that it was not their problem and that we should contact the booking site to find out what had gone wrong. All we got was a curt "terribly sorry, but there is nothing that I can do"..... so much for 100% guest satisfaction.

Considering the size of the room and the fact that we were given a queen size bed instead of two singles, the mix-up between the hotel and the booking site (which I feel should be sorted out by the hotel and not by the guests) - this room was vastly overpriced.

Other than this the hotel was nice, the location good, the breakfast was excellent and we had a nice dinner in the restaurant in the evening. But, due the treatment we got when checking out and the promise of 100% guest satisfaction or a full refund, which was obviously a lie, I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Seems like there was a mix-up in the booking and apologies that we where not able to change room due to the hotel being fully booked. In other circumstances we try to accomodate your request and gladly switch rooms from queen to twin if possibly, however it is a shame we where not able to this time. Happy to hear that the rest of your stay with us was enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband, 10 year old son and I arrived in Stockholm, only to discover that our room would not be ready for hours. We enjoyed our day despite the jetlag, only to again discover that our room was still not ready. We were eventually put on a "priority list" and finally received our room which had a beautiful view. However, it was the dirtiest hotel room I have encountered in many years. The two arm chairs were covered with so much hair that our son refused to sit on them. The carpet was filthy, stained, and had chewing gum embedded on it. The bathroom mirror was covered with fingerprints. I brought this to the attention of the front desk and they had the room re-cleaned, which consisted of de-hairing one of the two filthy chairs. While the hotel was in a good location, had friendly staff and a wonderful breakfast I would not return to this hotel as it was below my expectations for basic needs such as a clean room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidipony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Collection Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologies that you where not satisfied with your room and will respond to your feedback in order to improve our guests stay. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed our breakfast. We appreciate your comments and take them onboard.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews