We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of the city, close to the old town and all the places you'll want to see around Stockholm. This makes it an excellent starting point for all kind of trips, most things are within walking distance.

The staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet was great. Our room (Superior Room) had a view onto the harbour, which was nice. However, since we were on the first floor, the view was limited. Other than that, the rooms were on the smaller side but had high ceilings.

We also used the sauna, which is free for all guests of the hotel, which was very nice. However, I am not sure if I would consider this to be a 5-star hotel, mostly due to the smaller rooms, the additional charge for the breakfast and the noise coming from the outside.

Room Tip: If you're willing to spend a little more, get a room with harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Simon K,

thank you for taking the time to share your experiences after your stay at Radisson Blu Strand hotel. It is a pleasure to read that you felt satisfied with your room, the breakfast and the service from the staff here. I can only agree with you that the central location of our hotel makes it perfect for all the guests who wants to explore the highlights in Stockholm.
Since January 2014 this hotel does not use the star rating system any longer and is therefore not a 5 star hotel.
Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and welcome back to us next time you are in Stockholm!

Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

457 - 463 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Close to the "old Town". Lot's of restaurants in walking distance. Hop on- hop- off bus a block away and 3-4 canal boat trips right out side the front door, Front desk staff are excellent.
Julius restaurant is along side the lobby. the hotel is very old and some of the rooms quite small.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms that look over the "inner court yard" small and dark. Rooms in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardTiburon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear edwardTiburon,

thank you for your very kind comment!
I am glad to read that you find our staff excellent and that you enjoyed the location of Radisson Blu Strand hotel.

Welcome back to us next time you are in Stockholm!

Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good hotel in historical area of Stockholm. Rooms on the small side but well equipped and the bed was very comfortable. Hairdryer was ok but could have been better! Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast buffet. Best thing though was the location - our room looked out onto the water and boats at Nybroplan. Easy walking distance to Ostermalm, Gamla Stan and Djurogarten.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Kat159,

thank you for your kind comment! It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay here at Radisson Blu Strand hotel. The location is certainly very central and perfect for visitors who want to explore all the attractions in Stockholm.
We hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in the future!

Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel has been my location of choice whilst away on business , prices can be high comparative to uk but it certainly my first choice any time I'm in the city, always helpful and well turned out staff.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear John,

thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am glad to hear that our hotel is your first choice and we are looking forward to meet you soon again!

Welcome back!

Kind regards
Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Excellent location in the historical district for a week-end to visit Stockholm. Some rooms with a wonderful view on harbour and ships.
Some rooms are on the street side with no real view and others are on veranda covered inside court yard were breakfast is served.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the inner court yard and ask for a room on the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisbanlieue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Kundansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Parisbanlieue,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel!

We are very påleased to find that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope we have convinced you to come back to us upon your next visit to Stockholm.

Kind regards,

Vidar Rehn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were here for four nights in June 2014. A few days before we arrived, we got an email offering an upgrade on a space available basis for a very reasonable price. We arrived to find the upgrade clear, and there we were in a 6th floor junior suite looking out on the water.
This hotel is in a near-perfect location a short walk to Gamla Stan, the old city of Stockholm. Nearby are lots of restaurants, although we ended up doing the bulk of our eating in the hotel. Their dining room is just super with a mostly Scandinavian flavor. Also, boats to the islands are a five minute walk from the hotel. Our room was quiet and clean.
Just an aside, but if you go to the hotel from the Central Station, be very aware that cabs in Stockholm can rip you off. The ride to the Strand Hotel should cost about 160 Kroner. We paid about 300, because we THOUGHT he was on the meter.
If and when we return to Stockholm, this will definitely be our hotel. Not at all cheap, but you do get your money's worth.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the water. There's no street noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruce_santarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Kundansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Bruce,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a few lines about your stay with us!

We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt that you got your money's worth out of it. As for the location of the hotel we could not agree more, as it does not get much better in central Stockholm.

Regarding the Taxi drivers over-charging you, we are very aware of this problem in Stockholm and a good tip for next time you are here is to look at the metre-price stated on the window of the cars (required by swedish law). In order to get a good price, this value should be between 300-350 SEK.

See you next time!

Kind regards,

Vidar Rehn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

i have chosen the RB strand because of its location on the water and pictures i have seen of it lit at night. i gladly paid for an upgrade (SKR 600) to have a slightly larger room and water view.

very friendly staff indeed, all speaking very good english.

nice breakfast, luckily served till late morning.

ordered plenty on room service and albeit limited in choice always prompt and good, even after coming back from the gig at 1pm.

few minors glitches. a bedside lamp broken and never fixed
a cleaner stepped into our room finding my half naked on the phone
a terrible sauna really, which in sweden is a bit disappointing
no bell boy for luggage. overheard a canadian couple asking why, after arriving wednesday under a torrential rain, and being told but a desk guy 'it's because is raining!!'.

all together a great stay. stockholm is beautiful.

only thing to avoid: thieving taxi drivers.

Room Tip: Try room 603, 6th floor. only if you like being awoken by departing ferries. i loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest r, Kundansvarig at Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Enrico S,

Thank you for taking you time to write a review about our hotel!

We are very glad to hear that you were, to the most part, pleased with our hotel and services. We also hope you had a good time watching "The Stones" perform.

In regards to some of you issues, we are ashamed to hear that your bedside lamp never was fixed and we are sad to hear that you found the Sauna dissatisfactory. As for the bell-boy, we sure have them, but due to low demand we cannot always have them standing outside waiting for guests to arrive. I can assure you that the reason nobody was there to help the Canadian couple was not because it was raining.

We hope these few glitches will not keep you away from our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Vidar Rehn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,626 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,177 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
3,656 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#59 of 154 in Stockholm
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm

Address: 9 Nybrokajen | Box 16396, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#22 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £120 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CREATING THE HEART OF THE MOMENT Offering exceptional accommodation overlooking the city's beautiful waterways and harbor, the Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm is a superb lodging choice in the Swedish capital. The iconic hotel is undergoing a transformation, to become a contemporary lifestyle hotel for both international guests and local visitors. Together with the acclaimed architectural agency Wingardhs, we renew all rooms and suites. Scandinavian stylish design meets rich history, dating back to 1912, when the hotel first opened the doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing