We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special, great location”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This was a pretty standard hotel, although not as high as other radissons I have stayed in. The service was fine, staff very polite, and the room was cleaned every day. The decor was in desperate need of refurbishment though, and I am not a fussy person when it comes to hotels! During my visit I noticed they were in the middle of building a brand new radisson near the waterfront - perhaps this accounts for the lack of renovations going on here?

The 'Sky bar' was a nice place to sit in and have a drink while looking over the city.

The room was large and the price quite cheap ( for Stockholm), and the location was perfect - right next to the central bus and train/underground station and walking distance to gamla stan and the shopping district.

Be careful if you book through an external website though. I did this and breakfast was not included in my rate. I later found out that it's very unusual for this to happen in Swedish hotels!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EthereaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    1,312
    577
    160
    60
See reviews for
547
864
187
934
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I have stayed here a few times and this is now my preferred hotel when in Stockholm on business. Good location (Central Station) and meets the usual Radisson standards. Rooms not special but fine and internet is excellent. The gym and spa, whilst small are nice. Breakfast always seems very busy but caters for all and food is adequate if not luxurious. I like it here and the staff are very nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalkmeister1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Rooms are well maintained, and staff are always ready to help. Beds are comfortable and sleep was no problem, there was no unwanted noise inspite of the construction nearby. Breakfast was good, nothing spectacular but had a lot of choices.

Location is good, there is a nearby 7 11 and Mcdonald's open 24 hours. The Ice Bar is also a convenient 1 minute walk from the hotel.

Overall, I would stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinnerbox8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the last 4 days. Was a pretty nice hotel with the train and bus stations very close. Check-in was quick. The hotel has several levels (I was on the 8th) and there are three elevators available to ascend in. The room had free Wi-Fi which was pretty decent on speed. Did a video chat with my wife and it worked without any hitches. There are about 20 odd channels on the TV and a few of them in English also. As with most European hotels, the rooms are not super-sized but it was fine. Towels were changed everyday and even the teabags and sugar packets dutifully replaced. The breakfast costs an additional 125 SEK but if the price fits, its a very good spread with excellent selection. I walked to GamlaStan as well as other locations pretty easily.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jac2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We found the hotel very old. It was quite an unpleasant stay because the hotel wasn't at the level we paid for. the furniture was worn out. The lpcation of the hotel is very convinient as it's near the city center and Arlanda Express train stops next to the hotel. But if we are in Stockholm again we'll stay in Radisson Blu Strand Hotel wich location is even better and it looks more comfirtable. We chose Radisson Blu Royal Viking because there is a pool and a health center there. We tried to visit the these services but it was awful, the pool was too cold to swim and we left it immediately. he only thing that we liked there was the Sky Bar. But ithe drinks there was a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nchub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Convenient location and good service - but the rooms are old - the decor feels like a blast from the past , CRT TVs and generally old and tired. You can get better for your money.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMohinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
186 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This is just quite a boring hotel. It has nice bars mind you on the ground floor and the sky bar. The rooms are just a bit small and seem to be all wood and blue. Really well located for the city (then so are others) but it is okay...just basically okay. Would i go back ..i suppose so..it's stolid.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gringottsgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 154 in Stockholm
2,391 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,445 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,175 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing