We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Hotel for Business or Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #50 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ideal Hotel for Business or Weekend Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed in this hotel on business and decided to return with the family for a long weekend break. For business its ideal with Central Railway Station (and Arlanda Express to airport) next door, Taxi rank next to hotel, and plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
For family long weekend break, hotel was OK, just got off Arlanda express and it was walking distance to hotel. Slightly further away to tourist attractions than other hotels, but still walkable. Would probably choose to stay at the Radisson Blu Strand if staying with the family for a weekend break, as this is nearer to all the tourist attractions.
Free WiFi, breakfast was included in my rate, nice bar with good choice of drinks - although expensive, small swimming pool - but heating wasn't working when we went so it was freezing!

Room Tip: Book early for a cheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    832
    1,270
    564
    154
    59
See reviews for
530
848
182
901
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The hotel is in a good location right next to the central station and the airport express train. Main shopping areas and old town are all within walking distance. You enter the beautiful lobby which is in a modern and contemporary design.

The downturn came when i entered my room (5th floor). Dark red carpets and wooden interior which must date back to the seventies. Bathroom old fashioned also, AC noisy and no ironing board. The free wifi had low signal strength and dropped out from time to time.

Breakfast is of the usual good Scandinavian quality but was served in what seemed a huge conference lobby which was really unpersonal.

Overall the hotel is not bad but for the price they charge (around 300 USD night) i expect more. If you want to stay centrally and at a Radisson property then go across the street to the brand new Radisson Waterfront.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gode_Reisetips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

This is a superb hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms are excellent and the breakfast buffet just tops it all off - sensational all around! For business, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Stockholm. Very conveniently located near the Arlanda Express as well (to get to and from the airport). It's literally 100 metres away.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed at this property post-cruise for 2 nights prior to our return trip to the US. The hotel is located adjacent to Central Station and about a 45 second walk to the Arlanda Express terminal. After disembarking our ship, the taxi ride took a mere 15 minutes to reach the hotel. Be sure to know how much you are paying for your cab ride in advance of getting in as it seems you can negotiate and decide which currency to use (Swedish, Euro, etc.).

Check In: Friendly staff that was welcoming. Efficient service and large, secure room to store our luggage - we arrived about 11am hoping our room was ready, which it was not. A bit of a bummer, but was not expecting an early check in.

Lobby: Neat atrium like space. Modern and light-filled center with modern feeling surroundings. Did not eat at the hotel or bar, but did have a drink at the bar. Neat internet station located centrally to look up information, buy transit tickets, etc. Bar drinks were not overpriced and service was quick.

Room: A bit dated. There is a big juxtaposition between the modern lobby feel and the corridors and rooms. Rooms have a lot of oak.. just felt a bit 80s. The room was large - family room which included a living area with a murphy bed, hall with spacious bath and rear bedroom. 2 tvs. Nice coffee set up and fridge to store some water or snacks. Free wifi throughout property. Doors were odd as they opened outwardly. Lots of toiletries, prompt maid service and sufficient towels. Beds were a bit lumpy and uneven.

Pool: Hmmm. Indoors and attached to that SATS gym. The gym was very nice and very well equipped. The pool was dark and surrounded by faux rocks and icicles to create a semi-grotto feel. Nice touch to have a pool in city center, but again it did not fit with the clean, streamlined look and feel of the adjoining gym.

Would try a location a bit closer to the waterfront next time though walking was never a challenge. Lots of restaurants to try nearby and location is near IceBar which was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JK949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed here for a bank holiday weekend. Very modern hotel, room was spacious, spotlessly clean and the location was great for exploring the city. The sky bar on the top floor is worth a visit, lovely views of stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

On entering the hotel the lobby looks like a decent 5* hotel, nice bars, reception area, hallways and exterior doors.
But enter the rooms and it feels like you have entered a timewarp and gone back 20 years. Everything in the room is dated, from the boxy grundig tv, brass lamps, to a picture of a sailboat. Whoops my mistake, sorry 2 pictures of sailboats. Luckily we had a city view from the front of the hotel bit I dread to image what the rooms overlooking the breakfast court yard type area must be like.
That Segway leads me onto the breakfast. Having stayed at severel other 5* hotels this breakfast doesn't compare. If you like hotdog sausage, fake scrambled eggs and nuked tasteless bacon you'll love it here. I'd honestly rate the breakfast 3* and the hotel in general 4* and thats only due to it being close to the subway and Arlanda express.
Expect to pay £15 for a beer and a vodka in the skybar which is pretty much the average price for 2 drinks around Stockholm.
Stockholm itself is an amazing city but this hotel isn't.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_hazelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

We are 2 kiwi couples in our 60's doing a 3 week trip with a lot of 1 or 2 night stays. We found this hotel very relaxing, quite, great staff that were very helpful, good breakfasts and a very sound sleep for 2 nights. What else do you need. Enjoyed a drink in the Sky bar and hotel location was good to walk to most areas that we wanted to go to in the city.
Would stay there again. Nothing to fault this stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#29 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing