We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but beware "superior" rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel but beware "superior" rooms”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We visited over New year 2012/2013 and had booked a Superior Room and requested a nice view in advance. On arrival we got an internally facing room (overlooking an internal atrium above where breakfast is served) so we asked to change rooms. When changing, we also requested to move one of the recently refurbished rooms (they're gradually doing the whole hotel) as the superior room we'd rejected was very outdated and tired. They said they didnt have any superior rooms that had been refurbished so in the end we downgraded to take a refurbished standard room with external view. The only difference with standard room is the size, but we had more than enough room and it was much nicer.

Breakfast buffet was good, although very busy so go early. Pool was freezing cold so we only visited once. The jaccuzzi was good but small for the hotel size. The saunas were split by gender, so we didnt go in as we wanted to stay together.

Great location to explore the city, good staff and service, lobby bar was nice.


Top Tips:
- Avoid Skybar, the views arent great and its very small but trying to be a nightclub with loud annoying music!
- Request externally facing rooms, internal ones are quite dark.
- Request recently rennovated room, they're much nicer.
- Beware of 'superior' rooms, they're bigger but out-dated.

Room Tip: - Request externally facing rooms, internal ones are quite dark. - Request recently rennovated room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    841
    1,298
    572
    157
    59
See reviews for
540
859
185
920
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gentofte, Denmark
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Can’t believe they charge same price for their old run down outdated awful room, with “view” to their breakfast restaurant.
I have stayed here several times, and always received wonderful new renovated room, with windows facing the outdoors.
Hotels in general in Stockholm are expensive, and service dull and cold – this hotel is no exception, but it doesn’t get better in Sweden unfortunately.
Last time I stayed here, I had the terrible room and very noisy. The man who checked us in, was extremely slow, and did not know anything at all about their own hotel or their EuroBonus program – can’t believe they will have such a person employed, seemed like he did not care for or like his job there at all.
They only reason I come back is the location. 3 minute walk from the Arlander express train, and another 3 minutes to the shops in the center. And the fact that you receive 500 mileage points via Star alliance, this however, is something their employees don’t have a clue about, so make sure you ask them to input your mileage number, and keep the receipt so you can redeem the points if it doesn’t happen.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a renovated room - NOT facing their breakfast restaur
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love-2-travel_2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over a weekend and it was a nice surprise. Location is central, close to all the restaurants and pubs. Shopping area is just a few minutes away. The staff was very nice and helpful, All day access to sauna, pool and gym are included in the room price, with very lovely breakfast buffet. Rooms are cosy, new and clean, with the bar which is not overpriced at all. There are heated floors in the bathroom, which was a big plus for me. On the down side, the smell of chlorine in the hallways was a bit off and not all the things were brought to breakfast buffet on time. But overall, we had great time and we got more than we expected. We will go there again and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here after a few days at their property in Gothenburg. As it should be for a bigger city this is a higher-end hotel for Radisson, very clean and upscale. Room was a standard, plenty large enough, good sized bath. Stayed just before Christmas and the lobby decorations were very nice.
Walking distance to Glama Stan (Old Town) and shopping district, right next to Centralstation (train & subway).
Breakfast buffet was large, well managed with typical US, English, Asian and Euro fare. Large seating area usually almost full at most times but still OK. Had a late lunch in bar, from the attached Fisk Restaurant which was good, but I'd recommend dinner elsewhere as their menu wasn't too special and prices were more than average for Stockholm.
The rooftop bar was a fun way to start (or end) the evening, and although we didn't try it the spa looked good with a large hot tub, decent pool and exercise room.
Good value for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a view you'll need to ask, and some rooms have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Had a two day stay here late November when providing training course for a customer. The hotel is located right by the main station, very convenient for the Arlanda Express and the underground.
Originally booked into single room, had lovely surprise when I arrived room was upgraded to double. Very comfortable, clean room, looked that it had been refurbished fairly recently. Although room had window looking out in to central courtyard found the room very quiet. Wireless internet worked well from room. Very good range of food in the breakfast room. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Hotel Viking is famous for its great location close to the Central Railway Station, which makes very easy to get and back to Arlanda Airport. Rooms are clean and average cosy. The Hotel has a very poor swimming pool, so if you are looking forward to swim a lot, forget it. Go instead to the well equipped fitness centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strzala1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#22 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing