We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time warp from the early 90s” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #49 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Time warp from the early 90s”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Firstly, this hotel is brilliantly located. I arrived at Stockholm Central train station late at night, and it was wonderful to just pop right over to the hotel next door. So, that's great.

the staff also seemed friendly enough - a good sign, although I didn't interact with them that much.

The room, however. Oh the room! Well, on the positive side, it was certainly large. The size of it was comparable to a typical American hotel room (so, big). But first impressions are everything, and lord, when I stepped in the room I felt like I'd been transported back a couple of decades. When I think of he Radisson Blu brand, I think of chic, up-to-date rooms. This may have enhanced the discrepancy between my experience and my expectations. Wallpaper borders? really????? I really haven't seen those in a long time. The furnishings tatty, and the doors to some of the cabinets didn't stay shut well. The TV cabinet appeared to have had doors removed at some point. The TV itself has clearly not been updated in over 10 years. The wi-fi was sometimes slow or spotty. The bathroom...... ay yih yin. I think the sink area has been updated sometime in the past 5 years, but the rest of the bathroom had not. The but was clearly old, and there was a plastic fake front on it that didn't quite cover the whole tub. The tub drained from a tube into an open drain! the tile in the shower was blue - you know, those blue tiles from the 90s that got lighter on the border of the tile? the built in dryer was simply ancient. it was yellowing with age, and was one of those flexible tube things that blasts hot air out, rather than a proper blow dryer. Very classy (said tongue in cheek).

Also, the room service menu was incredibly limited and mainly included high fat, high simple carbohydrate options (e.g., of the 5 main dish options, two of them were lasagne). Thank goodness for the fast food carry out Thai next door.

So, in sum, the location was excellent, the service was good, the room was comfortable and large -but it desperately needs an update.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller72how
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear traveller72how,

Thank you so much for your time to write a review.

We renovated the upper floors in 2012 and all rooms have new, modern look with the Radisson Blu "Naturally Cool" and "New York Mansion House" style concepts.

Stage 2 in the renovation plan would include the rooms as you refer to as a "Time warp from the early 90s".
(It might sound strange, but some of our guests still requests these rooms instead of the newly renovated but we all like different styles.)

We are aware of the need to update the rooms and are looking forward to stage 2 as much as you.

Hopefully, the location, service and the comfort and size of the rooms will give us an opportunity to welcome you back tou us again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    1,248
    558
    152
    59
See reviews for
523
834
179
885
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

this is a conveniently placed hotel right next to the central station. if u get the room facing the harbor, it has a really nice view of stockholm and the water. it can be quite pretty. the room itself is modern and quite what u would expect from a chain hotel. it's a bit of a hop from the town center though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear banjapat,

Thank you for your kind review.
We hope to have you back with us soon again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times, over the last 7 years. I stay here mostly because of the brilliant location, next door to the airport express train, and next door to most of my partners offices.
The service is warm and good. They always meet me with a smile. Rooms are a little bit out dated, but who stays in the room when on business?
The room has all i demand. However this is not my choice when travelling with my girlfriend. It is a business hotell. And I will return.... (Tomorrow actually :-))

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sjefen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Sjefen,

You are very much welcome back!
However, we would love to have you as a guest with your girlfriend too.

Hope to have the opportunity to welcome you both to us.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Provides everything you need for a few nights in town, but not much more. Would suggest avoiding it if you want a romantic weekend away, but other than that the rooms are functional. There's a mini-bar, in-room breakfast, free wi-fi and an ironing board and iron. The location is also important as it's next to the station so it's a short train right to the airport on the Arlanda Express.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SAJoburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear SAJoburg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

As you write, we are a very good business hotel providing all amenities to have a successful business stay. However, we do have a lot of romantic couples staying with us as well. Our package "Blu Romance" is very popular.

Wishing you welcome back to us both in business or with romantic company!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The Radisson Blu Viking hotel is located in the Center of Stockholm and very next to the central station of Stockholm where the Arlanda Expres Train, coming straight from Arlanda AirPort, has its terminal. From and to the trains platfom literally is a one minute walk. The main shopping area where the major departement stores are located are very near. Not even 5 minutes remote. Other sites like the royal palace are also very near. When entered the hotel you will forget that you are so very close to a train station and in the centre of a big city. There is absolutely zero noise. When you enter the hotel you will feel the experience of a luxury hotel that looking at the price level this hotel should be. The friendly staff will help you swift and professional. There is a good hotel bar where it is nice to spend some leisure time. No need to give yourself a hard time looking for a nice restaurant. The hotel has a fantastic and cosy restaurant that managed to move away from the typical hotel restaurant feeling. The restaurant is highly recommended in several guides. The lobby has several little corners that are suitable for i.e. business meetings. Very convenient. Unfortunately the rooms are disappointing. Although well equiped with good beds, good working airconditioning, clean bathroom with nice products, WiFi and minibar. The rooms are small, poorly isolated and they look out dated. I was opposite of the elevators and heared them going all night. In a hotel charging these prices you would expect something else. The lobby is not representative for the look and feel of the rooms at all. I am tempted to say that the rooms are not Radisson Blu worthy. a Fantastic breakfast buffet is offered but not included in the price. The

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Erik M,

Thank you for a fantastic review describing our surroundings and facilities.
I am sorry our rooms let you down, though. We do have a number of rooms waiting for a face lift and hopefully we will have the opportunity and pleasure to update them in a near future.

I really hope to have you back again.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala De Henares, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed four people in a nice room. The hotel has a very good and central location. The breakfast was also very good (my kinds loved to order the juices with an iPad) and we also enjoyed the swimming-pool and the jacuzzi. So, following my kids'advice, 5 * in our review of this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear albperez,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review! Or maybe I should thank your kids!
On the other hand, if your kids are happy, the parents usually are happy!

We are also very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Welcome back to us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

There was nothing special about this hotel but it was quite ok for a 1 night stay as part of a longer weekend break to Sweden. The hotel room was ok albeit overlooking the atrium which made it rather dark. It was a little tired in appearance. The air conditioning was a little problematic at night as it was needed with the absence of any other ventilation option. Nonetheless the bed was comfortable and the bathroom sufficient. We didn't take breakfast in the hotel - plenty of cheaper coffee shops nearby. One highlight is the rooftop bar - nice spot with a reasonable vibe.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for an externally facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear SJS15,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
It seems like you had an average stay and overall ok. However, we really hope for another opportunity to have you back with us an to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,332 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#34 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#30 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing