We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in downtown Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
MA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in downtown Stockholm”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We drove here from Gothenburg (Volvo overseas delivery) and stayed at this hotel. It was very nice, the service was excellent and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The lobby was very neat, make sure to stand under each of the lighted areas inside the main entrance (you'll know it when you see it). We got a quick drink at the sky bar on the 9th floor, which was nice, albeit with a very limited draft beer selection.

The restaurant in the ground floor (Stockholm Fisk) was excellent. We had intended to go out for dinner somewhere, but after a long day of sightseeing, we decided to just eat there and we're very pleased. The service and the food were both fabulous, the meal was one of the best we had on our whole trip. They also have a much larger draft beer selection with lots of local Swedish beers.

All in all it was a good hotel. We would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone staying in Stockholm.

Bed: very comfortable, clean
Shower: good pressure and temperature, but had one of those halfway glass door doors that could make for some tricky multitasking in the morning for modest people
Coffee: there was coffee available at the breakfast buffet, but it didn't seem like takeaway was normal and the coffee itself wasn't great. Luckily there is an Espresso House literally next door, head out the main entrance and it is immediately on your right.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank buenpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear buenpo,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    857
    1,314
    579
    162
    61
See reviews for
549
868
187
939
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Stay here when I am in Stockholm. Location is good, service same. Lobby bar perfect for meetings and the restaurant, Stockholm Fisk, is really worth trying. Breakfast is great, but probably a bit noisy and busy from time to time. Service there is slso good.
Rooms are still absolutely OK, even if they probably were top in the eighties.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Olaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Olaf H,

Thank you for your review.
You are always welcome back to us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Conveniently placed next to the central station, having a great standard, and close to shopping areas and also Gamla Stan, this hotel was a great choice for us. The staff was friendly, although the breakfast was very crowded and not the very best I have had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenJondahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear MortenJondahl,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We hope to have you back soon in order to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is great for arriving and leaving Stockholm as its right next to the station from which the Arlanda Express takes you to and from the airport. Also very near the tourist information office and stop for open-top bus tours. Our hotel room was on the 8th floor and was nice and modern albeit functional. Very little wardrobe space though. Huge breakfast area in a central atrium with a good, wide choice of food. Only gripe was that coffee was brought to the tables in jugs and sometimes wasn't that hot. Nice bar at the top of the hotel with great views. Had a slight problem with being given a Swiss coin in change there and not being believed when we raised it with them later and had to raise it at reception. Bar in the reception area does reasonable food. We didn't try the restaurant but its supposed to be good. Difficult to grade as very good so have had to put average. If there was a grading for good I'd say good. We would probably stay there again if we go back to Stockholm.

Room Tip: Room on 8th floor was one of the more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanen58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear susanen58,
Thank you so much for your review and for taking the time to write one.

We are happy to read you were satisfied with your stay.
Regarding the coffee and the situation with the coin, I have passed on your comments and concerns to the responsible Manager on each department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Hope to have you back with us soon again!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Key selling point of this somewhat boring hotel is definitely that it is a stone's throw from the Arlanda Express (train from the airport) and at the same time an alltogether central location.
The hotel itself is ok - in need of a refurbishment and some tlc but nothing wrong with it. Still annoys me though when there is not an iron and ironing board in the room or a free bottle of water. Come Radisson, in 2013 that really is to be expected. The ground floor restaurants and bar were full of people and lively, whereas the 9th floor skybar was rather empty and resembled something from Eastern Europe in the 1980s.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Republicofdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Republicofdenmark,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I regret to hear you think the hotel is boring but I hope you will give us another chance next time you visit Stockholm.

It sounds strange that you didn´t have either iron or ironing board in your room as that is a standard for all our rooms. I am sorry you didn´t ask for them at the Front desk.

Pending on which weekday and time you visit our SKYBAR it is very much visited and full of peolple and activity. Hopefully it will be more lively the next time you visit us.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
413 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

You would probably pick this hotel if you are traveling in and out of Stockholm by train, and at the same time want to be able to easy go in any direction with the Underground. If that's what you are after, this is a great hotel. The hotel it self is on the older side, so if you looking for a more 'modern' look in the rooms there are a few others around that maybe would suite you better.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Travelalot724,

Thank you for your time to write a review.
We hope to have you back again with us!

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Kind of a business hotel just next the Stockholm central station.
If you come from the airport from Arlanda Express, the hotel entrance is just few steps from the arrival. This central part of Stockholm city center is close to the business district or for many tourist attractions in the city. I came to Stockholm for tourism, me and my friends had a great deal on a family room reservation so it was a worth option among the expensive hotels in Stockholm, but anyway it was great for the facilities, location and kind staff. The breakfast is awesome!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klas F, Försäljningschef at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear ccabral,

Thank you very much for your review.
We are delighted to hear you were satisfied with us!

Wishing you welcome back again to us.

Kind regards,

Klas F
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 154 in Stockholm
2,399 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,450 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,180 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Property: Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Address: Vasagatan 1 | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#36 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing