We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing breakfast and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Ranked #54 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This review is of our stay in June. We stayed for two nights over the weekend.
We arrived in Stockholm before midday, as we had a morning flight. I had informed the hotel beforehand that we would arrive early, but they wouldn't let us check in early, even though we could see they let other people check in early.
Once they let us check in, hours later, we were already late for an appointment and had to rush.
Our room was a corner Business room, so we were at the end of the corridor and had 2 windows. The room was smaller than expected, but large enough for two people. The bed was comfortable. The water pressure in the shower (no bath tub) was not great.
The room was quiet, even though the hotel was fully booked. This was good.
I found the wi-fi ok on my iPad mini, but my husband struggled to use it on his Kindle.
Our main issue with the hotel (ignoring the issue of the hotel being fully booked and therefore very busy because 1D were playing 2 nights, the same 2 nights we were staying, unfortunately) was breakfast. We went down for breakfast on Saturday morning and the queues were very long. The breakfast room was not large enough to accommodate everyone. We were both extremely disappointed by the selection of breakfast goods. There was no pre-sliced bread, so this raises questions of hygiene. I couldn't find any classic Swedish classics like Wasa bread or Polar bread. I struggled to find fil. I couldn't find any cream for the pancakes and I couldn't find any lingondricka, cinnamon buns or anything else that says 'you are in Sweden'. My husband was bitterly disappointed. The early-morning breakfast was even worse. When they said energy bars were available, I imagined something like the Eat Natural bars. In fact, the bars were small little things. We took some, but didn't actually eat a single one. I still have them. They just don't look very nice.
The location of the hotel is good, next to the train station and within walking distance of many places, we walked to Sergels torg, Gamla stan and also to Gröna Lund. We took the tram from Sergels torg to Djurholmen, where we had a nice picnic. From the hotel it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the coach station gates (for Arlanda and Skavsta).
All in all our trip was ok, but I wouldn't stay at this hotel again because for the price we paid I would expect better service, a nicer room and a better breakfast. We'll try a different hotel next time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank edwincheekymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We apologize you were not satisfied with your stay.
I am sorry you were not able to check in early. We always let our early guests check in if the booked room category is available. You stayed in a Business class room and as they are not as many as our standad rooms it probably took longer time to have one ready for you. As you write, the hotel was fully booked and check-out time is latest at 12.00. We need to wait for guests from the night before to check-out before we can clean the room.

Most of the Swedish classics you mention is available at our breakfast. Instead of The Wasa & Polar bread we have freshly baked bread from a local bakery.

We always take the time to listen to constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services in order for you to be choosing us not only for the location but also the service, comfort and atmosphere.

Wishing you welcome back to us and hope to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Klas F,
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,111)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 3,111 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were happy with this hotel. The location is perfect if you're using Central Station for any transportation. No hotel is closer to the airport express train -- it's actually just outside the door. The rooms are perfectly fine, but the bathrooms are a bit dated. We were there during a heat wave and the air conditioning worked very well. The location is just a bit removed from the top tourist sites. The harbor and Vasa museum, for instance, are about a 20-minute walk. Trains and buses are easily available, of course.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank worldtrvlr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Klas F,
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

THe one thing you know about the Radisson Blu is that you will always get good quality. This hotel is older but is the perfect location. Stayed in the suite overlooking central station - room was small but still good quality. Would def reccommend this hotel. Perfect location, central and has all the mod cons (mini bar quite expensive as expected) and is still new, clean and tidy. Loved the late check out of 2pm as std.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back with us the next time you visit Stockholm!

Kind regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel. it's supposed to be 4.5 star, but I think it's more like 3.

First, the good bits. The location is great, right next to the station, although not the prettiest spot. The lobby is nice, and the free wi-fi is a plus.

The rooms however, are in dire need of a makeover. Very dated, with some bizarre colour choices and fittings (see photos). The pool is tiny and is done up like some kind of weird santa's grotto / 70's car park.

Altogether the hotel is okay, maybe a 3*. Definitely not worth the price, and breakfast should be included. It's fine if yo want a quick and easy stop off if you're travelling, due to the location, but I'd say spend your money elsewhere. It's a shame because I really liek Radisson Blu and generally always stay in them, but this dated hotel is not worth the price we paid. At all.

Room Tip: A lot of the rooms face inwards. Ask for a room on the outside if possible
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robot3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the room during your stay. Most of our rooms are newly renovated since 2012. However, a number of rooms are next in line for an update.Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to us next time you visit Stockholm and be able to present a new look even in these rooms.

Kind regards,
Klas F
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel is at a best location and very close to the central station. The hotel staffs are very nice, especially for the receiption staffs. The breakfast is also good. In general, it is a quite good hotel and I am willing to recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
2  Thank Jiashu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback will be forwarded to the relevant department. A warm welcome back! We look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Klas F,
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is great for walking around Stockholm AND it's incredibly convenient to the train station and trains to the airport. The pool is very interesting, but was a bit crowded. The SkyBar is very nice, but the drinks are pricey (well, drinks in Stockholm, in general, are pricey)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next stay.
Kind regards,
Klas F,
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very good hotel, clean, good size "superior double" room; quiet. My wife and I stayed 4 nights during a vacation. Conveniently located to old town, downtown area and Arlanda Express. Clean, Quiet, Friendly Staff. I would stay here again, and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Viking H, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have you back with us the next time you visit Stockholm! A warm welcome back!
Kind regards,
Klas, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,591 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,592 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#50 of 154 in Stockholm
2,905 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm

Address: 1 Vasagatan | P.O. Box 234, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £118 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 459
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Atrium Hotel located downtown, adjacent to Central train station, airport express trains, World Trade Center & Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm Hotel Stockholm
Radisson Stockholm
Stockholm Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing