We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic hotel”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Located in the old city this hotel is full of antique artefacts that gives the place an unique atmosphere. The rooms are simple but comfortable and bathrooms could use and update. Ask for a room away from the elevator as it is quite noisy and you can hear it going up and down from inside the rooms next to it - he had one of those rooms first and asked to be moved. Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel belong to the "Small Luxury Hotels. I have stay at quite a few of them and this is not the most luxurious. However it has a special and nice atmospere.
It is actually a collection of maritime antique. All rooms are named after Swedish ship captains.
The location is great, in "Gamla Stan" (Old Town). The Tube station is 2 minutes walk away.
The rooms are not very big, but big enough. It has what you need. And the Wifi is free and the coverage is good.
The beds are good, not to hard, not to soft.
Breakfast is not overwhelming, but it is good. You can order scrambled egg etc.
The hotel have a bar and a restaurant. They have 1300 different wines and the restaurant is very very good. Each month they serve food from one kind of animal. That is why the restaurant is called "Djuret" (The Animal).

Room Tip: Some rooms have sofas and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esktor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights from Feb 10th 2012. Booked into a "Captain's Grand Cabin". The hotel is very well sited in the Old Town but off the main tourist route so it is nice and quiet. We got a car from the airport but we've been to the city before and used taxis and the Arlanda Express train as well. All fine and don't assume the train will be cheaper than a taxi, it isn't.

The hotel is in a lovely old building and has lots of good, old furniture and antiques in the main areas and rooms. It isn't at all a typical "minimalist" hotel, more like a UK Country House hotel in style. The room had two rooms plus bathroom. The lounge area was well equipped and very comfortable, the bedroom was big, very relaxing and the bathroom was fine. I can see what some people say about "needing an update" but only with respect to the bathroom which isn't perhaps bang up to date but was fine for us.

The staff at the hotel were superb. They couldn't have been more helpful with transport, restaurants and dealing with requests. We both thought they were a very strong point of the hotel. We'd been to Stockholm before so knew our way around a bit but if you haven't been before such supportive staff would be a plus.

Breakfast was included. This was served downstairs in an atmospheric room and was superb. There were numerous hot and cold choices to make from an extensive, high quality, buffet plus a limited (but again excellent) a la carte section. Couldn't recommend it higher. We didn't eat in either restaurant associated with the hotel.

The hotel and room was spotless and overall we thought this was an excellent choice.

We walked to all the main sights and despite (or perhaps because of) the cold and snow enjoyed that. We walked over to the Wasa (a must see) in about 40-50 mins and to all the other things we wanted to see - Army museum, National museum etc - easily enough. Helped walk the breakfast off !

Stockholm is expensive. Just, if you are British, close your eyes and enjoy the place. I'd suggest not trying to convert Kronor into pounds otherwise you may find yourself in McDonalds. I've reviewed the places we ate separately but we chose to eat in the Old Town (tourist and more expensive than most) each night - ate at Fem Sma Huas (superb), Texas Grill (superb), Papa Sistro (very good) and Agaton (ok, great service but too expensive for what we had even by Stockholm standards).

Anyway. The hotel is a great choice if you want to be in the Old Town and we will return - once we've saved for several years !

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Texel1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed for one night in an attic bedroom (skylights in the roof so you can watch the snow falling). The size of the room was a wonderful surprise, very large double room, a Jacuzzi bath and powerful shower. Although looking a little tired, the level of customer service, good breakfast and homely atmosphere made this a truly enjoyable stay. It’s January so outside was very cold, however the heating was perfectly effective. Location wise, it’s right in the old town, about 10 minute’s walk to the Palace and central shopping district.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niknak586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Stockholm is very pricy so I am not sure how this compares value wise with other hotels but it certainly seemed dear. It is a very old hotel with lots of charm but the rooms felt tired and desparately needing a few mod cons like a plasma tv. The biggest drawback of the hotel is the level of cleanliness I mean it was really dirty, hair all over the bed, nail polish in the tub, dust on the furniture. On the plus side the location and breakfast can not be faulted, sort out the housekeeping and the hotel could be a lot better

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our second time at the Victory and our impression was just as positive as the first time. We had a lovely large room, very comfortable and with the usual mod cons, such as wi fi, as well as a welcoming carafe of sherry. Breakfasts had actually improved since the first time we had been there, though regrettably weather had shut down the garden restaurant and the cellar restaurant was not open except for breakfast. Staff were as before, cheerful and helpful, and the location cannot be bettered.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

I decided to chance this hotel, notwithstanding the several critical reviews it received, because of all its obvious plusses: Location, Style, History, Interest. I am very, very pleased that we stayed.

We were treated extremely well from the moment we stepped out of our cab. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful, efficient and accommodating throughout our stay. The breakfast staff worked hard to make each guest feel they were special and succeeded admirably.

The breakfast was generous and the smorgasboard plates and tables kept full until well after the shutdown time for breakfast.

The rooms are furnished with antiques, but also with all the important modern amenties: comfortable beds, working bathroom equipment, good lighting and WiFi that also works.

This hotel is a charming gem, perfectly located, well run and maintained.

Ignore the Moriarties with their negative vibes and you will not be sorry you stayed. There are many negative people out there who just do not want to be satisfied.

For us, the Victory was a perfect, exquisite lead in to what proved to be an extraordinary, superlative Baltic cruise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLicharson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,722 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 155 in Stockholm
356 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#60 of 155 in Stockholm
1,399 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £111 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing