We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I have stayed for 3 days for business purposes. Had a wonderful stay. great location. I went for a run along the sea shore and back to the old city area...very helpful hotel staff. fast internet. The highlight is the breakfast where wide variety of fruits and vegetables is offered. next to some testy smoothies shakes. very recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idanvelleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed in The Hotel Victory for 5 nights In August. The first impression on entering Lilla Nygatan was "oh dear - looks very back street-ish". However, we didn't then know what we now know about the charm of Gamla Stam and its narrow cobbled streets. The hotel itself was also charming, and while both rooms (double and single) were small, they were both comfortable and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly, and, in fact, the first thing they offered was to move our son from his allocated room on the fifth floor, to the same floor as us.
We didn't have dinner in the hotel, as there are any number of restaurants in the old town, but the breakfasts were excellent. Would recomment a trip to the Vasa Museum, the Aquarium and Skansen. The house at Drottningholm was disappointing, although the boat trip was pleasant and the park really nice. The Army and Music/Theatre Museums were also very interesting. Get a Stockholm City Card for free travel and attractions.

Room Tip: I suspect rooms away from the front street may be quieter, although that's only a guess. The A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I were on a Baltic cruise last year that stopped in Stockholm for a day. Part of our shore excursion was in old town Stockholm, also known as Gamla Stan. We were so fascinated by the charm and ambience of Gamla Stan that we decided to return and stay in the old town area for an extended weekend trip. We selected the Victory, one of three Collector's Hotels in the area, based on online information and reviews such as this one. It was a good selection. We took the Swebus from the Stockholm-Arlanda airport to the downtown train station. It was then an easy 10-15 minute walk to the edge of Gamla Stan to arrive at the Victory Hotel. The hotel was in a quiet location, with easy access to the rest of Gamla Stan. The hotel is decorated with the owner family's collection of nautical antiques. The summer restaurant Svinet was open in the courtyard for drinks and dinner ("the garden BBQ restaurant is all about pig and nothing else"). Breakfast was served in a room similar to a cellar; you could look down through plexiglass panels and see parts of historic Stockholm. The room (ours was the Kapten Kullenberg) was comfortable; the bathroom was spacious. We overlooked a side street cutting into central Gamla Stan. The staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk helped us reserve a boat tour of the Stockholm archipelago aboard the historic steam ship, the s/s Stockhom. We stayed busy during an extended weekend exploring Gamla Stan -- lots of shops, restaurants, outdoor cafes for people watching, a church, a museum, the Royal Palace, and other sites. We liked the ice cream at the Glass Bar Cafe Jarntorget Coffeeshop. A local suggested that we eat dinner "downstairs" in the JT Restaurant. We had pizza and wine in a cellar area that was hundreds of years old. Very charming!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandc8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location in Gamla Stan. It is furnished with many antiques, paintings and other paraphernalia. The room was comfortable and clean The breakfast was good. The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

When I first walked in the hotel room, I thought I was looking at its entrance hall ... but no, that was the entire room! It was a bit chilly for me, so I piled on all the available covers. I might choose this hotel again for two reasons: 1) the location, in the heart of Old Town; and 2) the amazing, amazing breakfast buffet in a cellar that is magically decorated to feel cozy and warm. (Note: Actual date of visit was August 2011.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Globehopper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We will stay six nights in an apartment assiciated with this hotel. The staff at the reception were extremely helpfull. They had even prepared an information package for our arrival.
The apartment itself is comfortable albeit a bit small; however, we fully expected this considering its location in the old town. The kitchen is well equipped with a washing machine which is handy when one has been travelling for four months.
The apartment could do with a bit more attention to details like the lamp shade is dusty as are the top of the bathroom tiles, and the curtains need to be fixed.
The above are tiny details which in no way should detract from the overall rating of the place.

Room Tip: We were in apartment 8 round the corner from the hotel. It fronts the small alleyway which is very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belgiananddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break to Stockholm where we stayed in this wonderful hotel. The room was a good size and well appointed including a B and O sound system and Cd library available. There are a lot of antiques and collectors items around which make for very interesting exploring. Breakfast selection was vast, and served in the cellars where there are foundations from the old Lion Tower. The hotel is situated in Gamla Stan , the old town and is a 2 minute walk from the metro station. We were advised that there was a sauna but we di not use this facility. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Audrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,697 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
376 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £124 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing