We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enogh”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good enogh”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Very small single room but very comfortable & quiet. Professional staff. Great atmosphere and ambiance, like in a musuem. Reasonable breakfast. No window view. Excellenct location for touring the city. Very clean. No coffee in the rooms or before breakfast. Overall, worth the price.

Room Tip: Make sure it is big enough for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z2081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    178
    41
    19
    7
See reviews for
68
269
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After several days in Norway we concluded our trip with three days in Stockholm, staying at the marvelous Victory Hotel. We stayed in a very spacious Captains Deluxe Room, which was packed with character and charm, and thoroughly relaxing to spend time in during breaks from walking all over Stockholm. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was delicious and plentiful and the location could not have been better! The only drawback was an inconsistent and spotty wi-fi connection, but we were on vacation so it wasn't a huge deal. Gamla Stan was amazing, and so many dining options, shopping destinations (hello science fiction bookstore!) and cultural attractions were mere minutes from the hotel. This was a wonderful way to end our stay in Scandinavia, and we would most certainly choose the Victory again upon a return to Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Joanna,

Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you took time to explore the Old Town with its small nice hideaways and exciting stores. There is so much to enjoy if you just leave the most "touristic" main streets.
I hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel to start our trip in Sweden. My husband, son and I started a two week driving tour of Sweden with three nights at the Victory. Our room was spacious and had a jacuzzi tub. Our room overlooked the street but we had no problem with noise. The staff was welcoming and helpful. We found the breakfast buffet to be excellent and had more than enough choices that even our picky 10 year old walked away full each morning. We absolutely loved the "quirkiness" of the hotel with it's nautical theme and the wonderful antiques. We would absolutely stay at the Victory again on any return trips in the future.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenI61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Dear Helenl61,

Thank you for your valuable revue! I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit! I hope you will have a great vacation when exploring Sweden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

3 of us stayed in the Admiral`s penthouse apartment ,which you access thro the hotel, there are quite a few steps after the lift so would be no good if your not able bodied.The apartment was clean and had loads of space ( over 2 floors ) ,3 bedrooms -equipped kitchen, comfy lounge, 1 separate toilet near the entrance downstairs and its only failing was the overly compact main bathroom upstairs ( they could expand into some of the space the upstairs reading area has to make it bigger which would be great )The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful with dinner res etc also there is a free computer to use for online checkin etc which is a nice touch.
The room included free wifi which worked well.We had breakfast in our apartment and there is a small well stocked mini market 5 mins away or more shops 1 metro stop away if you want more choice.Location of the hotel is great and there is some traffic noise ( the apartment faces a street at the back of the hotel from where you enter.
Overall value is excellent compared to the cost of 2 or more hotel rooms with added freedom of kitchen etc.
This is a great option for families or group friends to stay together.
We would stay there again even if there was only 2 of us because the character of the hotel and the apartment was so good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fortheride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. The hotel is very quirky, with a lot of antiques. We had a standard room which was very well equipped. It had a seating area as well as a good sized double bed. The shower room was very interesting with lots of different tiles in the shower cubicle.
The staff were very welcoming . This hotel is in the old part of the town with lots of restaurants nearby. We will certainly be returning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My sons and I stayed in one of the hotel apartments. It was located just across the street from the hotel. We placed a roll-away in the bedroom and it was actually fairly easy to navigate around the beds. It is extremely well located to the T and easy walking distance to many historic/tourist sights. The breakfast spread was plentiful and had multiple choices. A great deal for the price! The staff was extremely polite and helpful for any of the needs we had. On our last night we ate in their outdoor restaurant Svinet - fantastic food and service. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HemlockHollow49829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We really enjoyed the Victory Hotel in Stockholm. If you're looking to stay in Gamla Stan, its location is perfect--very close to the T-bana station, away from the throngs of tourists, and a short walk across the bridge to Sodermalm. It's also co-located with the very popular restaurant Djuret, which was unfortunately closed for the summer holiday while we were there. Right behind the hotel is Pubologi, another one of Gamla Stan's most popular restaurants (also closed for summer while we were there). The rooms are fun--you have to appreciate the nautical theme, because it's everywhere, but tasteful. Our rooms was large and clean and the bathroom was also surprisingly big. The breakfast buffet is also very good. Overall, considering Stockholm prices, this hotel is really a great value

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,623 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,295 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
2,007 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Property: Victory Hotel
Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing