We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of updating but comfortable”
Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The hotel is in a great location and the staff were wonderful; however, the hotel is very much in need of updating. The bedrooms have a too much old furniture - not antiques, are a little dark - even with all the curtains opened, and could use additional blankets on the bed - only one in mid-October, but the bed was comfortable, the internet was easy to use, and the Jacuzzi tub made up for a lot. The best part though was the staff - everyone spoke English and they went above and beyond to be helpful with taxis, directions, recommendations and reservations, and, in particular, calling the airport numerous times a day for a couple of days to track down my luggage lost in transit - a huge thank you for that.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amiezil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear amiezil,

Thank you for your review! Its great to hear about your experiences when staying with us and I am especially glad that you found our staff helpful and that we were able to help track your lost luggage! Regarding the hotels need for an update I happy to tell you that there are ongoing renovations being done as I write this! Hopefully you will have an even better stay when you come back!
Best regards from me and the rest of the gang at Victory Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a great time at the Victory.
Ok, we were lucky and at arrival we were upgraded to a Captains Suite, non the less I cannot quite understand why people would be complaining about small rooms, after all it is an old building in the oldest part of Stockholm. If you think this is small try some of the 4 star hotels in Paris or Rome!

The location is absolutly perfect in the old part of Stockholm
All staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel was clean and the facilities great
The bathroom was very well stocked with toiletries
Granted, its not exactly cheap but I still think it was good value for money
Initially I was a bit concerned about the noise from the street but that was really not an issue, not even Saturday evening.

Ok, there is one or two things to improve...
- The shower could be re-tiled (I am being very picky here)
- WiFi should be encrypted and not open

I can whole heartedly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are two bars in the hotel. A wine bar with a great range of Burgundy wines as well as a Bistro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank swissdiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Swissdiving,

Thank you for your review! Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to your next visit! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having come from a very Scandinavian modern hotel in Copenhagen (First Hotel Skt. Petri), the Victory Hotel was almost overwhelming. Every available space is packed with historical shipping memorabilia, including a large model ship that sat over our bed. We stayed in a suite (“Captains Grand Cabin”) and it was fairly small, but what you would expect in an older European hotel. The bathroom could certainly have used some updating, but not so bad as to detract from the overall charm of the hotel. Even if you do not stay here, be sure to visit the Tweed Bar in the hotel. You’ll get the full nautical-theme experience and the drinks are fantastic. For us, the primary draw of the hotel was its location in Gamla Stan. While we were a bit worried that the area would be too touristy, we were pleasantly surprised about both how convenient the location was to travel throughout Stockholm and the number of quality restaurants and bars in Gamla Stan itself. While not a place I’d choose to stay for business, I will definitely return to the Victory Hotel when I am in Stockholm for vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear TorG,

Thank you for your review! I love to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also had time to visit Tweed! Regarding bathrooms they are in the process of an update, but we are only half-way through (oct 2013). So next time you visit us you will maybe enjoy your stay even more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Location is very good just behind the metro station and the royal palace, with many restaurants and shopping, the hotel room I stayed in was a miniature, like a giant playing mini golf, literally couldn't move in the room, yet room was for sleeping only.

breakfast wasn't wow very basic.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thair_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful and dignified hotel in lovely, centrally accessible area of Stockholm centered within Old Town. The hotel has a warm and charming feel, the rooms are large enough and thoughtfully furnished. Staff is attentive - thank you Janet - and the breakfast is excellent as well. This hotel is not for loud party types. Definitely recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALJVergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed two nights in August. We have mixed feelings about this hotel, which is conveniently located near the Gamla Stan t bana station. On one hand, the room was comfortable, the bathroom was clean, modern and functional, and the breakfast was very good. However, the room and the public areas have a "drab" feeling that suggests the hotel is due for a major refreshing if not a renovation. That said, it is a good, professionally run hotel and you won't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I recently returned from Scandinavia. While in Stockholm, we stayed three days at The Victory Hotel. We enjoyed a suite, and the staff was most gracious. A wonderful smorgasbord was included each morning. I wanted to book an hotel in the older part of Stockholm and did a lot of research to decide on this hotel. We weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kekaualoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,697 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
379 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £124 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing