We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but nice - Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victory Hotel
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pricey, but nice - Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was a wonderful location for a mid-winter weekend. We headed to Stockholm to experience the Christmas markets, and were looking for something right in the middle of it all.

From here the markets were a quick walk away. The markets were wonderful, and we were happy to have somewhere warm and close by to get back to when our fingers were numb. I also enjoyed that this hotel was not far from the metro - making coming and going to other areas of Stockholm fairly quick and easy.

The hotel itself, well, our room was a little small, but that was to be expected in a downtown location. The bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. We enjoyed all the historical antiquities on display around the hotel, too.

Breakfast was lovely and hearty. We did thoroughly enjoy out weekend here and I would recommend it, despite the rather stiff price for a night's stay.

Room Tip: The basic rooms are pretty small, if you are wanting space for luggage larger than carry on size, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    167
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
65
247
70
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed 1 night (29/Jan) and found a warm welcome from the staff who were very helpful. Rooms are small, reminiscent of ship cabins, in keeping with the theme of the whole hotel. It was too cold outside to explore much of the old city but would be difficult to get a better location to do this from.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Ägare at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Laurie,

Thank you for your review! It was great having you with us and I hope to see you again soon!
Best regards from all of us here at VIctory Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is a nice hotel for a weekend stay in the Old City in Stockholm. Very close to the Royal Castle, Parliament and a number of very nice restaurants. Walking distance to the shopping area in the City. The hotel has a rustic maritime style which goes well with the historic setting and narrow streets of the Old Town. The only minus was the beds which I found to hard- could be updated to a more comfortable version.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MortenL850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Manager at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Morten,

Thank you for your review! Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back soon! Regarding the beds, its very hard to have beds that pleases everybody. We have chosen high quality beds from the best brands, but its very individual how you prefer your bed. For your next visit, give us a hint and we will try give a softer bed!

Best regards from all of us here at Victory Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Check-in and check-out was very efficient. Friendly and helpful staff. Room is very dated 80's and the furniture needs replacement. There is a marble shelf covering half of the very small sink - not the most practical. Great location though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Manager at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Miss D C,

Thank you for your review, even if it hurts a bit to read!
We are now in the process of renovating the bathrooms that needs an update and I can only hope that you will find your way back to us so you can experience something very different from your latest stay!
We need your feedback and I am glad you taken the time to share it here on Tripdadvisor.

Best regards from all of us here at Victory Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
195 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed for one night only.
My colleague had talked with reception and arrranged an early check in since I would be arriving after an overnight flight. Of course (..) the front desk knew nothing about this and the room I initially had been assigned was not ready. Since I insisted I got a different room which was tiny but well cleaned and ready for me.
I was there for a meeting which took place in the adjacent conference facilites across the street. The conference room was ok but the area shared with other meeting/participants for coffee was under dimensioned.
When checking out the lift did not work (or at least there was a sign on the call button saying it was out of order). When after taking the stairs w my bagsI asked the front desk guy "How come the elevator doesn't work?" he just shrugged, pointed at it and stated "It's here and it works."
So I insisted and told him there was a note (in red) on the call button on the 4th floor saying the opposite and he just said "there is nothing wrong with it" .. Eventually one of his colleagues intervened and got out from behind the desk and did the same discovery as I: the call button was red and read "out of order" . By then I had become slightly frustrated and very annoyed so I left.
In short service would benefit from a more proctive approach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieMalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Manager at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear MarieMalmo,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! It really sounds like one or two things could have been handled a little better from our side. It did not help to have an elevator that chose to have a day off when we had a full hotel, or when all conference delegates arrived for breaks at the same time! We have discussed your review and how we can be more proactive to avoid guest annoyances when something unexpected happens in the future. I hope to see you back again in the future so we get the chance to show you what we are really up to!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I got a reservation via booking. Very good price, less than 100€.

The location is perfect in the center of the old town.

Check in was probably the fastest I've ever done in my life (not even 1 minute). Reception staff are just lovely, smiles and welcoming every single time. This is a family ran hotel, and it shows.

Rooms are not huge but cozy enough. Only problem is that room is ageing, you can ser that in the carpets and some furniture. Also, the bathrooms could use some new deco.

That said, it's really the only thing worth pointing out.

They recommended a couple of restaurants, all very good. Arranged taxis quickly, map, advice...

Breakfast has a big variety and good quality.

Long story short. Gem in the center of Stockholm, good for business or pleasure. I dont really know the standard rate, but for less than 100€ it was a no-brainer!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yocastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear yocastus,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and I hope soon you will even enjoy us even further! We are now taking the next step in our improvement plan by renovating bathrooms and other parts of the hotel that needs some love and care! I hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, ca
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed here for two night and had a fantastic time. The staff was so friendly and helpful and the location is perfect - right in the middle of the old city. Easy to walk everywhere. I had a room on the 5th floor with all the comforts of home. Comfortable bed with down pillows and extra blankets if needed. It was a small suite with a sitting area and extra bed. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Lots of choices from eggs to fruit to yogurt and many delicious breads. This is the second time i have stayed here and would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: I asked for a large room with a renovated bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraAnneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mats B, Owner at Victory Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear SandraAnneSanDiego,

Thank you so much for your great review! We get so happy and encouraged to get so much positive feedback! We hope to see you back at Victory Hotel soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Hotel

Property: Victory Hotel
Address: 5 Lilla Nygatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Victory Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victory Hotel is a welcoming and exclusive hotel with a personal atmosphere in a perfect location in Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s charming Old Town. The fact is that the hotel is a tourist attraction in itself. It contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques, passionately selected by the collector himself, the hotel's founder Gunnar Bengtsson. There are three restaurants and one bar in the hotel; Djuret (The Whole Beast), Omakase, The Burgundy and The Comfortable Bar Tweed. The breakfast has a selection of cold cuts and hot items and is served in the downstairs dining room, which also has the remnants of a defence tower from the medival city wall on display. The hotel serves complimentary coffe and tea to all their guests and to unwind you can use the Sauna and Relax area exclusively, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing