We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is KEY”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location is KEY”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Montcalm. Service is great, asked for another room and been mooved straight on . breakfest is very dissapointing, not a large variety, and juice is not fresh. The key is the location . Really in the center , you can visit the all city walking .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    821
    478
    117
    30
    23
See reviews for
207
616
84
335
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

super nice food, clean rooms comfortable beds! Great and friendly atmosphere from staff to people in the lounge.
Im looking forward to my next stay with Diplomat.
High recommendations go to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zakk F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a lovely stay at Diplomat. Really loved the attention to detail in most aspects of hotel.
Others had written that breakfast was nothing special... I truly enjoyed my high quality muesli, lactose free yoghurt, honey sweet kiwis, excellent cappucino and observed others who were making their fresh waffles (have you seen that anywhere else? I hadn't...). Of course, plenty of other dishes for choice. Service most of the time was very attentive and friendly.
If it was for me, the only thing that I wished for was a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities in room (especially during the cold seasons..). They were brought up to my room right after asking though.
Also, I was very surprised by the tiny (and im truly not exaggerating here!) shower-room. In a hotel like Diplomat I somewhat imagined a much larger better appointed bathroom... But I guess it works fine for business guests.
Lovely toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Couldn't fault my short business stay at this lovely hotel in the nicest part of a beautiful city.
Well appointed, comfortable rooms, good choice of breakfast meals and friendly helpful and efficient staff. Couldn't have asked for much more and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Commuterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were at Hotel Diplomat for a weekend stay in Stockholm. The location is great, close to the water and near public transport.
Our room was very well equipped, decoration is stylish and simple, they offer free wi-fi.

We nearly stayed at the Berns Hotel but were warned about the noise coming from the nightclub on weekends, indeed it seemed pretty loud when we walked past it on Saturday night so glad we stayed at Diplomat which was quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsiory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights.
It is very well located, in the city center. The architecture of the building is really lovely, in an Art Nouveau style.
The rooms are a bit small (like in a Parisian hotel) but very comfortable, with a nice scandinavian design.
Breakfast is ok, it has nothing really special.
All the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have stayed at the hotel several times over the years. The staff is always very kind and helpful and the old charm of the hotel just make you feel good. If you have some spare time there are plenty of options to have a nice dinner, a glass of champagne in the T-bar or a nice beer in the Lounge. The rooms are not spectacular but there is everything you need and they are always clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lux2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing