We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel, enjoyed a lot our stay. The hotel is located in a nice place, very close to the center and to the old town.
The rooms are nice and comfortable, the staff is very friendly. Fitness center is very good equiped except that there is no running belt... As we stayed in winter the running belt would be great to have.
We didn't really enjoy breakfast. It's quite expensive and the choice is not very big. Besides, the restaurant is very small and when a lot of people come for breakfast, it's really packed and there are queues to get food! There was only one waffle maker and we never got a chance to have a waffle, as there were too many people... If you stay in the hotel I would recommend the Indoor Market nearby to have a breakfast.
There is a private sauna in the hotel which is a great idea. It's very cosy and nice. But be aware that you have to reserve it in advance! And some days it can be fully booked...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    463
    116
    29
    22
See reviews for
195
601
79
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Located close to a Lamborghini dealership says it all :-). This is a nice upscale hotel. Great rooms and an excellent bar. I have stayed here twice now. Both times I got a great room but both times the balcony connected to the room had not been cleaned. So when I opened the door to the balcony I found bottles and cigarette butts from the previous guests. That was kind of a downer. Overall though I must say that this hotel is very nice and the breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a place with a great location, wonderful view (make sure you book the sea-view rooms, they worth the extra expense). Hotel was clean, bed very comfortable, service very friendly and efficient. The restaurant is great (and seems to be constantly busy with mostly locals) value for "normal" stuff like the hamburger or the ceasar salad. The quite bar on the first floor is a nice contrast to the busy area downstairs. Hard to see how this could be beaten, except if you need your spa or fitness, weaknesses of this hotel. But I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Diplomat for 3 nights at the beginning of December. The lobby is gorgeous and always smells divine. The staff are very helpful at the front desk. The T-Bar is always buzzing so its prudent to make a reservation at any time of day. The rooms overlook the water and we had a high floor with beautiful view. Its within walking distance to most attractions and restaurants. The only negative would be that breakfast gets very busy and its a small space to have a buffet. The way to overcome this is to come early! Lovely stay

Room Tip: We had a high floor for great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadia2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

First time visitors to Stockholm and we made the right decision to stay at the Hotel Diplomat. It is in a very nice area, close to many sights and some definitely within walking distance. We walked everywhere and never once took a taxi. The hotel overlooks the water and I'm sure these rooms are a premium but our room was delightful and looked into the courtyard of the neighboring building. It was very quiet as well. Breakfast included a very large selection of items and it was always busy. There was only one small elevator so we took the stairs many times rather than wait. Being on the 1st or 2nd floor made this easy and quick.

The staff also very pleasant and accomodated an early check in as we were just arriving from the USA. I would highly recommend this small hotel with lots of ambiance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Albeit small, Hotel Diplomat should be labeled 'boutique' for it's obvious luxury and high standards. The staff was knowledgable and friendly, and even helped us checked us in early. The bed was comfortable, room was clean, and it was perfect location on the bay for getting to multiple attractions.

Room Tip: Pick one with a view! Worth the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebecca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel in a lovely city. First time to Stockholm and Hotel Diplomat and certainly planning a second visit now during the summer months.
Staff were excellent and very helpful and having travelled extensively throught out Europe I can honestly say you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicknpm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing