We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Every Way! 5 Star Quality throughout!”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Hotel Diplomat was one of our favorite hotels that we stayed in November will visiting Sweden, Norway and Denmark. Sometimes my favorite hotels gets reviewed late as I know it will take quite a bit of my time to write an accurate review. This was one of our favorite hotels of our vacation. So away we go:

This charming restored vintage hotel on Strandvagen Row, was elegant yet comfortable with outstanding service at every turn. I learned it was formerly an embassy, hence came the name The Diplomat Hotel.

It is set on the bank of the Royal Djurgården canal. So the location of the property affords views as well as a convenient location to get around to see all the sites in Stockholm. There is a Hop On Hop Off Tour Bus nearly directly across the street on the corner their are boat tours available as well. We enjoyed walking along the path near the canal and there are a number of excellent restaurants all within short walking distance.

In fact we had lunch at the Cadier Bar at the Grand Hotel, which is right near the Diplomat. We wanted to stay overnight at the Grand but it was fully booked the dates we were traveling, fortunately after seeing the Grand and knowing the prices were considerably higher than that of the Diplomat, we were happy we stayed where we did, and spent the extra money on several additional pricey meals. In fact the Tea lunch at Cadier was about $400 for the 7 of us and 4 were small meals for children. Regardless it was a fabulous experience all around. We felt it was serendipity that the bookings worked out the way they did after all.

We had 2 Executive Deluxe interior courtyard rooms at the Diplomat. The rooms were extremely luxurious. They boasted high ceilings, maybe 14 feet high or so, and curved windows that included views to the gated grounds below and to the architecture of the rest of hotel structure across the courtyard.

It might not sound that enjoyable but it was. All the water view rooms were booked up the first night we were staying, they offered to move us to a front facing room, but we decided we like the lovely courtyard view and contentedly stayed put in the spacious rooms were designated to.

The connecting bedrooms were both large and included seating areas as well as office area with writing / computer tables and living areas to walk around. I'm not sure of the exact size of each room but I would guess the total of the 2 rooms was about 1,000 square feet.

The bathrooms were all remodeled with opulence. We felt it compared to several Four Season hotels that we have stayed in that had a similar feel.

The beds were large and comfortable. The linens felt extremely soft and lavish, and the bed mattress was comfortable. The towels were plush and perfectly white and clean.

The check in staff was waiting to greet us even though we got in very late at night from our flight from Bergen, Norway. The front desk staff was really excellent, and they did a nice job of finding us several restaurants and other recommendations.

The breakfast buffet included in our room rate was brilliant. Many choices, easy to manage and not crowded. The wait staff was extremely attentive! They even made a perfect iced mocha for me at no additional charge. They genuinely seemed like they were eager to serve our family and they were especially kind to our children.

The breakfast allowed for most of the seating to face the Royal Djurgården canal behind that is the island of Skeppsholmen. So the view from the dining area is gorgeous. Likewise this dining area doubles as a bar at nighttime. We had a snack and drinks with our kids one evening in the lobby area adjacent to the bar, the waiters and servers were just as attentive as the morning staff. All lovely.

The staff was geared toward their customers, for example they rushed to help us get our stroller - baby pram when needed, they seemed very aware of providing service at every turn up to the last minute as we left the hotel. They were extremely welcoming and accommodating the entire time to our large family with 4 children and we were grateful for that.

I am sure I am missing some details but all in all Hotel Diplomat was just excellent all around.

Room Tip: The Executive Deluxe rooms were extremely luxurious similar to a Four Seasons. Also, the Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelissaBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

841 - 847 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spent a few days at the beginning of December here and were glad we chose this location. Our room on the fifth floor had a stunning view of the water and the old town in the distance. The room was spotless and the service great. The onsite restaurant was excellent with the breakfast being the most outstanding. Location couldn't have been better with everything within walking distance.

Room Tip: Our room with the harbour view was a worthwhile upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed 4 nights in the hotel, enjoyed a lot our stay. The hotel is located in a nice place, very close to the center and to the old town.
The rooms are nice and comfortable, the staff is very friendly. Fitness center is very good equiped except that there is no running belt... As we stayed in winter the running belt would be great to have.
We didn't really enjoy breakfast. It's quite expensive and the choice is not very big. Besides, the restaurant is very small and when a lot of people come for breakfast, it's really packed and there are queues to get food! There was only one waffle maker and we never got a chance to have a waffle, as there were too many people... If you stay in the hotel I would recommend the Indoor Market nearby to have a breakfast.
There is a private sauna in the hotel which is a great idea. It's very cosy and nice. But be aware that you have to reserve it in advance! And some days it can be fully booked...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Located close to a Lamborghini dealership says it all :-). This is a nice upscale hotel. Great rooms and an excellent bar. I have stayed here twice now. Both times I got a great room but both times the balcony connected to the room had not been cleaned. So when I opened the door to the balcony I found bottles and cigarette butts from the previous guests. That was kind of a downer. Overall though I must say that this hotel is very nice and the breakfast is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

This is a place with a great location, wonderful view (make sure you book the sea-view rooms, they worth the extra expense). Hotel was clean, bed very comfortable, service very friendly and efficient. The restaurant is great (and seems to be constantly busy with mostly locals) value for "normal" stuff like the hamburger or the ceasar salad. The quite bar on the first floor is a nice contrast to the busy area downstairs. Hard to see how this could be beaten, except if you need your spa or fitness, weaknesses of this hotel. But I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hedgeman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Diplomat for 3 nights at the beginning of December. The lobby is gorgeous and always smells divine. The staff are very helpful at the front desk. The T-Bar is always buzzing so its prudent to make a reservation at any time of day. The rooms overlook the water and we had a high floor with beautiful view. Its within walking distance to most attractions and restaurants. The only negative would be that breakfast gets very busy and its a small space to have a buffet. The way to overcome this is to come early! Lovely stay

Room Tip: We had a high floor for great water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadia2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

First time visitors to Stockholm and we made the right decision to stay at the Hotel Diplomat. It is in a very nice area, close to many sights and some definitely within walking distance. We walked everywhere and never once took a taxi. The hotel overlooks the water and I'm sure these rooms are a premium but our room was delightful and looked into the courtyard of the neighboring building. It was very quiet as well. Breakfast included a very large selection of items and it was always busy. There was only one small elevator so we took the stairs many times rather than wait. Being on the 1st or 2nd floor made this easy and quick.

The staff also very pleasant and accomodated an early check in as we were just arriving from the USA. I would highly recommend this small hotel with lots of ambiance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zinniaqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,150 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
382 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £171 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing