We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for business or leisure”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed at the Diplomat last week in a standard room - good quality, comfortable bed, nice bathroom, quiet - who could ask for anything more? The buffet breakfast was huge (an enjoyable challenge), and desk staff very helpful (though more could have been on duty). The old cage lift crawling up the art nouveau stairwell is a vintage treat, but the rest of the hotel is straightforward semi-luxe modern. I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJD2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,633 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel is located in a brilliant area, right by the river and not too far from the shops. Very posh hotel, staff were brilliant and catered to our needs. The breakfast was very good, so much choice! The rooms were very warm and comfy, made us feel right at home. Would defiantly recommend and would like to come back in the future

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights because the Hotel Diplomat really has a fantastic location on the waterfront on Strandvägen in Stockholm, in the heart of this city. Our schedule was such that we sampled only a little of the hotel's amenities. The breakfast was good, but not quite up to what you might wish to expect from a hotel of this repute. The weather was not the best, so we decided for dinner the second evening at the hotel, but in a city like Stockholm that now boasts so many good restaurants, it's surprising that the menu here lacks the creativity that is now so popular.
The room we had was a bit dated. The hotel's popularity is also showing through the substantial wear of wooden floors in the rooms, the worn bathroom fixtures and coverings and every piece of the room upholstery carried a little too many stains and blots left by previous guests.
The beds were comfortable, but the ventilation was a bit dodgy so we never found a really good setting to justify the thick duvets.
Slightly disappointing stay given that this hotel promises an experience above the standard delivered, but again a very good location which does allow you easy access to other options for your meals.
But a makeover is due, maybe even overdue.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the courtyard are quite. If you have a car and park on the street, which is ok, don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tord E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We only stayed one night at the Diplomat but we enjoyed every moment. It has just received a fresh look that makes is super comfortable and charming. Staff was super professional and helpful. The location is one of the most beautiful ones in Stockholm. Plus it has one of the best restaurants in town, T/Bar. I can't wait to go back and spend more time.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the harbor: they are a bit pricey but worth every dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed two nights at the Hotel Diplomat in February. Found the property to be an excellent choice for Stockholm. The T Bar where breakfast is served, is a lively evening spot as well. Had dinner there one night and it was excellent, as was the breakfast selection. The only negative comment I have is that there no doorman at the hotel. Managing baggage from the taxi up a few steps to the lobby is cumbersome. The front desk does bring up baggage from there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCGO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed for a one night, so didn't see much of the rest of the facilities. But a nice, classy and traditional hotel. Much enjoyed the breakfast. Room was clean and large, with good facilities. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mark0-j-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

It's in a highly coveted area of Stockholm and certainly a great starting point for tourists. Easy walk (caveat that we walk quite a bit though) to Gamla Stan and the major shopping areas. It comes with a price though - restaurants in the area are all pretty expensive.

The room itself was nice though you can tell it's getting old. Had a small balcony that overlooks the courtyard and you can see a view of the water when standing outside on the balcony. The stand below the TV (also served as the cover to the heater) was certainly in need of repair - it's as if someone kicked it in.

The room was small but cozy. Because the bed was nice and big, it took up most of the room and have very little room to move around. The bathroom even tinier. I am petite and could barely maneuver inside the shower. That said, I was ok with it as the bed was comfortable which is what matters most.

The service was great! When I arrived, it turns out that American Express travel cancelled one of the reservations - unfortunately, it was for the arrival dates (booked two separately due to price difference - not sure why booking 5 straight days increased the nightly rate but when cut into two separate reservations, got lower rates), but the receptionist was so awesome.

The gym was tiny but does its work.

The T-Bar was ok. I think they are used to more high brow diners because of the location but I can certainly feel them looking at me in my informal clothing as I walked in (probably easy to gather that I was staying there) - you can see them looking at me up and down. Unless you're super tired (like I was), it's best to go to other restaurants nearby.

Overall, totally happy with the hotel. Perfect base to exploring the city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scouting_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
2,198 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
620 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,350 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,721 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £154 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing