We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,760)
Filter reviews
1,760 results
Traveller rating
1,023
538
131
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,023
538
131
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail barsea viewvasa museumbeautiful hotelperfect locationold townfirst floorcomfortable roomsgamla stanbusiness tripsuperior roombreakfast buffetvisiting stockholmcity centresmall roomyogurtelevator
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,760 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice and friendly staff

VERY small room and bathroom and small reception in the same area with the cafe!
The cafe is cozy but crowded and noisy

Nice surprise the fact that a small bag with goodies (hand cream etc) was expecting me in the room. Not sure if it is a standard of the hotel or it was because we were there on a company group meeting.

Not very close to the main attractions, you will need a taxi or walk for 30 minutes

Would not choose this hotel by myself (also quite expensive although it is a 4* and not 5*)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dididi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

So we booked our honeymoon weekend at the hotel diplomat. The receptionist was really very nice, but I think she should have spoken in English knowing that I only speak English and only my husband speaks Swedish, do really awkward when I kept asking him to translate what she was saying, knowing as well she also spoke English. The suite we had was very beautiful and we had a bottle of champagne and a little gift waiting, which was very nice. I think the letter which was left for us welcoming us, would have had more of a personal touch if they had addressed us with our name instead of 'dear guest'.
The breakfast brought to our room was a fantastic and lovely spread, and the champagne was a nice touch as well.
The hotel bar and restaurant was really nice with a nice ambience. The only drawback I have with the hotel, which in my opinion is a big one, is that it completely lacks a personal touch. The staff were rather unfriendly, and not at all welcoming.
I travel a lot for pleasure and business and I think it makes a world of difference when staff are welcoming, warm and friendly.
Other than that, a lovely beautiful hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Osae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

A great location is all this hotel has going for it.... Certainly not the room size or overall condition. We were shown to our "superior courtyard view" room (room 323) to find a small room with a smaller window looking into a lightwell. Our complaints led to a change to a larger room, but still there were stairs inside the room to the bathroom, otherwise OK. The real problem came when we wanted to have an evening drink in the hotel lounge with friends. The loud and obtrusive music (with DJ) for the public bar is everywhere making it impossible to talk. We wanted to take our drinks up to another lounge on the first floor but were prevented by a security guard, who even said we could not take our drinks to our room! You have no choice but to leave and look for a drink elsewhere.... Not good enough for a supposed international hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank targangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Director of Sales at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear targangil,

Thank you for submitting your feedback.
Some days we entertain our guests with DJ music in the restaurant (during the evenings). Normally, we do have the calm cocktail bar on the first floor as an alternative (but in the summer it's closed in favor to the terrace). I'm sorry to hear that you feel like your expectations were not met, but hope that we'll get another opportunity to make you feel welcome at Hotel Diplomat.

This review is helping us to improve our processes, so that we can make our guests even more satisfied.

Many thanks again and hope you'll have a lovely week.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Diplomat & crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked the sea view room for 3 nights and I have to say that we were not impressed at all. First off, we use to always stay at 4 or 5 star hotels and have many good hotels to compare with. Hotel diplomat does not give any value for the money spent at all. Not only was the tiny room overprized, there were some issues as well:
- Room very small and the bathroom even smaller
- Poor furnitures
- Many of the products in the room was very cheap with low quality
- Not enough staff
- No service in general
- Only one elivator that does not work correctly
- Poor room-service meny and overprized
- Very bad gym
- No spa
- Arrogant staff

So to conclude, Hotel Diplomat is a poor "4-star" hotel and we regret that we chose it!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleonora1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Eleonora,

I'm sorry to hear that your expectations were not met, but we hope that you'll give us another chance to make you satisfied with us at Hotel Diplomat.

This feedback is helping us to improve, so we thank you for taking the time to review us.

Have a lovely summer.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Diplomat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good base of operations in this lovely city however, our beginning was inauspicious. We finally ended in a room with which we were happy, but it took a few tries.
The rooms ending in 20's (ie 524, 529, etc.) face an interior air well that is not unattractive but have cooking smells vented into it. We awoke from an arrival nap to the smell of fish frying, later replaced by meat cooking. Given that we sleep with windows open, this was NOT good. After requesting relocation, and after several tries, we were switched to a room across the hall. Much improved. No water view but bright and roomy.
Bathroom needed airing out when we opened its door...must have something to do with the drains? Poor ventilation?

Very nicely located, excellent breakfast, polite desk staff. Lively bar/restaurant but did not dine here. Good wifi. Pleasant decor. Very comfortable beds!
If you have mobility issues the hotel could be a major problem - you have steps up to enter the front door, more after leaving the elevator to go into the hallways, and in the bed room from the door down to the sleeping area. A lot of ups and downs with luggage. Just be aware before you book here.

Room Tip: 309 was very nice but for the bathroom odor. Along the long hall on the left side of hotel rooms face out to an attractive courtyard. Avoid right side rooms in the 20's (524, 529) on the air well if you are sensitive to cooking odors. Also, 524 was very small.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews