We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel but noisy and rooms small.”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Central hotel but noisy and rooms small.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Centrally located hotel near main attractions. However, room small and note comments by Laura in room 329 - ours was 529, also overlooking back yard and sounds similarly sized. No tea or coffee making facilities. Lift seems to be a listed monument, and twice failed to work as door left open on upper floor. Reception, dining area and bar all conjoint, with over-loud music. Breakfast was excellent, with great tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Overall, would (just) recommend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MadDocNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    859
    482
    122
    35
    23
See reviews for
218
645
84
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are in Stockholm for the weekend with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. We booked a superior room as did our friends and we were offered the possibility of an upgrade to a sea view room prior to arriving with the hotel having the right to withdraw the offer should the hotel be full. When we arrived we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and that we could only have our original booking of a superior room overlooking the internal courtyard. Our room is much smaller than our friends room, which overlooks an internal courtyard. Our room, which has hardly enough space to walk round the bed overlooks a narrow alley with outbuildings topped with tin roofs. When I questioned whether there had been some mistake and that we had been given a standard room by mistake, I was told that this was definitely a superior room. Hotel Diplomat gets away with calling small rooms superior by fitting a kingsize bed into a standard room, which normally contains a queensize bed. They make extra money out of the deal in the hope that you never get to see what another superior room looks like. Incidentally, we paid the same amount as our friends. So if you find yourself in Room 329, you are in an inferior room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great location. Reasonably priced for the location. Service was ok. No ice machines on the floors. The bed was relatively small and somewhat uncomfortable. The cafe was very noisy and crowded with sponsors not guests from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfredo8074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Nice and friendly staff

VERY small room and bathroom and small reception in the same area with the cafe!
The cafe is cozy but crowded and noisy

Nice surprise the fact that a small bag with goodies (hand cream etc) was expecting me in the room. Not sure if it is a standard of the hotel or it was because we were there on a company group meeting.

Not very close to the main attractions, you will need a taxi or walk for 30 minutes

Would not choose this hotel by myself (also quite expensive although it is a 4* and not 5*)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dididi86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

So we booked our honeymoon weekend at the hotel diplomat. The receptionist was really very nice, but I think she should have spoken in English knowing that I only speak English and only my husband speaks Swedish, do really awkward when I kept asking him to translate what she was saying, knowing as well she also spoke English. The suite we had was very beautiful and we had a bottle of champagne and a little gift waiting, which was very nice. I think the letter which was left for us welcoming us, would have had more of a personal touch if they had addressed us with our name instead of 'dear guest'.
The breakfast brought to our room was a fantastic and lovely spread, and the champagne was a nice touch as well.
The hotel bar and restaurant was really nice with a nice ambience. The only drawback I have with the hotel, which in my opinion is a big one, is that it completely lacks a personal touch. The staff were rather unfriendly, and not at all welcoming.
I travel a lot for pleasure and business and I think it makes a world of difference when staff are welcoming, warm and friendly.
Other than that, a lovely beautiful hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Osae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

A great location is all this hotel has going for it.... Certainly not the room size or overall condition. We were shown to our "superior courtyard view" room (room 323) to find a small room with a smaller window looking into a lightwell. Our complaints led to a change to a larger room, but still there were stairs inside the room to the bathroom, otherwise OK. The real problem came when we wanted to have an evening drink in the hotel lounge with friends. The loud and obtrusive music (with DJ) for the public bar is everywhere making it impossible to talk. We wanted to take our drinks up to another lounge on the first floor but were prevented by a security guard, who even said we could not take our drinks to our room! You have no choice but to leave and look for a drink elsewhere.... Not good enough for a supposed international hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank targangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Director of Sales at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear targangil,

Thank you for submitting your feedback.
Some days we entertain our guests with DJ music in the restaurant (during the evenings). Normally, we do have the calm cocktail bar on the first floor as an alternative (but in the summer it's closed in favor to the terrace). I'm sorry to hear that you feel like your expectations were not met, but hope that we'll get another opportunity to make you feel welcome at Hotel Diplomat.

This review is helping us to improve our processes, so that we can make our guests even more satisfied.

Many thanks again and hope you'll have a lovely week.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Diplomat & crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked the sea view room for 3 nights and I have to say that we were not impressed at all. First off, we use to always stay at 4 or 5 star hotels and have many good hotels to compare with. Hotel diplomat does not give any value for the money spent at all. Not only was the tiny room overprized, there were some issues as well:
- Room very small and the bathroom even smaller
- Poor furnitures
- Many of the products in the room was very cheap with low quality
- Not enough staff
- No service in general
- Only one elivator that does not work correctly
- Poor room-service meny and overprized
- Very bad gym
- No spa
- Arrogant staff

So to conclude, Hotel Diplomat is a poor "4-star" hotel and we regret that we chose it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eleonora1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Eleonora,

I'm sorry to hear that your expectations were not met, but we hope that you'll give us another chance to make you satisfied with us at Hotel Diplomat.

This feedback is helping us to improve, so we thank you for taking the time to review us.

Have a lovely summer.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Diplomat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,003 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 154 in Stockholm
1,348 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing