We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,777)
Filter reviews
1,777 results
Traveller rating
1,033
543
133
41
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,033
543
133
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail bar sea view vasa museum beautiful hotel perfect location old town first floor water front comfortable rooms gamla stan business trip superior room breakfast buffet visiting stockholm city centre small room yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 1,777 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Diplomat in November of 2012 for about 5 days. It's an old, restored property that has huge amounts of charm and is tastefully decorated. It's clean, well maintained and is an upper-scale place to stay (especially based on it's location). My room was small, but I didn't spend much time there, as my schedule was extremely busy during my stay in Stockholm. I ate breakfast everyday in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it very much. I had dinner there once, and while it was very tasty, it was also extremely expensive (but that's the way most restaurants are in Stockholm). The best thing about this hotel is the LOCATION. It's centrally located to everything in the city of Stockholm, most of which is in walking distance. If it's not in walking distance then there's multiple means of immediate public transportation with a minute or two. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank AllPurposeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location is excellent being close to the river and main centre of town. The reception staff were professional and helpful. We had a room overlooking the river and there was plenty of room for luggage and we enjoyed the view. We had lunch sitting outside which was pleasant and the food was excellent. All in all a great place to stay. We stayed 4 days and wish it could have been longer. The only suggestion is for a ramp to be put at the side of the entrance steps for cases to be pulled up but as there are only a few steps it is not a huge problem

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jans36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jans,

Many thanks you for your review.
Looking forward to welcome you back at anytime.

Have a great summer!

Kind Regards,

The Hotel Diplomat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Very nice building located on the sunny side of the sea bank. Our room (with no upgrade) was of a reasonable size with a small balcony overlooking a quiet yard and an "in-between two buildings" sea view. The staff is very helpful and diligent.
The restaurant has a terrace ; it is relatively crowed and noisy though. For breakfast, we went to Café Linné just 2 steps from the hotel, and enjoyed local croissants and pastries (cheaper and quiet).
Perfectly located to visit museums, old town, go shopping and to the food market (15 - 20 mins walk)
Price / location / services ratio is good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Centrally located hotel near main attractions. However, room small and note comments by Laura in room 329 - ours was 529, also overlooking back yard and sounds similarly sized. No tea or coffee making facilities. Lift seems to be a listed monument, and twice failed to work as door left open on upper floor. Reception, dining area and bar all conjoint, with over-loud music. Breakfast was excellent, with great tea, coffee and fresh orange juice. Overall, would (just) recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MadDocNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We are in Stockholm for the weekend with friends to celebrate my husband's birthday. We booked a superior room as did our friends and we were offered the possibility of an upgrade to a sea view room prior to arriving with the hotel having the right to withdraw the offer should the hotel be full. When we arrived we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and that we could only have our original booking of a superior room overlooking the internal courtyard. Our room is much smaller than our friends room, which overlooks an internal courtyard. Our room, which has hardly enough space to walk round the bed overlooks a narrow alley with outbuildings topped with tin roofs. When I questioned whether there had been some mistake and that we had been given a standard room by mistake, I was told that this was definitely a superior room. Hotel Diplomat gets away with calling small rooms superior by fitting a kingsize bed into a standard room, which normally contains a queensize bed. They make extra money out of the deal in the hope that you never get to see what another superior room looks like. Incidentally, we paid the same amount as our friends. So if you find yourself in Room 329, you are in an inferior room!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraCarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews