We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golf holidays”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

A first trip to Sweeden, and a very pleasant stay in this hotel very well located in the main interesting areas: close to nice bars and restaurants, where you can walk to!
Nice room and great bed! The view on the river is quite pleasant when you wake up, even if sometimes it's a bit noisy!



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,601)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was my first visit to Sweden and my friend suggested this hotel.
The city can be busy and the waterfront is active. The rooms were nice and the food was good in the local restaurant. The bacon at breakfast was American style and crispy. The beer was cold at the bar, and Swedish meatballs for lunch were really nice. The bathroom was typical European and worked fine. The coolest part in this hotel is the old style elevator. The outside door swings open on each level of the hotel, however the inside is more of bi-folding door. It works fine and is very interesting. I will surely try to stay here the next time I visit.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ricky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was the start of a trip with 9 people and after reading reviews on Trip Advisor I suggested that we stay at the Hotel Diplomat. Everyone came way singing praises for the Hotel. It is a wonderful little hotel with such charm, it would be hard to match. The hotel staff is beyond compare. Two couples, including myself, showed up with no luggage, and the staff was very helpful in calling to track it down and supplying us with any items we didn't have. The restaurant is top notch, and seems to be very popular. The breakfast buffet was excellent. One of the great things about the hotel is it's location. You can get anywhere from the hotel. Very close to Old Town and the Vasa. I won't think of staying anywhere else.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Craig,

Thank you for your review, it's wonderful to hear about your experience at our hotel.
Have a great summer and hope to see you with us soon again!

With kind regards,
The Diplomat Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Room was comfortable, quite noisy.
Check in and out was awful, like an airport - 1 person at desk and huge lines going into the lift area
The lift only held 2 people so again long queues
Restaurant was very good - especially lunch (breakfast average)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 591rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for two night in june. Location is great, the rooms are nice with a comfortable bed but the prices are quit high.
Staff are really nice and helpful, breakfast is good (though the breakfast restaurant is very small) and the lunch they serve is excellent.
The waiting time at check in and check was too long.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

All the staff at the hotel were always helpful throughout our stay. Hotel is well situated, 10 mins walk from city centre and 10 mins walk from museums and parks.

Food and service were excellent through out.

The hotel is an old building and they have retained its character. However this does mean occasional the lift doesn't work because someone has left the guard door open on upper floors. Hotel got warm, but it was unusually warm weather, and air con was limited.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Diplomat in November of 2012 for about 5 days. It's an old, restored property that has huge amounts of charm and is tastefully decorated. It's clean, well maintained and is an upper-scale place to stay (especially based on it's location). My room was small, but I didn't spend much time there, as my schedule was extremely busy during my stay in Stockholm. I ate breakfast everyday in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed it very much. I had dinner there once, and while it was very tasty, it was also extremely expensive (but that's the way most restaurants are in Stockholm). The best thing about this hotel is the LOCATION. It's centrally located to everything in the city of Stockholm, most of which is in walking distance. If it's not in walking distance then there's multiple means of immediate public transportation with a minute or two. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank AllPurposeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,151 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
381 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £171 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing