We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fully deserves its high marks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #11 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fully deserves its high marks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2008

The Diplomat is a great hotel. Charming and traditional decor in some of the lounges, more modern designs in other parts. Overall, very nicely furnished, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, awesome old-fashioned elevator with manually-operated doors, excellent breakfast, modern and clean bathrooms, comfortable beds. I can't think of anything that doesn't get an A. Even a blown light bulb was fixed within 5 minutes at 10:30 p.m. on a Sunday evening ... with a smile and a "Sleep well!" I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_Felani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    463
    116
    29
    22
See reviews for
195
601
79
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

Fantastic location, great staff! We booked by phone and got an excellent room with waterview on the 6th floor. Many sights are nearby as well as a bus/tramstop on Strandvagen to Djurgarden or citycentre. Next time we'll certainly stay here again!

  • Liked — citycentre and sights within walking distance
  • Disliked — breakfast not included in the roomprice
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheTravellingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2008

The beds were comfortable. Staff went out of their way to help with restaurant reservations and bus tour information. A great old building that just had a wonderful face lift. The woodwork on the stair railings were beautiful. ALso, there is a quieter bar on the 2nd floor if the one by the restaurant is not serene enough.
And the bathrooms were beautiful, funny to say but I love Scandinavia design.

The location was not very central but anything in Gamla Stan is expensive, which is just a casual 10 minute walk away.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

I spent six months in Stockholm between 2006 and 2007, and I stayed at the Diplomat about a dozen times.
It is by far my favourite hotel in Stockholm. The location is perfect in every sense: at the very centre of all attractions, walking distance to the best restaurants, museums and sights in the Swedish capital. It is located at one of the most prestigious addresses in Scandinavia.
The place inside is great. There are three distinct common areas: the modern lobby, the trendy art gallery, and the beautiful period first floor bar.
Service is spot on. The rooms are small, but very well appointed.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank edtealdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at the Diplomat in July 2008, and were very pleased with the experience. The staff were friendly, helpful, and spoke excellent English. Our room was clean, high-ceilinged and very spacious, with a huge bed. Everything worked, all the usual extras were there (although no tea-making facilities in the room - but that I think is a Brit thing!)

The restaurant is on the ground floor, spilling onto the street when weather permits (which it did while we were there). The evening menu is short and fixed, but quite adequate for a couple of meals. It is expensive by UK standards (particularly the wine), but it seems to be mid range by Stockholm standards. (We paid a bit over 1000SEK on average for the two of us, of which about 300SEK was for wine). We certainly enjoyed the food - we stuck to the fish.

Breakfast is the usual buffet, with both continental style cold meats and UK-style fruit, cereals, yogurts etc. We didn't see any hot dishes, but didn't really investigate.

The building work some reviewers have referred to now seems to be finished (although there is still some scaffolding in the courtyard to one side of the building, which they seem to be in course of taking down). It certainly did not affect our stay in any way. It seems that a major renovation programme has just been completed, and it shows.

We were on a package deal with a city break company; but the price when booking direct seemed comparable. We got the impression that prices are lower in the summer when there is less business trade.

We thoroughly recommend the Diplomat.

  • Liked — The space in the room
  • Disliked — Nothing really!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

stayed 2nts @ end of May. Stayed in rm207-and was plsd with size of room &bathroom, looked on the plan of the hotel rms &noted that this was one of the bigger rms. Top floors is covered in scaffolding. The renovation work noise was zero on Sunday but Monday morning there was SLIGHT noise but not much. Front desk said it shuld be all done in10days.Front desk also said there r renovated rms&non renovated rms so rates usually reflect this. Great location & the hotel bar seems v popular. I found the front desk was under staffed at times. The tiny lobby area is not nice just off the front desk and there is a plasma tv there with no sound and somehow the way they have placed it u cannot see the news flashes at the bottom which was annoying.
However--I slept great in the room and bed which I found very comfortable. And tks to front desk staff we had a GREAT meal at Sture Hof.

  • Liked — Room comfort and size
  • Disliked — front desk under staffed
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ho_sik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids,MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2008

We stayed in the Hotel Diplomat for two nights in mid-May 2008, based on the recommendations set forth from these reviews. Be aware that the hotel is currently largely covered with outside scaffolding (our hotel room window looked directly out on multiple platforms, tools, etc). The size of the room was not, in fact, large, as an earlier reviewer stated. This was the smallest room we stayed in while traveling Norway and Sweden. Barely enough room to put two suitcases on the floor. The location is the biggest positive to the hotel, located a short walk to Gamla Stran (the old town) and a couple of blocks away from some good clubs and restaurants. Overall, for the cost and comparison to other hotels we stayed in during our trip, the Hotel Diplomat was simply average.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dobber4uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#9 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing