We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay in Stockholm”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #12 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

In fact it was my favorite city on my recent week and a half in Scandinavia. The hotel is in a very good location right on the waterfront. We could walk and get to many of the sites within fifteen or twenty minutes of the hotel and a lot of tours by boat departed on the quay just down the block. It's a grand old hotel with old world charm. The elevator which is the kind where you pull the cage shut is a bit tight and if someone doesn't pull the door shut after getting off, you may be taking the stairs. Our interior courtyard view was nothing special, but I bet the ones facing the water are great. We liked but didn't love this hotel...

Room Tip: If you have a choice, get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatoratlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Second visit here , great location, restaurant in hotel wonderful outside cafe . Hotel rooms overlooking the river , and easy access to the marina to travel to the small islands. Clean rooms , even a dj on the weekends playing. Great to people watch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krochetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Spent just one night here, but must say it was superb. Booked a superior room that was spacious and had a very comfortable bed. Location on Strandvagen, so walking distance to Gamla Stan, Sodermalm and the Vasa Museum. Used cabs only for arrival and departure.

Had a light lunch at hotel's outdoor cafe, with great people-watching and water views. Continental breakfast included in rate and it was good (for what it was). Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Miketheworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Perfect location, excellent breakfast. Reserve a room overlooking the water. Views were outstanding. A very helpful staff. We strongly recommend. Close to everything, buses, boats, old town, great restaurants nearby as well. Old elevator adds to the charm of this classic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouixC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mette_v_S, Manager at Hotel Diplomat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear SouixC,

Wonderful to hear your review of us. Many thanks and hope to see you soon!

Our best regards,

The Diplomat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for three nights, and were altogether happy. The hotel is wonderfully located. The service is pleasant and professional. Diplomat is an institution in Stockholm, but as always age passes its bill. Only one elevator, almost impossible to get in - we went up and down with heavy cases (no help to carry our luggage was offered). The room was subject to heavy street noise (state-of-the-art window isolation would easily take care of this problem). Altogether, this could become (again) a top hotel, but it needs a serious (and expensive) renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MaryPury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A very comfortable hotel located in a great area to walk around in Stockholm. To be honest, we walked around all the city center and its museum, we just needed transport to visit Drottningholm.
We were in a room with a view, and what a view! Worse the money, so ask for it! The suite was very comfortable, the mattress was good and the linens.
We had breakfast there and was very good. Loved the breads and cheese they had. WE also had dinner there once day and was very good, although no so cheap.
Staff was very attentive and polite. They were pleased to keep our luggages on the locker.
I recommend and would be there again without doubt.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SimoneMMCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is situated on the waterfront, just across from Gamla Stan and opposite the ferry wharves (for day tours of the archipelago). We were able to walk to a lot of attractions (within 20 mins) such as the old town and vasa museum.
The hotel itself is very well maintained with a welcoming atmosphere - it did not have the corporate feel typically found in other four or five star hotels. We stayed in a queen room on the fifth floor, the room was small but not cramped and the high ceilings gave it a more spacious feel.
Overall it was a lovely stay and I would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
2,280 reviews
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
643 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,368 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,749 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Address: 7C Strandvaegen | Box 14059, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#11 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £128 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Diplomat 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and elegant. Hotel Diplomat is a five star luxury hotel, located on Strandvägen in the city center of Stockholm. Perfectly positioned to explore the green scenery of Djurgården, Karlaplan and the vibrant Stureplan. The unique Art Nouveau palace with stunning views over Nybroviken and Stockholm’s waterfront offers a luxurious hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing