We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good breakfast, good wifi, small room - recommended”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good breakfast, good wifi, small room - recommended”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

The location is great, in the old city and steps away from bars, restaurants, and the metro. This hotel offers excellent value both for the location and the service they offer: truly nice people on staff, a good breakfast with a wide choice, good wifi (free). The room was very small, but it was quiet, clean, and had fresh air, which (for me) are more important.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the street; this is a lively area at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daithesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    312
    84
    24
    9
See reviews for
80
249
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We enjoyed the 'old school' charm of this hotel superbly located in the Center of Stokholm. Rooms are very small. Quite location despite Center location!
Great breakfast that closes a bit too early in the morning if you want to sleep long.
Go there if you hate design hotels and are looking for more history.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gastonaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is usually the kind of hotel I love. I love older buildings, and this hotel is one of the oldest in Gamla Stan, so it has charm, old wood floors, stone staircases, and the tiniest elevator (hiss, in Swedish) you're likely to find.

The price is too high, in my opinion, for one or two reasons. One, although it's the high season in Gamla Stan right now, and one expects prices to be high, I paid significantly less per day ($US) in Paris two weeks ago at a similar quality hotel. So that was irksome, because this was a pretty room, grievously located overlooking an unlovely, smelly (it's summer, after all) alley leading into Gamla Stan.

Shutting the windows to keep out the noise of the party revellers attending the bars until 2 a.m., means I didn't get much sleep, since I need fresh air (which is in short supply in Gamla Stan, a medieval, winding cobblestone city, where I saw a rat one night, scurry off from a restaurant. Lovely). The breakfast, however, is phenomenal, and made up for a lot, since it's included in the price. Wireless is also included, although I didn't use it.

I think that given the noisy, smelly, rather dank location, overlooking an alleyway and a business across the way, where people are at work at 9 a.m. and could, ostensibly, have looked in while I was standing at my window in a state of undress, combined with a somewhat uncomfortable bed and a TINY bathroom, where you can sit on the toilet while washing your hands—great for multitasking—and windows you can't close because there's no air conditioning, with party noise rivalling any of the big cities of the world, means: lower the price and/or install air conditioning.

Ultimately, this hotel, chosen for its old-world charm (which it has; it's very pretty) and its location (which is right in Gamla Stan, within easy walking distance of the metro and the Central train station) turned out to be its least charming elements. If I go to Gamla Stan again, which I sincerely hope I do, I will seek out something quieter and less smelly, not so near the bars. If you sleep with your windows closed in the middle of summer in Sweden, however, you'll probably be fine. I stayed for 3 nights, and at the end, I wished it had only been two.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are better rooms. They all seem to overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very charming, room pretty and comfortable, though we heard street noise even from the top floor. It was the weekend and there was a band on a barge nearby. It quieted down by 10 or 11 though. Really great breakfast. The staff was wonderful and welcoming and accommodated us when we arrived early in the morning. There is a nice terrace on the top floor where you can go out and smoke or relax with a book. Fantastic location, very convenient, even though Gamla Stan is touristy.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ats134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
346 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

When I booked the hotel, I thought it was a four star and indeed continued to think so throughout my stay until I happened to see a sign outside the entrance indicating that it was a three star hotel. Conclusion: for a three star establishment it is very good.

The good points: it is located in the Galma Stan just a couple of hundred metres from Gamla Stan metro station (one stop froö Central Station). The decor is in a nice antique style and has plenty of character (the bathroom was very modern though with nice products!) which makes a pleasant change fron the often austere IKEA, "could-be-anywhere style" interiors one finds in many Scandinavian hotels. For me, this was the main plus point as I like to stay in places that have a bit of character to them. The room was well appointed and cosy. The breakfast was reasonably varied. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The less good points: there was quite a lot of noise on the street outside at night with party revellers and, as there was no A/C the choice was either to have the window open and hear the noise or to close the window and be rather warm. I guess this is only really a problem in summer. The room was ´compact´, i.e. small but ok for one person. If two people were staying in the room, though, it would be a bit of a squash. I think I was probably given a smaller room because of single occupancy and I could imagine that, where possible, two people would be put in larger rooms. The breakfast room was a bit small so some people ended up waiting for tables. Given the physical structure of this centuries old building, however, there would not be much possibility to enlarge the breakfast area.

Overall, it was a nice place to stay and I would in general recommend it - but two sets of friends staying on other hotels (4 & 5 star) managed to get deals whereby they paid less than I did.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel is in a great location with the buzz of the old city right on it's doorstep. Easy to walk to all the sights. If needed to train is just around th corner for access to the airport via train system. Hotel has great breakfast and tea/coffee on hand too. Good Internet access.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney_traveller50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Stayed here two nights in mid-June, 2011 before taking a cruise. Took train from airport to main train station and then a taxi from the train station to the hotel (took taxi to cruise ship port). Street is one-way and was closed for most of it. Taxi let us out at the far end of the street and we had to drag (roll bumpily) our 3 suitcases down the cobble stones/construction to the hotel.
Hotel has an elevator which holds two people and two suitcases, if you're lucky but that's OK. Room was quaint but bathroom was a bit small. As is typical in Europe/Scandinavia there was no air conditioning in the room. When it gets warm you have to leave the windows open hoping for a breeze. This means you can't close the heavy, room darkening curtains (also no screens on the window-once, in Poland a bird tried to fly in). Result is waking at 4 a.m. when the sun comes up. No city noise though we were right off a busy street and a canal.
Only two small drawers in room. Would have preferred a small dresser rather than the settee or 2 chairs. Furnishings were nice though. Lighting was terrible for putting on make-up (bedroom and bathroom). Rather than using IFC bulbs with higher wattage, the lamps had low wattage regular bulbs. Maids DID NOT change the towels when we hung them on the towel rods and that's a good thing.
Refrigerator near door of room; items for purchase above it.
Breakfast was sumptuous and good.
This was the cheapest, decent room we could find in Stockholm before boarding the cruise ship and we still paid $252.00 a night. Though we liked the hotel overall, the room was not worth $252.00. Seems that the U.S. now has the cheapest hotel rooms!

Room Tip: In summer get a lower floor. Heat rises (top floors are hot) and there's no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polskamom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
567 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
255 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
164 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#52 of 154 in Stockholm
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing