We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value (midsummer)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #51 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great value (midsummer)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great value hotel (certainly by Stockholm standards) around midsummer 2011 at least, although room prices were a lot higher when I checked availability for a return trip in September 2011... Great central location - very close to Gamla Stan metro station. Well furnished, quiet rooms. Good breakfast selection.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr-dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    301
    80
    23
    9
See reviews for
78
237
79
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

At a friend's recommendation, I stayed at the Rica Gamla Stan for 12 nights in late August, early Sept. I was not disappointed. The location is superb: I used Gamla Stan as a base and gradually explored other parts of the city and then the Baltic Sea. The great breakfast and the appealing location made getting up a pleasure every morning. Twelve days is the longest I have ever stayed at a hotel. In that entire time, the staff couldn't have been more helpful in small and big ways. One review mentioned the loud music and talk at night from the local clubs. I can usually sleep through anything, but the loud talk did wake me up one weekend night. My only complaint, and a small one. Just a superb hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDunlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We - family of 3, including our 5-year old son - stayed here for 3 nights while we explored Stockholm. The room was small - barely room to move, especially when we spread out our son's mattress - but we never, ever felt claustrophobic at all. We loved getting back to our room in the evenings, enjoying a cup of complimentary coffee or tea and a cookie, and the comfortable chair/bed for reading, breeze from the window that opened to the quaint street, and clean (and spacious) bathroom. This was the most expensive place we stayed on our Swedish trip, but it was worth it for the quality and location. The breakfast was excellent - far more choices than you could ever fit on one plate, including daily multivitamins and omega-3's! The staff were always friendly and willing to answer questions. We walked everywhere from here, never taking transport until we headed back to the airport. The ferry over to Skansen and the Vasa museum is just around the corner, and it's just across the bridge to a nice shopping street off of Gamla Stan. Gamla Stan itself is worth a day or more of wandering.

We ate at several places within about a block of the hotel, all for modest (by Stockholm standards) prices, including: Cafe KladKakkan (grilled sandwiches, treats, decaf coffee!), Cafe Mineur (cozy basement, great spot to hang out for an evening with a book or game or catching up with friends), Pizzeria Niva (on the same street as the hotel, really decent pizza, better than I'd expected).

Suggested activities (read: appropriate for a 5-year old!): Skansen (!awesome!), Vasa Museum (awesome), transportation and toy museum (lots of buses and trams to climb in and out of and quiet - much less visited than other attractions), changing of the guard (make sure to get there early enough to get a view of the courtyard and to check the schedule - the guards aren't always on horseback), and general walking and exploring.

We would certainly return to this hotel if we were back in Stockholm, and we were happy to be able to stay an extra night when a cancelled flight delayed our departure!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SonomaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

The location is great, in the old city and steps away from bars, restaurants, and the metro. This hotel offers excellent value both for the location and the service they offer: truly nice people on staff, a good breakfast with a wide choice, good wifi (free). The room was very small, but it was quiet, clean, and had fresh air, which (for me) are more important.

Room Tip: ask for a room off the street; this is a lively area at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daithesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We enjoyed the 'old school' charm of this hotel superbly located in the Center of Stokholm. Rooms are very small. Quite location despite Center location!
Great breakfast that closes a bit too early in the morning if you want to sleep long.
Go there if you hate design hotels and are looking for more history.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastonaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

This is usually the kind of hotel I love. I love older buildings, and this hotel is one of the oldest in Gamla Stan, so it has charm, old wood floors, stone staircases, and the tiniest elevator (hiss, in Swedish) you're likely to find.

The price is too high, in my opinion, for one or two reasons. One, although it's the high season in Gamla Stan right now, and one expects prices to be high, I paid significantly less per day ($US) in Paris two weeks ago at a similar quality hotel. So that was irksome, because this was a pretty room, grievously located overlooking an unlovely, smelly (it's summer, after all) alley leading into Gamla Stan.

Shutting the windows to keep out the noise of the party revellers attending the bars until 2 a.m., means I didn't get much sleep, since I need fresh air (which is in short supply in Gamla Stan, a medieval, winding cobblestone city, where I saw a rat one night, scurry off from a restaurant. Lovely). The breakfast, however, is phenomenal, and made up for a lot, since it's included in the price. Wireless is also included, although I didn't use it.

I think that given the noisy, smelly, rather dank location, overlooking an alleyway and a business across the way, where people are at work at 9 a.m. and could, ostensibly, have looked in while I was standing at my window in a state of undress, combined with a somewhat uncomfortable bed and a TINY bathroom, where you can sit on the toilet while washing your hands—great for multitasking—and windows you can't close because there's no air conditioning, with party noise rivalling any of the big cities of the world, means: lower the price and/or install air conditioning.

Ultimately, this hotel, chosen for its old-world charm (which it has; it's very pretty) and its location (which is right in Gamla Stan, within easy walking distance of the metro and the Central train station) turned out to be its least charming elements. If I go to Gamla Stan again, which I sincerely hope I do, I will seek out something quieter and less smelly, not so near the bars. If you sleep with your windows closed in the middle of summer in Sweden, however, you'll probably be fine. I stayed for 3 nights, and at the end, I wished it had only been two.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are better rooms. They all seem to overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Very charming, room pretty and comfortable, though we heard street noise even from the top floor. It was the weekend and there was a band on a barge nearby. It quieted down by 10 or 11 though. Really great breakfast. The staff was wonderful and welcoming and accommodated us when we arrived early in the morning. There is a nice terrace on the top floor where you can go out and smoke or relax with a book. Fantastic location, very convenient, even though Gamla Stan is touristy.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ats134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#20 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#67 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#54 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#71 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing