We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eureka! Rica”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #43 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, GA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Eureka! Rica”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Eureka! We found it - a great place to spend a few days while we toured Stockholm! The hotel was recommended by a native Swede and she was spot on. The room was clean and met all of our needs. Besides our bed and bedside tables, our room provided a writing desk, a table and chairs, and a sitting sofa/daybed. We enjoyed the expansive breakfast buffet - fresh breads, fresh fruits, meats, eggs, pancakes, etc... The staff was so helpful and kind. Also, the location was perfect! The T-bana was within a block or so, all of the old city was right outside our door. We were thoroughly delighted with RIca Hotel - Gamla Stan. We would definitely recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: We were facing the street and experienced no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C-02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    309
    82
    24
    9
See reviews for
78
245
79
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for three nights in January. I requested a high floor and we were given a top floor room. Rooms larger than many I have stayed in in London. Extremely clean, could not fault the cleanliness at all. We only had one night where we heard some singing outside but that was it. Very well positioned in Gamla Stan. We walked everywhere, including to the Central Station on our return journey. Breakfast was good, excellent selection, only downside is that on the Saturday morning we couldn't find a table so we had to go back a little later - probably would have been more annoyed if we had a time restraint. All in all an excellent hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TheAdamsFamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 December 2011

A very warm and cosy atmosphere. Nice rooms and nice and comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet is a delight. However, i saw the russian(?) breakfast lady getting into arguments with some guests about nothing. That kind of spoiled the breakfast. Your mileage may vary on that point.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Felt very personal. Service very good - very welcoming at 4am when our flight had been delayed and even rustled us up some breakfast. Normal breakfast was an outstanding feast! Rooms very unique and well decorated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocko82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Très chic! Sweet room with nice wallpapers, great location, generally quiet and absolutely excellent breakfast! Yummy. I start salivating by trying to think of that breakfast. Take time and a closer look what is offered, you won't regret. The room had a great modern bathroom, very thick window curtains (got a side view over a little piece of Gamla Stan). They introduced an interesting idea of tea and coffee self-service in the lobby, which could make the guests mingle and makes the lobby lively. You will find tea or coffee inside the closet in the lobby and then choose your sofa. Helpful and kind personnel. On the down side, the room ventilation (air conditioning?) cannot be switched off and I was quite cold. Couldn't find any floor heating in the bathroom, so had cold feet. The bed hosts very soft mattress. The door only locks with an old fashioned key, so safety might not be the best, but Gamla Stan is probably not a high risk area. The only thing I really hated in the room was wobbly closet and even if it would be fixed, the style was not appropriate for the room. I think the place has slight room for improvement (better closets, mattresses etc.), but I would definitely come back again, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anaiiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
212 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This hotel is a very short walk from the T-Ban subway system, which makes the entire city easy to get to. More importantly, the hotel is located in the best part of the city, Gamla Stan. This is the historic area, full of wonderful buildings and churches. The palace is a short walk. There are numerous restaurants and shops on the island. We arrived very early in the morning and we're hoping to drop off our luggage to go sightseeing. However, to our surprise, they let us check in. They also held our bags after check out so we could continue to enjoy the city before our ferry left. They offer a more than adequate breakfast each morning and coffee/tea in the afternoon. The room was lovely. The bathroom was on the small side, but still more than acceptable by European standards. They had a one piece queen bed!!! This is a very rare find because most hotels put two twins together, which does not make for comfortable cuddling with the husband. The staff was very nice and assisted with every question. We loved this hotel and would absolutely stay here again. The location alone made it a wonderful trip, the hotel was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelandGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This isn't the most modern of Swedish hotels but it has a lovely inviting, warm, authentic feel. The location in the central and beautiful Gamla Stan is great but a slightly disappointing breakfast is the only negative.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good views and are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#27 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#72 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#70 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing