We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homey and Convenient”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #49 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 6 September 2012

This was my first time to Stockholm, but my husband has traveled there many times on business. He knew I'd want to be located in the old town area of the city and was so pleased he found this homey little gem in the heart of that area. Yes, the rooms are small, but does that really matter? The location was great to so many of the wonderful little shops and restaurants in the area, as well as close to the harbor for the ferry and other sightseeing boats. The breakfasts were very good with wonderful Swedish pastries, cheeses, meatballs, pancakes, cereals, and even eggs and bacon for my traditional husband, and were served in a cute and comfortable diningroom. The staff was welcoming and friendly and offered to store luggage for us on our way in and out, for our convenience. For the last night of our stay, we had to move to another hotel closer to his business meeting, and that location in the newer part of the city was just not as charming as this area. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alongtheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

I think this is a repeat of other reviews, a hotel in a good location but with small room and compact bathrooms. Sweden is an expensive place (top tip - plan where you are going to eat before you go) so i think this place is a good balance between price/quality. No traffic noise, althought 2 drunks on Friday night briefly disturbed my sleep with their shouting. Friendly and helpful staff with excellent English.

The breakfast was good with a decent range of fruit, breads, sliced meat/cheese, smoked salmon, earl grey leaf tea, etc and has a sensible time shift at weekends (7-10 becomes 8-11).

2 min walk to Co-op small supermarket, off license opposite, right end of Gamla Stan for Viking Ferry which i'd say is walkable if weather is ok. I walked to hotel from where the bus (cheaper than train) from airport drops you off, maybe 20 mins with a suitcase.

If you've got an enormous wallet and have booked in advance, you're next to Frantzen Lindeberg restaurant too!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Good location but smells terrible like an old house so we had to buy air fresher. In addition the door knob came off when trying to open the door simply. You should be able to find a better hotel for 200+$ a night. Do not stay unless you need to be a part of the history. I travell a fair amount and I do not usually write reviews but this place was exceptionally bad.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Velvetnobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It was nice enough in an old-fashioned building, had a super location in the old town and the staff was friendly, but the room and bathroom were incredibly small, like they had tried to squeeze too many rooms on the floor. The shower was so tiny it was hard to maneuver in. But our biggest problem was with Internet connectivity; it seemed to come and go, and even when working was pretty slow. It was wireless, but didn't work well at all in one corner of the room. One staff member said this had been a recurring problem and was serious when a business conference was being held there recently. So I would recommend it with reservations, perhaps make sure they have changed carriers as they said they were going to do. It was also pretty expensive IMO for what we got, but it seems that most hotels in Stockholm are pretty pricey, so this was a compromise for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and off the street if possible. It's pretty noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Really liked the location of this hotel-stayed for 3 nights before a Baltic Cruise on the Star Flyer very nice breakfast helpful staff elevator quiet room small but adequate for 1 person clean and nice bathroom very close to the T and many restaurants and coffee bars no restaurant but a great breakfast room

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarasotatraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

You have to understand that you are in Stockholm and it's not the Hilton. What it is is a charming old hotel with a very accomodating staff in a wonderful location, old town Stockholm.
We were there for two days, after a cruise, and we were more interested in the locale than the hotel, although I wanted something nice. The room was smaller than most, with only room for a queen bed and a small chair. All in all it was the size of our cruise room, so I guess we were used to it.
You can have a wonderful two days in Stockholm and see everything in Old Town from this location.
Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Small rooms, no amentities


Great breakfast, some staff was helpful.

If this is the 7th best hotel in the city, I would be shocked.

1st floor rooms have windows to public patio

So cannot open windows with privacy.
Room was stuffy and bed terribly uncomfortable

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Howard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#59 of 154 in Stockholm
1,373 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
625 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
171 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
2,984 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £115 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing