We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #47 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Recently spent four nights at the Rica Hotel Gamla Stan. We stayed in the superior room that is illustrated on the hotel's website. The room has a good size and there was enough space for an extra bed for our daughter. Very pleasant room with nice decor and a seating area. As the room is on the top floor of the building, one has to be a bit careful about bumping one's head on the sloping walls. Nevertheless, I would definitely choose the room again. The bathroom was small (shower stall, no tub) but very modern and clean.

Breakfast is good with a certain number of Swedish specialites such as Swedish meatballs, shrimps, and smoked salmon with a mustard sauce. The shrimps and salmon were served on alternating days. There is a machine for making freshly-pressed orange juice and a Nespresso coffee machine. There was lots of fresh fruit and fruit smoothies, too, and all the platters were constantly replenished.

The rooms do not have coffee making facilities, but one can take free coffee, Nescafé or tea as well as cookies and pastry from a cabinet in the hotel's lobby. The rooms do not have safes. However, guests can use safety deposit boxes located near the reception free of charge. The boxes are easily accessible, so one doesn't have to wait for a staff member for assistance when using the boxes.

The staff struck me as competent and pleasant.

More pros: perfect location in the centre of Stockholm's old town within easy walking distance of many sites as well as public transport (metro and buses).

As the temperature was cool and rainy, we did not have our windows open at nighttime. I suspect that the nearby streets can get quite noisy on a Friday or Saturday night during the summer. This was not, however, a problem in October. We slept quite soundly.

Room Tip: Superior room on the top floor is quite roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    306
    81
    23
    9
See reviews for
78
241
79
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Very good location in the Gamla Stan, the quaint heart of Stockholm (read tourist area) BUT the hotel is tucked away around the block and just far enough from the crowds to be quiet yet the sights and shops are almost at one's doorstep. Although the train station is not far away, it would be difficult to negotiate the cobbled streets with heavy luggage. Taxi from airport is 485 SEK one way.

Staff are efficient and helpful.

Room 310 is cosy. There's a double bed, armchair and writing desk with a small wardrobe and just enough space for a suitcase. The bathroom appears to be recently renovated and is clean and bright. Shower gel and shampoo are good quality. Downside is there is no bathrobe, the towels were a little threadbare, and there's no air-conditioning so warm nights can be an issue (though the windows can be opened which is a big plus for fresh air).

Breakfast: very good range, including cereals, breads, cheese, cold meats, hot food, pancakes, pate, caviar spread, juices, filtered and Nespresso-like coffee, and multivitamin tablets too! The room is, however, quite small, and will get full at peak times so get there early and be prepared to share tables with fellow travelers.

Other tips:
1. Bistro Ruby, Osterlanggatan 41, Gamla Stan is a good place to eat. One can sit on the pavement in warmer weather to people watch
2. Ardbeg Embassy, Vasterlanggatan 68, Gamla Stan is a good place for Swedish food, but a bit pricey.
3. Frantzen Lindberg, top #20 restaurant in the World is a stone's throw away, so if you're a foodie, treat yourself here and book early
4. National Museum, across from the Palace, has a very reasonably priced cafe, about 110SEK for a main course, and there's free conveniences just inside the front entrance before the cafe and into the Museum proper.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
115 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed one night in September in what was clearly the smallest room I ever slept in.

Positive: clean room, efficient staff and charming place in its own particular way (very swedish, low key)

cons: very small room and a windowless breakfast area

Was this a horrible experience? No - the staff was polite and efficient and the tiny bed relatively conmfortable

Would i go again? No and clearly not in the summer when one likes to enjoy some level of natural light!

Is this a 4 star hotel? No, but a nice, quaint little place in a very convenient location

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Nice hotel, Nice staff. All the sights and restaurants of Gamla Stan are within short walking distance, as is the Metro: T-Bana, 2 blocks away. Outstanding breakfast, but no restaurant or bar.

Staff was very accommodating...really put themselves out.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Rica Hotel Gamla Stan is located close to restaurants, the T-bana and the ferry to Djurgarden. It is within easy walking distance of the Royal Palace and other sights. Our superior double room was a reasonable size and had a small sitting area. The bathroom was well- outfitted with a tub/shower combination.
The included breakfast buffet had a good selection and very good quality. The bacon was excellent. It was nice to find a few items not commonly found on such buffets, including fresh grapefruit, do-it-yourself fresh squeezed orange juice and a fruit smoothie.
The young man at the front desk was very helpful with directions, parking information and restaurant reservations. My only complaint is with luggage storage. The hotel has a locked storage closet in the lobby and will gladly store luggage on check-out. However, the luggage is not managed by hotel staff. The front desk unlocks the closet remotely and does not pay attention to what goes in or comes out. We did not have any problems but would recommend you make sure all your bags are locked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

What a lovely hotel, wonderful area in Stockholm and would highly recommend staying in Gamla Stan and Hotel Rica!

Breakfast was excellent, I ate enough for 3 people!

The room was charming and the staff were absolutely lovely.

My husband and I had a fab time and would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the Rica Hotel Gamla Stan this August prior to boarding the Wind Surf yacht for a cruise in the Baltic. The location on Gamla Stan couldn't have been better-within walking distance of the ferry, shops, restaurants and bars.
However, our room on the third floor must have been an afterthought. It was decorated with "antiques" and crammed with too much furniture to be comfortable. The bed was new and quite comfy. I have closets bigger than the bathroom. The toilet was located half under the sink so you had to stand sideways to use the sink and your leg was hitting the basin when sitting on the toilet. This does not mean that all rooms are like this one. So I would suggest asking about the room size and bathroom before accepting it.
Our stay was for Thursday and Friday nights. On Friday night, all the young people in Stockholm must head for Gamla Stan, and they party all night. Our room window was on a side street and the partying was going on until 4 a.m. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep. Since there was no air conditoning in our room, there was no way to close the windows to try to muffle the noise.
The hotel has a great buffet breakfast with a selection to satisfy all international tastes.
I have to rate this hotel as average because of the above. If I had a different room, my rating may have been higher.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street and side street may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnitMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#6 of 157 in Stockholm
541 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#22 of 157 in Stockholm
445 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#54 of 157 in Stockholm
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#72 of 157 in Stockholm
251 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#70 of 157 in Stockholm
161 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 157 in Stockholm
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing