We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was by far the most expensive of all the hotels I stayed in during my travels but it was well worth it. A gorgeous old building with plenty of charm and I adored the stone staircase. My room was larger than I thought it was going to bed, the decor was beautiful. The bathroom was "bijoux" but beautifully finished, modern and clean. Breakfast was very nice with lots of hot and cold choices on offer. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. It was a very short walk to the metro stop and Djurgarden ferry terminal. There's a nice little grocery store down the stairs at the metro stop for anything you may need during your stay...for me it was chocolate and biscuits! Very glad I made the choice to stay in this lovely hotel in the Gamla Stan area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copprkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    323
    91
    25
    10
See reviews for
86
262
80
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

A small charming hotel right in the heart of the old city. I would definetly recommend staying here for you can walk to lot's of interesting places (Cathedral, churches, Royal Palace, shops, bars, restaurants. We had a superior room on the top floor and we loved the decor. The bed was comfortable, and so was the living room. The bathroom was small but newly decorated. Outside the room, available to all guests was a lovely terrace overlooking city roofs. Breakfast room was small but in very charming gustavian decor. Food was fresh and pleasant. I loved to find nespresso coffee available and fresh oranges juice (no industrial stuff). They even provided gluten free bread. Personnell is kind but not always competent. One night all the lights in the batrhroom went down. In the morning I called the reception, the guy came upstairs but couldn't solve the problem. He called a technician but this could not come before afternoon. This has proved to be very unpleasent because without windows and without electric light it was impossible to shower, shave etc.The reception guy didn't offer us any solution (!). So I called him back and asked him to make us use another room's bathroom. He said ok but I had to go downstairs and fetch the key myself. But the worse is yet to come. Once I got into this other room I found out that it had not been cleaned after the last clients had left!! I couldn't believe it! So I had to go back again and report the situation. He just replied, as if it was obvious: "of course it's an uncleaned room, the clients have just left and that's why I can let you use it!!!!" I just could not believe it. I had to reply: but that's awful, you don't really think you can let your clients use dirty bahrooms don't you!? The poor guy was astonished. only then he realized how ridiculous and wrong was this behaviour. He got all red and embarassed and aplogyzed. To cut it short, he made sure the lights were repaired by early afternoon and got us a small discount (46 euros). Which was something but we felt it didnt quite make up for all the above. Had it not been for this I would have rated this hotel 5 stars for it's location and charme

Room Tip: Take a superior room on the top floor. They are larger and quieter then others
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ludovica40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in the old town of Stockholm, look no further - this is the best hotel! It is so convenient around the old town and the central train station is about 15 minutes away on foot.

Four steps up to the entrance, so if you have a very heavy suitcase, it might be a challenge. The reception area is tiny but the hotel staff are very helpful and friendly.

Our room is tiny but clean. The queen size bed was a little too soft but not too bad. I love the chandelier in the room! Though the decoration is a little vintage but they do have a flat screen TV on the wall!

The bathroom was clean and modern however the amenities were very basic and the walk in shower was a little too tiny.

The complementary buffet breakfast was good and we love the free wifi.

Will definitely come back to this hotel if I visit Stockholm again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaMunYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Hotel was in the middle of the old town on a quiet street and very near the Tunnelbana. We had a room on the top floor which was small and quaint, and faced the back of the hotel. The first night there was some seriously loud disco music coming from the building behind the hotel and across from us. This went on until about midnight. The other nights, though, were dead quiet. The room was small but comfortable and the bathroom was very modern. The breakfast buffet was very good. There is also a taxi rank around the corner (about 50 feet) so it was easy to get a cab when we left.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braintreeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stockholm old town is a perfect place for walking. From Rica hotel you are close to the most on your own two feet; excellent restaurants, an opera, museums, churches, pedestrian streets for "advanced" shopping, a picturesque harbor with small boats that take you around on the many waterways, you name it.... and the royal castle, of course, a big, extremely ugly building.
If needed, the subway is nearby and can be highly recommended.
The hotel "Gamla Stan" is old as well, and dull, however - a good place for sleeping. The breakfast is great, but rise early,- or very late, - the premises are limited.
If you are in favor of a nightcup, or a late beer, better bring it with you, the hotel is not licensed.

Room Tip: Go for the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canasta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akureyri
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were a group from the Nordic countries and stayed for four nights.
The hotel is of course in an old building and is not very convenient to move around in and the rooms were rather small. One of us had to change rooms because the sink in the bathroom was blocked and the flush in the toilet didn't work. But the change was without problems and very smooth.
The breakfast was excellent and the staff was first class.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderhillAkureyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions while working for a Swedish company. Always found the location of this hotel the best spot for travelling around on the Tunnelbana system and eating out.
Placed in the centre of the Old town you have everything from a funky new restaurant over looking the waterfront to a sports bar in the streets, which on the Ice hockey nights for a local team get a really good buzz, they show all the Premier and Champions league games as well.

The hotel room are small but very comfortable but this seems to be a Swedish thing..... the staff are great and very helpful. Breakfast is very nice and self service. Rica also offer a members rewards card for stay in any of their chains. They have free Wi-fi which is a great help when travelling around.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,304 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
593 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
257 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing