We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Stockholm's Old Town”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #51 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Stockholm's Old Town”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A bit noisy yes, but you cannot beat the convenience of this place. A very easy walk to great restaurants, tourist sights, boat docks, the T Bahna (Metro) etc. Maid service was the only thing that let the hotel down, lots of nagging of desk staff to replenish room tea stocks etc. Great breakfasts as well. The staff were really helpful.

Room Tip: If you like tea bring your own the Swedes have yet to discover great tea - Dilmah is really cheap an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sakr_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    312
    83
    24
    9
See reviews for
79
249
79
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Upon our arrival, we were unable to check in because the room wasn't available until 3pm (check out is 12pm and it had to be cleaned, so I guess it's understandable- be aware of this if your flight arrives early in the morning. If your room isn't available you won't be able to check in). Luckily, the friendly staff directed us to the baggage room, and we were able to leave our bags in there for the time being. When we were finally able to check in, we were pleasantly surprised with the charm and size of our room. It was clean, and a small cot was aside for our 7 yr old. Being on the 4th floor, it was quite stuffy so we needed to open our windows (no air conditioning). Unfortunately, due to the loud noise outside of our window (screaming, drunken people...till 3am...every night) & lack of air conditioning, we had a couple of rough nights.
Breakfast was great, but the dining area was crowded. We had to sit in the lobby area one morning.
The rooftop patio was beautiful and was definitely the highlight of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kph101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Very friendly staff, comfortable hotel in the old city or gamla stan. Very old building converted very tastefully. Small and compact but ideally situated for the old town and the ferries which are great for island hopping. Bedrooms excellant decor, but only a small wardrobe. Beds very comfortable. Amazing old lift- only takes a max of 3 people at a time! Good breakfasts plenty to choose but the same each day, some traditional Swedish fare available.
Overall a very good hotel, we enjoyed our stay at the end of July

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyriljstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I had a single room which had recently been renovated. For a tiny, tiny room, it had all of the amenities needed. My only complaint was the matress. Possibly the worst I have slept on, I would have preferred the floor if there had been space to lay down. The location was fantastic, breakfast very nice and the staff welcoming. Would definitely recommend this hotel, just not the beds!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klafrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I had the opportunity for a brief trip to Stockholm and wanted a hotel convenient to major attractions, restaurants, and transportation due to limited time. Rica Hotel Gamla Stan completely fulfilled all those criteria. It is in a charming old section of the city with cobblestone streets and historic buildings. At the same time, it is near modern conveniences like the train station and ferry service. The rooms are not large or luxurious by American standards, and there is no business center/fitness center/conference center as you would find at a typical American chain. On the other hand, the meticulously clean and cozy rooms, extremely comfortable beds, and free, fast wireless were much appreciated. There was also a small roof deck right outside our room, with lovely views of church steeples. Breakfast buffet was delicious with excellent variety. The staff was uniformly excellent, very knowledgeable and helpful, and had our room waiting for us despite an early morning check-in.

Room Tip: 401 is right next to the roof deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexikeguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

One of the most fabulous small hotels in the centre of the lovely Gamla Stan. Although it's a bit expensive it's worth seeing. The hotel staff was also very friendly and polite.There were no problems with checking in earlier though we were living on high season. I would love to come over one day once more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VoyagerFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skillman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
187 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This hotel is in a excellent location in Gamla Stan. It is close to metro and ferries, in addition to being in the old city. We had a mini suite, with a small bedroom and living room and tiny bathroom. The room and hotel were lovely. Unusually excellent buffet breakfast. We are told where to park our car. It was only a 10 minute walk and not usually expensive. The hotel is expensive, but you are paying for excellent quality and location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#57 of 154 in Stockholm
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
255 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
163 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
2,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing