We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the hotel”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #43 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Arvika, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed the hotel”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Searched for a hotel in Gamla stan with walking distance to a symposium and chose Rica based on previous reviews. I was not disapointed! Lots of period details, but also modern comfort - especially in the refurbished bathrom (can´t be long ago). Had a single room on 2nd floor (3 etasje) facing a sidestreet, and it was quiet. Heard someone working the vacuumcleaner early in the morning though, and slamming of the door of the neighbour-room. But apart from this minor distrubances there were none. Enjoyed the breakfast, more to choose from than I expected. I didn´t have any trouble with the WIFI as written in another review, the system with new code every 24 hour is used freqently.

The other guests in the hotel seemed to be mainly tourists when I was there, not at typical business-hotel.

Room Tip: Sidestreet and not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    312
    84
    24
    9
See reviews for
79
249
79
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positive aspects:
1. great location, in the Medieval Gamla Stan island, walking distance to main attractions and still in a silent area
2.rooms are well furnished
3.beds are large(by European standards)
4.silent rooms(avoid ground level rooms- rooms 121 until 127)
5. there is a small elevator- it fits 3 persons or 1 with luggage(I'm just grateful that there is an elevator in a historical place as this one)
6.small but good breakfast buffet( 3 or 4 types of bread,jam,butter,3 types of ham, cheese,yogurt,granola,boiled egg but no scramble egg or omelet)
7. this is really a 4 star hotel accommodation with a 4 star price
8. close to a convenient italian restaurant -Vapiano ( that has great pasta, pizzas,salads with reasonable prices and is open from 11am until 12pm

Negative aspects:
1. there are 4 steps in the front of the hotel and 4 more steps in front of the elevator- nothing big, but just to let you know
2.ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127 for that reason
3.no safe in the room

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarissa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
239 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Great location within walking distance of everything. The room was a little on the small side and there was no air conditioning. The room was pretty warm during the day but was cool enough at night with the windows open. The breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wamzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We loved the our suite even though our suitcases did not fit .We loved the breakfast,had everything you want.We paid for the the best location in Stockholm.
...you can walk everywhere...but to our surprise the WIFI was the most frustrating.You have to get a new number every night from the concierge and if you are lucky you connect and stay connected.We did not understand why this hotel would try to save money on a connection to WIFI!!!there is o air condition but you are in a 17 th century house.

Room Tip: If you are a couple choose a suite so you have room to unpack.there is o air condition so if it is h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nflorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed three nights at the Rica Gamla Stan in August. I took the Arlanda Express train to the central station, and then the tunnelbana one stop to Gamla Stan. I was in the hotel room within 1 1/2 hours of landing at Arlanda International. We were in room # 403, pretty standard size for Europe, but a good bathroom. The location of the Rica is its best asset. It is two blocks from the Gamla Stan tunnelbana station. You can walk from the central station if you have an extra 15 - 20 minutes, pretty straigh shot. The front desk staff was helpful and the breakfast was stellar. You are minutes from two different ferry stops, the stora torget, the Royal Palace, the cathedral and the tourist shopping area. Very good restaurants are in no shortage. It isn't cheap, but nothing in Stockholm is inexpensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We recently spent five nights in this hotel. I agree with the positive reviews posted. The hotel is well-run, the room was clean, the bed comfortable and the breakfast selection was great. We received excellent service and I'll mention two examples of this: on the first morning we overslept due to jet lag and didn't get down to the breakfast room quite on time. The lady who was cleaning up allowed us in and we were able to have a full breakfast as she tidied up. Many other hotels would have just locked the door prior to our late arrival. On another occasion my wife lost part of a crown on her tooth. The staff contacted a dentist nearby and directed us there so it could be dealt with immediately. As for location, you can't beat this. I walked by a number of other hotels we were considering and none were as well located. One of these was Hotel Rival which is very well reviewed and may be a great place but location-wise...not even in the ballpark...and I investigated that area in depth on foot. At the Rica you are 1 minute from the main tourist street and the metro and a couple of minutes from the ferry dock for Djurgarden. My only complaint- we had a fairly low front room and even though the hotel is on a quiet street there was considerable noise at night from the waterfront pubs or clubs. Get a room in the back and you'll be more than happy with your choice. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take a room in the back for a quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreybeardCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Nice rooms, good service, fantastic location, great breakfast. A little noisy but hey, it's in an area with everything you could ask for with hundreds of restaurants and bars. Very good free WIFI and helpful staff

Room Tip: The higher the better as this place can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Llamarama63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
255 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
164 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#52 of 154 in Stockholm
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing