We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable stay in atmospheric hotel”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #48 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My daughter and I chose this small hotel as it - according to website - seemed to be one of the most atmospheric places in Gamla Stan. The atmosphere was really cosy, authentic and “Gustavian” in lounge room, staircases and rooms. Ideal location for exploring Gamla Stan and Söder. Breakfast nice, home made selection served in a small but cosy restaurant (without windows, a little peculiar). Breakfast service average, not very engaged.

Front desk friendly but with service issues:

We had booked two standard rooms directly at Rica Hotels several weeks in advance, in order to avoid the tiny budget rooms. Based on other reviews we asked for rooms to the back side to avoid nightly noise from the pubs in the street. Booking preferences were noticed by Rica.

However, during first night it - by checking the website - became clear that the rooms we were given were budget rooms. Very small and uncomfortable. When confronting front desk next morning the reply was that a mistake had been made by the central booking service. However, no excuse or alternatives were suggested. When we insisted on alternatives, we were offered either to share a double room or to change one of the budget rooms to a standard room to the front side. We had to accept the second option as we did not want to share a room. However, as expected, the front room was very noisy during night due to pub guests in the street. Bad sleep. No compensation was offered but on request we got the standard room for budget room price.

The front desk could have realized the mistake by check-in when the credit card was pre-authorised. All in all the service at this place needs more professionalism. Also no special attention seem to be given to members of Rica guest programme.

Room Tip: For comfortable sleep avoid budget rooms and rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Good solid hotel : good location, a few minutes walk to the gamla stan t-bahn, about 15 minute walk to The City, good thorough breakfast, staff excellant. Good for travel with pets.
Negatives: rooms tiny, noisy (my room was on the first floor facing the street), location: although Gamla Stan is very beautiful, it is very touristy with nothing but souvenir shops, wifi fine but you have to keep logging in with 24 hour cards and if your device goes to sleep you have to log in again, hotel pricey for what it is - but Stockholm is pricey. If i were going to stockholm again i would choose to stay in The City area that is better located to services and out of the horrid touristy area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Missed my overnight train to Kiruna so I had to find a place to stay. Customer service at the "ABBA" Airport sent me to the Rica. After a terrible day of getting my backpack(with laptop) stolen and not being able to access money, I could not have been happier with the Rica or Stockholm. The woman at the desk was very accommodating and found me a room even though I did not have a reservation. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of a beautiful walking area and I will definitely be going back to both Stockholm and the Rica to explore and enjoy Stockholm. It is a quaint little hotel with very friendly staff and a nice breakfast in the morning. Rooftop looks over the city and there are bars an restaurants in the area. It is not a matter of "if" I will go back to the Rica, but "when", and I hope it is soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here only three night, but it was very comfortable. The guiding princple of thi hotel are level of services and breakfasts. Breakfasts was really excellent. Mainly I can recommended gently smoked salmon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mar89ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great location in Gamla Stan near metro station. I stayed late September, but can imagine in peak months (June-August) the noise factor would be substantially increased, and perhaps the rooms hot as there is no air-conditioning.
Breakfast was nice european style. The rooms are cute vintage style with modern bathroom. Good wifi access. Overall a nice hotel for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank To_seek_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Searched for a hotel in Gamla stan with walking distance to a symposium and chose Rica based on previous reviews. I was not disapointed! Lots of period details, but also modern comfort - especially in the refurbished bathrom (can´t be long ago). Had a single room on 2nd floor (3 etasje) facing a sidestreet, and it was quiet. Heard someone working the vacuumcleaner early in the morning though, and slamming of the door of the neighbour-room. But apart from this minor distrubances there were none. Enjoyed the breakfast, more to choose from than I expected. I didn´t have any trouble with the WIFI as written in another review, the system with new code every 24 hour is used freqently.

The other guests in the hotel seemed to be mainly tourists when I was there, not at typical business-hotel.

Room Tip: Sidestreet and not the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Positive aspects:
1. great location, in the Medieval Gamla Stan island, walking distance to main attractions and still in a silent area
2.rooms are well furnished
3.beds are large(by European standards)
4.silent rooms(avoid ground level rooms- rooms 121 until 127)
5. there is a small elevator- it fits 3 persons or 1 with luggage(I'm just grateful that there is an elevator in a historical place as this one)
6.small but good breakfast buffet( 3 or 4 types of bread,jam,butter,3 types of ham, cheese,yogurt,granola,boiled egg but no scramble egg or omelet)
7. this is really a 4 star hotel accommodation with a 4 star price
8. close to a convenient italian restaurant -Vapiano ( that has great pasta, pizzas,salads with reasonable prices and is open from 11am until 12pm

Negative aspects:
1. there are 4 steps in the front of the hotel and 4 more steps in front of the elevator- nothing big, but just to let you know
2.ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127 for that reason
3.no safe in the room

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room are noisy due to the reception and breakfast area, avoid rooms 121until 127...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarissa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#59 of 154 in Stockholm
1,376 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
626 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#80 of 154 in Stockholm
171 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,991 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £113 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing