We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice quirky hotel”
Review of Scandic Gamla Stan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Gamla Stan
Ranked #44 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
london, UK
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“A really nice quirky hotel”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Location is perfect for old town exploring and for the Gamla Stan T-banan stop and the street Lilla Nygatan was nice and quiet.

The hotel is atmospheric, traditional and cosy.

Our single rooms were compact, nicely furnished in traditional style, and the clean modern shower room (no bathtub) was well appointed. However, my ground floor room was a little noisy during the night as the sound of people coming in travelled up the corridor.

The breakfast bord was generous and adequate, with fresh oranges and electronic juicer a nice touch, and a decent selection of hot and cold items in a cute breakfast room.

The young fella at reception was polite, helpful and patient with my attempt to speak in bad Swedish!

There isn't much to the hotel itself - a very small reception area and no bar that we noticed, but it makes a well placed and quirky place to stop in the lovely old town and at SEK 895- per single room including the breakfast it seemed very reasonably priced for Stockholm.

I couldn't get the wifi working but don't know if that was the hotel's fault or not.

I would definitely stay here again on my next trip, and would ask for an upper floor room.

Room Tip: My ground floor room was a little noisy and I will ask for an upper floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    321
    91
    25
    10
See reviews for
86
260
80
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The hotel perfectly first with its surroundings in the Old Town. It is as if you walk into a movie scene when you enter the Old Town and if you´re up for that, this hotel is definitely your place. The inside has the look & feel of the Old Town, but it is all crisp and clean. The furniture and building on the inside is very nice. The reception staff is very friendly and warned me for the taxi rip offs, so ordered me trustworthy taxis.
The rooms are in a grand old style, but great quality and very comfortable. The beds was fantastic and the room had a perfect bathroom.
The breakfast is amazing in a lovely old style decorated breakfast room, with a huge variety of breads, meats, cheeses, eggs and even the Swedish herrings and salmon. You can taste the great care which goes into this meal.
The location is really good, within a few steps you can enjoy the amazing Old Town with many restaurants around you.
So if you like a small, typical Old Town hotel, go here. I would, if I would come back to Stockholm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bcn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We have stayed here many times and really enjoy this hotel . The staff are friendly, the rooms traditional (with small bathrooms) but comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. Over the years we have noticed how the prices have risen but to get the best deal come at the week-end. The location for the old town is wonderful but it's very easy to walk in to the more modern part of Stockholm . A great location.

Room Tip: We recommend the fourth floor, which is top floor. Rooms 402-404 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank judiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My daughter and I chose this small hotel as it - according to website - seemed to be one of the most atmospheric places in Gamla Stan. The atmosphere was really cosy, authentic and “Gustavian” in lounge room, staircases and rooms. Ideal location for exploring Gamla Stan and Söder. Breakfast nice, home made selection served in a small but cosy restaurant (without windows, a little peculiar). Breakfast service average, not very engaged.

Front desk friendly but with service issues:

We had booked two standard rooms directly at Rica Hotels several weeks in advance, in order to avoid the tiny budget rooms. Based on other reviews we asked for rooms to the back side to avoid nightly noise from the pubs in the street. Booking preferences were noticed by Rica.

However, during first night it - by checking the website - became clear that the rooms we were given were budget rooms. Very small and uncomfortable. When confronting front desk next morning the reply was that a mistake had been made by the central booking service. However, no excuse or alternatives were suggested. When we insisted on alternatives, we were offered either to share a double room or to change one of the budget rooms to a standard room to the front side. We had to accept the second option as we did not want to share a room. However, as expected, the front room was very noisy during night due to pub guests in the street. Bad sleep. No compensation was offered but on request we got the standard room for budget room price.

The front desk could have realized the mistake by check-in when the credit card was pre-authorised. All in all the service at this place needs more professionalism. Also no special attention seem to be given to members of Rica guest programme.

Room Tip: For comfortable sleep avoid budget rooms and rooms facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Good solid hotel : good location, a few minutes walk to the gamla stan t-bahn, about 15 minute walk to The City, good thorough breakfast, staff excellant. Good for travel with pets.
Negatives: rooms tiny, noisy (my room was on the first floor facing the street), location: although Gamla Stan is very beautiful, it is very touristy with nothing but souvenir shops, wifi fine but you have to keep logging in with 24 hour cards and if your device goes to sleep you have to log in again, hotel pricey for what it is - but Stockholm is pricey. If i were going to stockholm again i would choose to stay in The City area that is better located to services and out of the horrid touristy area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank yukondelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Missed my overnight train to Kiruna so I had to find a place to stay. Customer service at the "ABBA" Airport sent me to the Rica. After a terrible day of getting my backpack(with laptop) stolen and not being able to access money, I could not have been happier with the Rica or Stockholm. The woman at the desk was very accommodating and found me a room even though I did not have a reservation. The location of the hotel is right in the middle of a beautiful walking area and I will definitely be going back to both Stockholm and the Rica to explore and enjoy Stockholm. It is a quaint little hotel with very friendly staff and a nice breakfast in the morning. Rooftop looks over the city and there are bars an restaurants in the area. It is not a matter of "if" I will go back to the Rica, but "when", and I hope it is soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceske Budejovice, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here only three night, but it was very comfortable. The guiding princple of thi hotel are level of services and breakfasts. Breakfasts was really excellent. Mainly I can recommended gently smoked salmon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar89ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,302 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
593 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#34 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
257 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
318 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Gamla Stan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Gamla Stan

Property: Scandic Gamla Stan
Address: 25 Lilla Nygatan, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Gamla Stan)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#31 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Gamla Stan 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's oldest and cosiest district. Hotel Scandic Gamla Stan is located in a charming 17th century building with a medieval atmosphere. Within walking distance of most of what Stockholm has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Gamla Stan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing