We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel on Stockholm's finest street”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #66 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel on Stockholm's finest street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

I only have positive things to say about my stay at the hotel. The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was very cozy and clean (everything looked new) and the breakfast delicious. I booked the smallest single room, but they bumped me up to a larger room with a queen-size bed without any extra cost. I will surely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan_Norlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    101
    41
    21
    5
See reviews for
43
116
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

The time in the Hotel was very good. It is located on riverside in old beautifull historical building about 5 minutes walking to subway and 15 minutes walking to the Royal Palace and the old town.
The rooms are simple with retro charm, but comfortable. There are TV, shower with toilet, safe box, air condition.
The beds are comfortable. Free WiFi was available in the room. There is sauna in the hotel . Everyday breakfast was very nice.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxana113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I stayed at Hotel Esplanade in August for more than two weeks with my wife. We stay here every time we are in Stockholm; we have tried a number of other hotels, but they all lack the Esplanade's charm and homely feel. The location could not be better and the staff is very professional and friendly. Maria, the manager, is great. Towards the end of our stay, I had to extent us for a few days and she managed to get us a wonderful room, despite the hotel being almost fully booked. We will be back! PS. I forgot to mention the fantastic breakfast...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

I frequently travel to Stockholm for business and I always make a point to stay here. The service is friendly, the location is superb, the rooms have a certain retro charm which creates a sense of have travelled back in time. If you like the standard cookie-cutter modern design hotels you go next door (and pay more) but if you want a place that will give even a business trip something extra then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paa_resande_fot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

Well preserved cosy place with friendly staff, large rooms and nice view. Ask for rooms which not looks at Strandvagen, if you don't like traffick noise but you will not have heartbreaking panoramic view.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kulverstukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2009

Beautiful view to the Nybroviken bay!
The building was erected arround 1905 and the interior is beatiful decorated. Our room (12) is facing the road and the only downsides I saw where the fact that is somewhat noisy from the trafic in front of the hotel and there is a door linking the next room and one can hear the neighbour voice through it. Anyway, this door is blocked by the wardrobe, so you don't have to worry that the neighbour is gonna pay you an unexpected visit. ;)
Front desk is allways available, ready to help and really "customer oriented".
Breakfast is good and diversified but not diversified enough for a vegetarian. The restaurant is very small and beautiful but is opened only for breakfast.
There is free internet access through wi-fi link, but I couldn't make an internet voicecall (to tell my friends how much I enjoy the stay) because during the day the signal was poor most of the time and the link broke often.
The location of the hotel is at 10 minutes walk from the Royal Palace and the old town! I liked that too, because we have stayed 10 days and being so central it was an advantage in every day:)
It was the first time we have visited Stockholm and this hotel helped us even more to fall in love with the city. Truly, Stockholm is the Venice of the Nord!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Norx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2008

Stockholm was our first stop after the trans-Atlantic flight from Seattle and what a great first night. The front desk staff was great and the room was charming. Had a great suite with nice amenities for the price - the best of which was the Stockholm Card. While we usually don't find good value in these for a short stay (and/or we'd have to run all over the place to get our 'money's worth' which isn't always realistic traveling with a 10 year old) but this one was a great tool for the trip. The hotel is wonderfully situated on the harbor so we used the harbor ferries to get around to many of the sites - which was a treat in and of itself. Buffet breakfast was fresh and generous, a great way to start off the day sightseeing. Lots of shops and restaurants close by as well. Definitely worth a few extra $ to stay here if you're only in Stockholm for a night or two - convenient location and amenities - plus very helpful and friendly staff make it worth it!

  • Liked — the location - heart of the city, on the harbour
  • Disliked — some street noise when it was warm with windows open - but not excessive for a city hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoiledSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#67 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing