We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Esplanade

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Esplanade
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
roslyn, new york
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I booked this hotel through destination stockholm. It was a great experience. The hotel was perfectly situated on a canal within easy walking distance to sights. It was also easy to access by public transportation. The room was small, quaint and clean. The breakfast was very nice with special 'homemade' types of accompaniments and eggs and bacon. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: No elevator. If you don't want to have to carrying your luggage upstairs, take a room on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speak2me2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    105
    41
    21
    6
See reviews for
46
120
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Enormous bedroom (more than 60m²), a bit old-fashioned, but very clean.
Great views on canal and one of the better positions in Stockholm to stay. Nearby Vasa Museum, near metro, near ships, ...
Good breakfast, kind people, WIFI for free even in the rooms !!!
Great service, also PC available WITH printer for airline seat booking. Highly recommendable.

Room Tip: try to ask for rooms in the front or at the patio side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

A good city centre hotel that is close to a lot of attractions, but without being too noisy and cramped.The hotel has a good ambience, with some lovely common spaces and period decor. The (single) room I had was comfortable and clean but didn't have the same quality of furnishings as the common areas. Breakfast includes a variety of cereals, breads, cheese, meat etc with a limited hot selection. The reception staff are very efficient and helpful, and all speak good English.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed here as a family of four, (a 2-year old and a 5-year old child). We came early to the hotel but our room was ready for us with an extra bed and a great big crib for our youngest, waiting in our room. We got a BIG corner room.

Even though this is in the middle of Stockholm, the hotel is quite and we had two nights good rest in our room.

The location is one of the best in Stockholm! The hotel has a charming, swedish old decor. Great coffee, cappucino, caffee latte available all day in the dining room area.

Breakfast is good, not great but just enough to start the day on a full stomach. Fantastic bread!!!

I would recommend this to anyone!!!

It does state 4 star hotel at the entrance, but these star ratings are always difficult to use and compare between countries. In "my world" (I have travelled alot) it is a 4 star hotel, we loved our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravelerof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

After looking for along time for a suitable hotel for a 2 night stay just before Christmas, me and my husband chose this one. And it was a good choice. Location - very good, close to everything - museums, old town, metro, boat tours, really nice, on a main, grand street by the water. We got a courtyard view room, which was good as we avoided the traffic noise. Rooms are big, bathrooms very small and very cute, al you need is there and all to a nice standard. Bed wasn't actually queen sized but two beds put together, which is the only minus.

Breakfast was really nice, lots of choice, savoury. A small sauna next to our room was a nice option, and the day room upstairs with city views was just perfect for an evening rest with a book and some beer. All nicely decorated with floral patterns and lots of colour.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Just wish the overall Sweded prices weren't that high!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AniaBeEdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hotel is well located in Central Stockholm in a beautiful building. The hotel is old fashioned with furniture original of the 20´......it is clean, but it look s a bit old and the restroom it is not new or nice.
When you arrive the check in is efficient but they will not welcome you with a smile........the breakfast is ok but not so much sweet stuff.....In general it may be better....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usseglio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The place to warm your heart! A lovely hotel with small spotless rooms, friendly staff and a quiet but central location. Certainly a recommendation!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lottbekkoppeln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,489 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Berns Hotel
Berns Hotel
#71 of 154 in Stockholm
687 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
283 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Esplanade

Property: Hotel Esplanade
Address: 7A Strandvaegen, Stockholm 114 56, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Esplanade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing